Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Old 16th December 2010, 15:01   #1666
rkg

Re: Do you play the stock market

Originally Posted by recshenoy View Post
Thanks rkg. But i guess we need to take printouts and give a photocopy of PAN to the bank branch Not a straight forward process like we apply online like click transfer money and apply.

found the details in below website. How to apply IPO using ASBA? | Fintub - Financial Blog
No need for any photocopies of PAN or any thing else. You have to go the bank where your a/c is. In my case i go to SBI main branch even though i have a/c in another branch. just fill in the form downloaded from NSE site and give it. no need for check also. only requirement is balance in the a/c. Anyway would have taken your pan copy while opening the a/c . so no need to submit again

It is much simpler than submitting form with check like in earlier days.
Old 16th December 2010, 23:59   #1667

MileCruncher,

I use shrekhan. So no ASBA. Need to open account in bank which provides 3 IN 1 account.
If you have an SBI online Banking account with transaction privileges then you can apply for the IPO through ASBA online. You have to furnish your PAN and DMAT account details while applying. DMAT account needn't be with SBI.

Last edited by huntrz : 17th December 2010 at 00:02.
Old 17th December 2010, 09:40   #1668
J.Ravi

any one for PnS bank IPO? already subscribed 7X in RII. RII subscription might touch 20X on last day, that is tomorrow.
The RII category of Punjab&Sind Bank IPO was over-subscribed by record-breaking 44.45 times! I applied for the maximum number permissible shares, 1650, but I will have to be very lucky to get one lot of 50 shares allotted as this IPO is small compared to MOIL.

Old 17th December 2010, 11:32   #1669

Originally Posted by J.Ravi View Post
The RII category of Punjab&Sind Bank IPO was over-subscribed by record-breaking 44.45 times! I applied for the maximum number permissible shares, 1650, but I will have to be very lucky to get one lot of 50 shares allotted as this IPO is small compared to MOIL.
According to ET and confirmed by MC
Portion reserved for retail bidders got subscribed 8.38 times and non-institutional investors 22.91 times.
So if you applied for 1650 shares in the Retail category, then you should IMO get around 197 shares.
Old 17th December 2010, 11:48   #1670
J.Ravi

Originally Posted by Neilguy View Post
According to ET and confirmed by MC. So if you applied for 1650 shares in the Retail category, then you should IMO get around 197 shares.
I sourced the information based on NSE, according to which, this is the final over-subscription data:
Do you play the stock market-psb-ipo.jpg

Old 17th December 2010, 12:02   #1671

I sourced the information based on NSE, according to which, this is the final over-subscription data:
This is what the BSE stats say!
I guess the final figure should be an average of all exchanges, right? BTW I'm no expert, so you can't quote me on this!

Last edited by Neilguy : 17th December 2010 at 12:04.
Old 17th December 2010, 18:54   #1672

I suppose all this interest in IPO's has been generated after people felt left out of Coal India, if I am not wrong.

Grow up people, why beg for shares, to hell with IPO's and lets just trade in the secondary markets. Please don't take this remark as derogatory. Just think, standing in line for something which is being priced arbitrarily.

For your information, almost all the issues from 2009, have lost money in the markets. This I discovered after going through a list on some website, which listed IPO's right from 2008 onwards
Old 17th December 2010, 19:12   #1673
rkg

Originally Posted by Neilguy View Post
This is what the BSE stats say!
I guess the final figure should be an average of all exchanges, right? BTW I'm no expert, so you can't quote me on this!
NSE data is combined data of both the exchanges. NSE gives combined as well as separate NSE data. BSE data is from BSE bids alone.

RII portion subscribed by 44 times is correct
Old 19th December 2010, 21:31   #1674

This increase of limit for retail is a very bad move. It only favors the rich. Imagine a common man wanting to invest only 25k, for example. He will not get any shares, thanks to huge over subscription figures, due to max bidding from capable people. Bad move by SEBI.
Old 20th December 2010, 11:30   #1675

^ SEBI, stock exchange and its ilk make more money via "Rich ppl" than poor.

Why should they favor the poor? This (stock markets) is not a socialist checklist item.
Old 20th December 2010, 18:59   #1676

Nice to hear that. Thought I am the only person to have that view.

What gets my goat is the posturing by the SEBI about "small investors". One of the funniest definitions for the term "small investor" is the one bandied about the depositories. Anybody with less than One lakh face value is said to be a small investor. (sorry, cannot trace teh link right now) I am feeling funny. That would translate into couple of crores even for small value stocks.
Old 22nd December 2010, 08:08   #1677

Originally Posted by alpha1 View Post
^ SEBI, stock exchange and its ilk make more money via "Rich ppl" than poor.

Why should they favor the poor? This (stock markets) is not a socialist checklist item.
The small investor is left with very little places/choices to earn good returns on his small sum. Any other instrument of the Govt will attract tax, which is a good part of returns for a small investor, or makes the investment locked up for few years. Stock market spares the small investor tax neither, but he is ok with that anticipating the good returns. But now you are saying, dear small investor you apply, but you will not get stocks also, because I have to first give it to the rich..

Huge oversubscription numbers is good for no investor of any kind.
Old 23rd December 2010, 14:22   #1678

Lets stop cribbing and lets discuss some strategies to make money here.

How many here are willing to learn how to trade the markets on a swing basis ( 2 to 5 days ) ?

I am willing to share a few patterns that work if followed over 25 trades, continuously, without picking and choosing trades.

I need wide participation to start.

PS: I am going to teach on how to trade the Nifty futures only.
Old 23rd December 2010, 16:18   #1679

altafji, that would be delivery based trades, right?
Old 23rd December 2010, 16:45   #1680
RJK

Originally Posted by Altaf Petiwala View Post
Lets stop cribbing and lets discuss some strategies to make money here.

How many here are willing to learn how to trade the markets on a swing basis ( 2 to 5 days ) ?

I am willing to share a few patterns that work if followed over 25 trades, continuously, without picking and choosing trades.

I need wide participation to start.

PS: I am going to teach on how to trade the Nifty futures only.
Altaf,

Go ahead and start man, I'm very interested. I would like to learn to do some trading on Nifty. If you donot find enough support to warrant a new thread, I'd appreciate if we could do it via PM or something.

Thanks !