26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 27th September 2019, 18:54   #4081
BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

Stock Markets will continue to be riskier as they depend on market sentiments, socio political and economic conditions. However the gains are in accordance with the risks involved.

Debt investments are relatively safer with modest gains and will not depend on the above factors as Stock markets do but with recent cases such as PMC bank, IL&FS, etc there is no guarantee of safety of capital anymore.

It all depends on the frequency of something turning bad. Instability is a constant factor in Stocks whereas it is rare in debt and FD instruments.

So my view is Debt is still a safe bet compared to stocks.
Old 14th November 2019, 16:15   #4082
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmartCat View Post
All exchange fees are pass-through expenses to customers. So it is unlikely that a broker prefers BSE or NSE.

When you open a new account, you have to specify that you want a BSE account too - but that just involves tick marking the BSE checkbox. Older Zerodha account holders (NSE membership only) had to go through signing up an agreement again for BSE membership. Nobody trades on BSE anyway - they have just 10% marketshare in trading volumes. However, a small number of micro-caps are listed on BSE only. If you want to buy those stocks, you need BSE membership.

<Added> I just recalled that a friend of mine faced account opening issues too
I am not able to reinstall Pi on new laptop - I cant even find the link ! After login it took me to some video verification KYC loop but no luck yet ? Any pointers pls ?
Old 14th November 2019, 20:58   #4083
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by 100BHP View Post