51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Old 20th April 2009, 18:10   #1141

Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
Happens all the time, doesnt it? The market shows some upward movement and everyone then talks in terms of the Moon and the Stars.

Dont get caught up in the current high - I think its a temp phase, things may go back to 8 - 9k again.
Old 20th April 2009, 18:28   #1142

bblost, hos is that relevant for the Indian economy? (hmmm.. will deepen the recession here ... just think of what happens when Sun and Oracle training centers get merged). <looking around for the silly grin smiley>
Old 21st April 2009, 09:11   #1143

!!

The market's going to fall big time today.
Old 21st April 2009, 11:54   #1144

Recd this today. Aptly relevant in today's recession time

Mods: If already existing, kindly delete the same
Do you play the stock market-calvin20and20hobbes.jpg  

Old 21st April 2009, 13:49   #1145

The stock market is a great leveller my friend, it is always ahead of we ordinary mortals at all given point of time. The stock markets world over discount the events of six months ahead (disclaimer : under normal course of events.). Thats why it is at these low levels. I personally think that the worst is over for stock markets and the october bottoms may not be tested again.
Old 2nd May 2009, 23:41   #1146

Interesting article.

I have no idea about accuracy facts stated in the article. But if this article is largely true then we have another "Creative Accounting" Saga at our hands.

DNA: Money: So the Ponzi scheme will end
Old 3rd May 2009, 00:17   #1147
SLK

Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Interesting article.

I have no idea about accuracy facts stated in the article. But if this article is largely true then we have another "Creative Accounting" Saga at our hands.

DNA: Money: So the Ponzi scheme will end
I think the article is too jumpy, i.e. trigger happy.

If this was a Ponzi, then I don't see a reason why it would end now? This company is not in an operational crisis like satyam, which had to show its fraud as it couldn't have continued with its working capital situation.

BTW, inconsistent sales and profits is how the realestate industry works.
Old 3rd May 2009, 00:24   #1148

Point is, some sales were fictitious. Those were booked to another group company. And they can't continue with it any more.
Old 5th May 2009, 21:31   #1149

What do you guys think about CALS refinery?

They are going to comeup with a large refinery similar to reliance. The management also seems experienced. The stock is currently trading at 70 paisa. Seems like a great long term investment.
Old 6th May 2009, 09:05   #1150

look for market to go down a bit today, and depending to global cues big up or down move tomorrow.
Old 7th May 2009, 08:25   #1151

'Money - Is there a solution to Global Financial crisis ?

Recd in E-mail

It is August. In a small town on the South Coast of France, holiday season is in full swing, but it is raining so there is not too much business happening. Everyone is heavily in debt. Luckily, a rich Russian tourist arrives in the foyer of the small local hotel. He asks for a room and puts a Euro100 note on the reception counter, takes a key and goes to inspect the room located up the stairs on the third floor.

The hotel owner takes the banknote in hurry and rushes to his meat supplier to whom he owes E100.

The butcher takes the money and races to his wholesale supplier to pay his debt.

The wholesaler rushes to the farmer to pay E100 for pigs he purchased some time ago.

The farmer triumphantly gives the E100 note to a local prostitute who gave him her services on credit.

The prostitute goes quickly to the hotel, as she owed the hotel for her hourly room use to entertain clients.

At that moment, the rich Russian is coming down to reception and informs the hotel owner that the proposed room is unsatisfactory and takes his E100 back and departs.

There was no profit or income. But everyone no longer has any debt and the small town people look optimistically towards their future.

COULD THIS BE THE SOLUTION TO THE Global Financial Crisis? Or, is there a catch here?
Old 13th May 2009, 15:46   #1152

What will be Sensex value on monday Close ?
Any guess?
My Guess is by by monday close will be around 10000.(+ or - 400 pts)
Old 13th May 2009, 16:07   #1153

Originally Posted by rhsandeep View Post
What will be Sensex value on monday Close ?
Any guess?
My Guess is by by monday close will be around 10000.(+ or - 400 pts)
You might be the expert here but, its BSE trailing for 12019 something as of now.
So mean to say it might fall 2000 points in 2-3 days
I hope it doesn't!
Old 13th May 2009, 16:21   #1154

Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
You might be the expert here but, its BSE trailing for 12019 something as of now.
So mean to say it might fall 2000 points in 2-3 days
I hope it doesn't!
Possibly, he is expecting some effect from the election results?
Old 13th May 2009, 16:38   #1155

Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Possibly, he is expecting some effect from the election results?
If that happens then it might be the biggest fall ever, nahi?