26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 8th June 2020, 16:38   #4306
BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

I don't know what sales pitch Mukesh Ambani is making, but Jio is seeing a huge influx of capital from abroad.
The stock of the parent company (Reliance Industries) seems to be benefiting from this - I sold all my holdings today after it rose almost 55% from march first week levels.
I don't see it going down anytime soon, maybe it will need another major market swing to tank like it did at the start of the year.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmartCat View Post
Adding Gold to the mix is a good idea. Allocate 10% to 30% of your capital to Gold. On its own, Gold has generated 12% pa returns. As a bonus, Gold reduces volatility of your portfolio - because Gold performs well when stocks are crashing. Take either the ETF/MF route or sovereign gold bonds route.
Any idea if i can purchase these gold ETF / Mutual funds through Zerodha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2000rpm View Post
I had purchased Voda at 3.2 and exited at 4.7 .
I took a chance by buying it today
jomson13 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2020, 16:53   #4307
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by graaja View Post
What are the options in MF to have an exposure in gold? Do MFs track gold price the same way an ETF would track? Is there any disadvantage in MF's compared to ETF in terms of expense ratio etc.?
Since you don't have a demat account, stick to Gold mutual funds. ETFs are probably cheaper (I haven't checked) than mutual funds, but then you have to pay brokerage, securities transaction tax, NSE charges, bid ask spread etc. I think net net, the difference between the two options will be negligible.

I have made this table for Gold mutual funds:

Do you play the stock market-gold.jpg