26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 549 44.74%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.38%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1227. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 5th March 2021, 15:54   #4546
Senior - BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

There are some 'Baskets' of stocks available in sites like HDFC Securities / ICICI Direct. Does anyone have a view of these and how easy it is to choose one and stay invested? I am not an equity person and will probably look to start exploring and learning after seeing several moons on this earth, but I guess its never too late to start.
Old 12th March 2021, 09:36   #4547
Senior - BHPian

A dividend related query for the experts here. I received a small sum (<INR 5000) dividend from ITC on 10th March. I can see they have deduced a TDS of 11.79%. Can anyone tell me the logic/reason behind this? Are they not supposed to deduct TDS for >INR 5000 dividend sum?
Old 12th March 2021, 11:12   #4548
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
A dividend related query for the experts here. I received a small sum (<INR 5000) dividend from ITC on 10th March. I can see they have deduced a TDS of 11.79%. Can anyone tell me the logic/reason behind this? Are they not supposed to deduct TDS for >INR 5000 dividend sum?
Even I have received this dividend from ITC, but they have not deducted the TDS. But I have heard from my friend that even for his there is a TDS whenever he receives dividend for his shares. So, I have no idea on what basis they deduct the TDS?
Old 12th March 2021, 11:14   #4549
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Are they not supposed to deduct TDS for >INR 5000 dividend sum?