26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 16th June 2010, 03:32   #1471
BHPian

Rally ahead!

S&P 500 has overshot it's 200 DMA. So today there should be a rally in Nifty. All the three indices have come out of their correction phase.
Old 16th June 2010, 17:29   #1472
BHPian

The "expected" rally to nifty 5300 fizzled out, so much so I ended up booking a loss of Rs.3K.

But that was because in a moment of lapse in concentration, I bought 1000 Unitech shares for Rs.71.30 while my intended purchase price was Rs.70.30 and downwards ( mistook 71.30 for 70.30 when I returned to the computer after a few minutes). That led to a series of purchases that brought down the average cost to Rs.70.60. I was hoping that there will be a spurt in the last hour and I can still romp home with a decent profit but that was not to be. Though I could have taken delivery, I did not want to part with cash but preferred to book a loss at the last minute. The only saving grace is that I am still in the positive and can afford to make a few more errors.

I have added a few more shares to my kitty in small numbers. They are Fortis Health Care (Rs.138.69), Siemens (Rs.720.68), and Dr.Reddy's (Rs.1415.16).( all average prices inclusive of all charges)
Old 16th June 2010, 20:14   #1473
BHPian

All gains will be taxed next FY onwards - plan your strategy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ponmayilal View Post
..............Turning to tax, the Govt. of India put on the public domain the Draft Direct Taxes Bill for discussion sometime in Aug/Sep 09. Budget Feb 2011 may find its implementation.

I had given a cursory reading then and the one thing that struck me is that it proposes to do away the long and short of gains. Any gain is a gain and will be taxed.