Old 25th October 2009, 11:57   #1771

Originally Posted by i.1979 View Post
hi friends,
please count me too. got delivery of my Safari VX 4X4 two days back.
A VX and a 4x4 that too! The best of all worlds!

And a great color! This is one of the best colors - majestic looking!

Congrats i.1979!

Originally Posted by 1100D View Post
Petrol Power is also a preffered choice of Nature/forest/ wildlife enthusiasts, for maintaining silence while getting up close. Diesel clatter drives animals away.
Old 25th October 2009, 12:12   #1772

Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
tsk, you have been updating some of the best pics from hills of north. how much time do you take in preparing for each picture ? I have always been lazy getting out of the car and going for a distance before clicking that pic.

have been enjoying your pics. so this is the second time in a year you went to Rohtang ?

I cant see front bullguard, have you removed it ?
ACtually this is the third time
First time May, second time Leh trip, and now this.
BTW, I click the car whenever I stop to click the surroundings
Old 25th October 2009, 16:31   #1773

Tanveer, Your pics of the Safari in that habitat are simply stunning.
Old 26th October 2009, 09:49   #1774

Originally Posted by i.1979 View Post
hi friends,
please count me too. got delivery of my Safari VX 4X4 two days back.
Congrats i.1979
For a second there I thought hey those are my pics. LOL
You are going to love your ride. Have you thought about a tyre upgrade to Yoko's or Michelin?
Please post a pic of your IRVM with the reverse cam on and a few interior pics too. I think theIRVM's are bigger than in the older model VX.
Old 26th October 2009, 10:31   #1775

Originally Posted by jaysmokesleaves View Post
Tanveer, Your pics of the Safari in that habitat are simply stunning.
Thanks Jay!

@i.1979, congrats! Looks like you got to have 1979 in your user id to get the 4x4
Old 26th October 2009, 12:29   #1776

Congrats !@ i.1979.

@tsk1979.

Tanveer pa ji,
Lagta hai jeene nahi doge. What else to say after seeing that unbelievable stuff!
On a serious note: Again speechless! simply amazing! You are an expert on being there at the right time to be amidst so much of snow!
Old 26th October 2009, 14:00   #1777

Thanks Jay!

@i.1979, congrats! Looks like you got to have 1979 in your user id to get the 4x4
Or maybe '79' atleast.
Old 26th October 2009, 18:13   #1778

Originally Posted by sidcruise79 View Post
Or maybe '79' atleast.
Tanveer,

Anyway to modify my ID/handle? After what I see, I think I'll need to add a '79' to it. I think '78' should also work.
Old 27th October 2009, 12:14   #1779

Ok guys I am back. Had to stay away for a while thanks to the oh so great Taxmen.

@ i.1979 Congrats on your new ride.

@ Gowda79 Yes indeed, I am an angel for my car. But can't say the same for fellow drivers on the street.

And thank you every one for your wishes.

I did took the monster for a ride this weekend on NH-8. And it was a wonderful expirience.

Also managed to put the ABS to some test and it came off with flying colours.

Applied the brakes while moving @ 100-120 KMPH couple of times and the car stopped really nicely. It came to an absolute halt in a perfect straight line.

I also tried to park the car by taking a sharp left turn while moving at around 80-100 and the car did wonderfully well. There was a loud rattling noise which came from the front right wheel, but this is normal as per the owners manual. The rattling noise means the ABS is working and is preventing the wheel from locking up.

Too bad the camera I took along had a dead battery.

But the best part was when I saw a gentleman and his wife ogling at the Safari. Not surprising, oh it seems I forgot to mention that they were moving in an Audi and had stopped at the same dhaba.

Will surely post more pictures once I get the V-Kool sunfilm done.

@ TSK1979 Thank you for giving me sufficient reason to utilise my leaves. Munsiyaari here I come.

BTW what does 79 stand for in your handle. Same question for Sidcuruise79 and i.1979.

Ciao
Old 27th October 2009, 13:10   #1780

Originally Posted by Devil on Wheels View Post
BTW what does 79 stand for in your handle. Same question for Sidcuruise79 and i.1979.

Ciao
It is nothing but Year of Birth as in Gowda79
Old 27th October 2009, 14:15   #1781

Originally Posted by Devil on Wheels View Post
Ok guys I am back. Had to stay away for a while thanks to the oh so great Taxmen.

Ciao
Birth year. Thats all. ID 'sidcruise' was not available when I registered at Team-bhp.

Last edited by sidcruise79 : 27th October 2009 at 14:16.
Old 28th October 2009, 07:08   #1782

Please add my Hulk, to your list. Details as below:

Variant: 2.2 VTT, LX,
Colour: Quartz Black
Date of purchase: October 27, 2009
Odo reading: 88 kms
Issue reported: Need more time for that.
Additions: Gear Lock.
ICE: Blau MP57, Speakers: Coax GTO 638

Have a lot to write since I managed a deal under 8 lacs with extended warranty, door mats, mud flaps, gear lock all inclusive.

Credits:
@Rideon: For discussing cars and more cars for the past 12 yrs and ofcourse his love for the Safari 4x4.
Also credit goes to all the Safari owners, for their wonderful LTORs and beautiful pictures of them and their beast on the sea shore and the hills and on snow. Man, I'm already so excited, that I feel like going on my first getaway trip right now.

Its a new beginning, lets reclaim our lives.
All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-pic062.jpg  

Old 28th October 2009, 09:17   #1783

Congrats ItsMyLife! Any accessories to add in the future?

Safari's been on the Indian roads for 10 years now. We are having a meet for Safari owners at Kulathungal Motors , TRV to celebrate the occasion. This this was organized by Tata. Hope I get time to go and meet others.
Old 28th October 2009, 09:45   #1784

JK,

Any more info on that meet? Not heard anything of this kind from the Bangalore fellow!!!
Old 28th October 2009, 17:45   #1785

@ItsMylife.

Congrats for your Hulk. I can understand your excitement for taking her out right away. She's such a wonderful machine once you've fallen in love with her, its difficult to see her everyday standing in your parking area. She seems to be crying all the time to 'plough the road' (to use Gowda's sign. phrase partly). The more you drive it, the more you want it!

BTW, drive safe and enjoy the ride.