(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
I do play the market - but through Equity Funds. Let the professionals manage the show!
Originally Posted by sgiitk
(Post 2407481)
I do play the market - but through Equity Funds. Let the professionals manage the show! |
Well I do both, i.e, stocks and mutual funds, and tend to see that my stock portfolio (comprising of only large-cap blue-chips, and a couple of mid-caps) falls less when the market goes down, compared to my mutual fund portfolio, and also rises more when the market is favorable. So my guess is since my stock portfolio value is a very small fraction of the large mutual funds, its more nimble.
Of course, in the long run, (which should be the case with equity), it could even out! Will be interesting to see how it pans out for both my portfolios!
Foreign nationals can purchase shares in Indian cos through FIIs operating in Indian markets.
Can Indians do that outside India? Can we invest directly?
I've been doing SIPs in MFs since last 5 years. Going has been good but requires a lot of patience.
Where can one learn how to play the F & O segment ? Any trusted reading material ?
Originally Posted by sgiitk
(Post 2407481)
I do play the market - but through Equity Funds. Let the professionals manage the show! |
I also invest in equity MFs. Which ones do you think are good ? Are you using a certified financial planner for investments or DIY ?
Originally Posted by compenn
(Post 2434673)
Where can one learn how to play the F & O segment ? Any trusted reading material ? |
i assume you know the basics of futures and options. if not, download this material here
http://www.nseindia.com/content/ncfm/DMDM_rev.pdf.
as far as trading is considered it is same as equity except that you have to trade in prescribed lots.
moreover, what you want to trade? index/stock futures, options or combination of both?
Originally Posted by vsh
(Post 2440483)
i assume you know the basics of futures and options. if not, download this material here http://www.nseindia.com/content/ncfm/DMDM_rev.pdf.
as far as trading is considered it is same as equity except that you have to trade in prescribed lots.
moreover, what you want to trade? index/stock futures, options or combination of both? |
A small correction. While the fundamentals involved in picking a stock may be same for cash as well as F&O segment, one should know that F&O is very risky and requires better skill as the trader is leveraging his trades.
In cash segment the max loss is the amount invested. That is not the case with F&O. As such the skills and strategies vary to some extent.
If you are willing to learn I would suggest a reading of "
Technical Analysis of Financial Markets by
John J Murphy. This book is very popular for Technical Analysis.
Originally Posted by compenn
(Post 2434673)
Where can one learn how to play the F & O segment ? Any trusted reading material ? |
Play is a very dirty word in trading.
Gentlemen,
I have a dilemma.
'Which brokerage firm should i opt for and how should i decide what they offer is beneficial?'
I do have some knowledge in shares and i did burn my fingers too, but i want to start all over again and seems like am confused with so many brokerage houses emerging and so much on offer.
I have some on my mind -
HDFCsec
Kotak
Sharekhan
Indiabulls
Religare
Experts kindly share your knowledge.
Bikram
Originally Posted by bikxsans660
(Post 2461490)
Gentlemen,
I have a dilemma.
'Which brokerage firm should i opt for and how should i decide what they offer is beneficial?'
I do have some knowledge in shares and i did burn my fingers too, but i want to start all over again and seems like am confused with so many brokerage houses emerging and so much on offer.
I have some on my mind -
HDFCsec
Kotak
Sharekhan
Indiabulls
Religare
Experts kindly share your knowledge.
Bikram |
Buddy, I do with Motilal Oswal Securities. So far so good with rates, response and system.
Initial start up amount to buy is 10K and 200INR for account charges and on top of it... 0 AMC...
clap:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR
(Post 2430968)
Foreign nationals can purchase shares in Indian cos through FIIs operating in Indian markets.
Can Indians do that outside India? Can we invest directly? |
For sure - you can invest upto 25K USD per year in foreign equities directly.
Additionally, you also have feeder funds that invest into foreign markets too (feeder funds attract some tax though). This is best option IMO unless you have good understanding of world markets.
Originally Posted by Altaf Petiwala
(Post 2452982)
Play is a very dirty word in trading. |
+100
You have been warned - Be ready to loose your shirt!!
I know a few who have lost lakhs and gotten back to the SBI FDs :)
Safe bet is to enter thru SIPs in mutual funds (preferably balanced) to begin with. Once you have a decent understanding (takes atleast 50+ hrs of study), you can get into equities directly as well..
Originally Posted by Equus
(Post 2461613)
For sure - you can invest upto 25K USD per year in foreign equities directly.
Additionally, you also have feeder funds that invest into foreign markets too (feeder funds attract some tax though). This is best option IMO unless you have good understanding of world markets. |
Thanks for the info. Which brokers (or its equivalent) provide the services? Which fund houses have such funds?
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR
(Post 2462006)
Thanks for the info. Which brokers (or its equivalent) provide the services? Which fund houses have such funds? |
I think you need to open the brokerage account in the respective country. I have a brokerage account with Charles Schwab and my broker tells me that I can use that account itself to still buy equities in the US..
Most fund houses that have presence internationally have these funds.
Recently HSBC was accepting subscriptions for their Brazil fund..
HSBC Brazil-G - Fund Snapshot - Value Research Online
On the value research website, under Fund Category, look for Equity: International and you will be all set..
PS: I didnt invest in it - still believe India will provide the best returns over next 8 - 10 yrs.