0 - 25% -- I'm like the most conservative Indians. I love FDs. 396 32.25%
26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 9th December 2010, 13:17   #1651

Re: Do you play the stock market

Just my views, but levels are for people who need an excuse NOT to participate in the markets right now. If you feel its overvalued, why not short it? If you feel its cheap, why not buy it?

When it falls to 17k, people will be panicking and channels will be predicting 12k. So you wont be able to buy anyway
Altaf Petiwala is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th December 2010, 01:13   #1652
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Altaf Petiwala View Post
Just my views, but levels are for people who need an excuse NOT to participate in the markets right now. If you feel its overvalued, why not short it? If you feel its cheap, why not buy it?

When it falls to 17k, people will be panicking and channels will be predicting 12k. So you wont be able to buy anyway
Believe me, unless you have too deep pocket and don't care much about the opportunity cost of your investment, planning your investment at various price levels is very important.
Simple example. A person who has invested when sensex fell to 16000 in 2008 would still be making money. However, his funds might have been idling with no returns for major part of 2008 as markets continued the slide. The returns that he/she could have earned by investing the same funds in another market would simply be his notional loss for this transaction as he is forfeiting such returns. For a professional investor this opportunity cost is also very important. Timing one's investment is of great essence both in cash as well as derivatives segment. In derivatives, timing decides 90% of your success.