Old 8th June 2010, 20:50   #2161

Originally Posted by hai_sudhan2000 View Post
some photos on the way to madurai
awesome colour choice brother. please stick to your 3.0 ltr safari, its apparently much more trouble free than the 2.2 safari.
Old 8th June 2010, 21:03   #2162

The 3 liter SAFARI got the engine from the TATA 407. So, draw your own conclusions. Awesome torque, but less power and refinement, great reliability though. The 3.0 DICOR was in production for a couple of years only, and is now extinct, so parts will definitely be a problem. Ya, I know I said 407 engine, but with tweaks, so the parts are definitely going to be a problem.

The 2.2 was designed with help from AVL of Austria. Legend has it that MAHINDRA and TATA went to AVL for engines for the SAFARI and SCORPIO. AVL pulled a fast one on them by giving them the same engine, albeit with a few external differences. Hence both the engines are 2.2 and designed and developed with help from AVL. AVL is not a super good company, their first job in India was the ROYAL ENFIELD aluminium engines, which are also extinct now.

Sorry Brother, I know you are feeling like you are stuck between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, but see if you get a good deal and then swap. Preferably, swap for a used 2.2, it'll get you what you want with a lot less strain on your wallet.

DICOR rates I have heard of are from 4-5 lakhs and 2.2 are from 6-7 lakhs

Originally Posted by hai_sudhan2000 View Post
This is a 3 years old safari and i have clocked 86k kms so far. Now I am thinking of changing it to new 2.2.vtt. Still now, i love my vehicle and i doesnt face any serious trouble. Does it really worth to change for new 2.2vtt. What way it is more advanced than 3L. Anyone please help me out.
Old 8th June 2010, 23:05   #2163

Sudhan, your Safari looks beautiful! The two tone combo looks excellent and must say you have a very well-maintained ride.

The chrome grill of the 3.0 gives it a very distinct dont-mess-wimme look.
Old 9th June 2010, 00:00   #2164

My Beast

Here is my beast posing against the backdrop of western ghats

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-tb1.jpg
Old 9th June 2010, 06:30   #2165

Photos from my Elagiri trip

My share from Elagiri hills
But, I didnt take it through any hilly drives since we were of 20+ and hired a bus to take us through as 1 unit.

Prem.
All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-p1030698.jpg  

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-p1030720.jpg  

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-p1030724.jpg  

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-p1030726.jpg  

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-p1040060.jpg  

Old 10th June 2010, 09:51   #2166

I thankyou for giving your feedback. Meanwhile i am posting some of the other pictures of my beast
All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-imag0241.jpg  

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-imag0242.jpg  

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-imag0243.jpg  

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-imag0244.jpg  

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-imag0245.jpg  

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-imag0246.jpg  

Old 10th June 2010, 13:52   #2167

@ hai_sudhan2000 : Nice Ride. Do you frequently use the OMR ? I think I have seen your ride once.
Old 22nd June 2010, 21:24   #2168

Amazing collection of Rides. Three Cheers to all. On the contrary I do envy all the Owners here.
I wrote to Tata asking for a Auto transmission on Safari and they hard cut my request plus my Heart by saying " We thank you for your mail and showing interest in Safari Dicor. We would like to inform you that Safari is currently available only with Manual Transmission and the Automatic version is not on offer. We would also like to clarify that the automatic transmission is not likely to be introduced in the nearest future."
I am heartbroken that my years of waiting have gone in vain. Seems I will never be able to 'Reclaim my Life'. I have changed all my wallpapers collections to the pics uploaded by our members of their Rides in the most exotic Places(from both threads) knowing one thing that I will never be posting one here about my Ride, yet contended that I will not be alone and will be joining our brothers on the other thread getting a Scorpio Instead.
Old 23rd June 2010, 08:27   #2169

@ Shiva shaan,
Why are you so particular about the auto tranny? If you like the Safari so much, just go ahead and buy what is on offer. I'm sure you will enjoy the manual too.
Old 23rd June 2010, 16:27   #2170

Originally Posted by Lukeskywalker View Post
@ Shiva shaan,
Why are you so particular about the auto tranny? If you like the Safari so much, just go ahead and buy what is on offer. I'm sure you will enjoy the manual too.
I couldn't mate, as I am physically Handicapped . The motor functions of my right leg are null. I was planning to get a manual one and get a driver for it but that did not seem right as my passion is to be at the wheel and handle the machine myself rather than be a back bencher.
Old 23rd June 2010, 17:02   #2171

Shiva shaan - That is bad luck, but have you checked if you can get a drivers license? It may not be possible with issues with the right leg. At least in Bombay it is an issue.

Keep the passion going get the Scorpio AT if the license is possible.
Old 23rd June 2010, 17:09   #2172

Some from Ladakh 2010

Rest of the pics on the T.Log

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-903030023_upswbl.jpg

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-903622561_5wta4l.jpg

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-905322033_q2gksl.jpg

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-905329414_b9vsbl.jpg

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-906258519_zymrzl.jpg

All Tata Safari Owners - Your SUV Pics here-906286110_c92jcl.jpg
Old 23rd June 2010, 17:16   #2173

@ ACM: Thanks Mate, I checked and people like me have an option. We have to go through a medical and the doctor+RTO will suggest what modifications we have to do to get the license. The license will be limited only to the vehicle we get. Regardless will keep you guys posted about it. For Now @Sudhan, @kaviprem @manoj excellent pics and rides.
Old 23rd June 2010, 18:10   #2174

Has anyone tried door guard (dont know actual name, I am refering to the small strip which can be pasted to the edge of the door to protect them from scratches while opening) on Safari? Is it really useful?
Old 23rd June 2010, 20:40   #2175

Awesome photos Tanveer. Just too nice and I wonder where are these places ?

Prem.