51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 123 16.23%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 54 7.12%
Voters: 758. You may not vote on this poll

Old 14th August 2019, 14:12   #4066
BHPian

Default Re: Do you play the stock market

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmartCat View Post
Sure, but index constituents keep changing. More index companies now have subsidiaries than in 2000 and 2008. Examples:

- Bajaj Finserv owns Bajaj Finance
- Bharti Airtel ownes Bharti Infratel
- Grasim owns ultratech cement
- ONGC owns HPCL
- Tata motors owns JLR
- M&M owns Tech Mahindra/M&M Fin/Mahindra Lifespace etc

and so on.
I have a question on subsidiaries. What happens to the parent company share when a subsidiary is listed separately? Do the shareholders of the parent company benefit from it in any way? Do they get the shares of the subsidiary in any proportion automatically?

I am interested in Reliance due to the Network/Retail push they are doing. If I invest in Reliance now and they list their retail down the line in a few years will it be beneficial or is it better to hold on and directly get the Retail when it goes for IPO?

Last edited by khan_sultan : 14th August 2019 at 16:18. Reason: formatted for better readability
praveen_v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 14:17   #4067
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by praveen_v View Post
I am interested in Reliance due to the Network/Retail push they are doing. If I invest in Reliance now and they list their retail down the line in a few years will it be beneficial or is it better to hold on and directly get the Retail when it goes for IPO?
Depends on what Reliance management decides to do. If they do a demerger, then you will get shares of Reliance Retail and Jio, but Reliance shares will fall. But if they just list the subsidiaries after IPO, then you don't get shares of Retail and Jio. The performance of Reliance stock then depends on how the market values Retail and Jio.
SmartCat is offline   Reply With Quote