0 - 25% -- I'm like the most conservative Indians. I love FDs. 396 32.25%
26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 17th October 2010, 19:39   #1546

This is regarding query by Backseatdriver:

The difference that you see in prices is because you are getting delayed quotes, on mobile and telivision, though the difference of 3 % seems quite huge. The normal delay in time for quotes on CNBC is about 2 minutes, so maybe on that particular day, the market may have jumped quickly in the 2 to 5 minutes it took you to call your broker.

The order that you finally managed to place is called a limit order. It will execute ONLY if the price reaches the mentioned price.

There are many types of orders that you can place.
Let me give you a small list.
1. AMO orders, stants for After Market Orders. These are entered AFTER the market closes, like maybe late in the evening or night, and they will be routed to the exchange as soon as the market opens. Here, you can also specify a limit price at which you are willing to purchase the stock the next morning.

2. Limit orders. These are when you want to buy at a price LOWER than current quoted price, and the order will be executed IF the price goes to that level, otherwise it is cancelled at 3:30 pm.

3. Stop Loss order. This is used in 2 scenarios. First is when you are holding a stock, and you want to sell if the price drops below a particular level, you enter a stop loss order. The other scenario is when you want to buy a particular stock ONLY when it trades ABOVE a particular price, as you have for some reason determined that the stock will pick up momentum only after breaching that particular price.

This is my first post on this forum, and if by chance, I have managed to break any rules, please do let me know and I will take care of the same in the future.