76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Old 6th October 2012, 20:20   #2056

Re: Do you play the stock market

Bond bhai
In case you want to transfer from Sharekhan you will have to open an account with a different depository and give instructions and they will do the needful.It is easy but do you want do that?Any particular reason?
In case the shares are transferred to the same person or persons(account in same order) then there will not be any transfer fees charged to you.It will be a free transfer.
Hope this helps
Old 13th October 2012, 20:16   #2057

I suspect you guys are confusing between a demat account and a trading account.

If you switch brokers, (of if you use multiple brokers) you need to have different trading accounts.

You can retain the demat account even if you change brokers. You can operate the demat account only through a depository participant, and the fees are pretty uniform accross the brokerages, since this is regulated. So, even if you do not want to trade through sharekhan, you can continue to hold the demant account through them.

Or, you can transfer the demant account to a new broker. Ask the new broker to do the needful. Manual, non-trade / off market transfer of shares does attract some wrinkled brows, so, avoid it. (I did NOT say that it is not possible).
Old 13th October 2012, 20:52   #2058

I'm interested to learn share trading just for fun. Had postponed it for quite a long time, but now I have a 2 months vacation in my college, so have some free time. I will open a demat a/c in my bank (Kotak) on Monday. Which trading account do you guys suggest? Also, can someone tell me where do I start learning the basics of trading from?
Old 14th October 2012, 09:59   #2059
ECM

Prepare your whole cheque book fully signed in favour of your broker,trading said to be an art combined with disciplined work which brings lot of tentions and sleepless nights watching Dow and Nasdaq and morning opened asian markets.
Jokes apart,don't trade just for a fun,have some goals in your mind and apply this mind set in your life.
For sucessful trading one needs historical data of world markets+good software to plot prices+less greedy mind.If you really want to be a nice trader follow some pattern in trading,see why price dips and rise and find the reason behind it which is called the trading pattern.One site I can recco.to you,go here and discuss your stratergies with others- All the best.
I'm interested to learn share trading just for fun.
Old 14th October 2012, 10:53   #2060

Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
I'm interested to learn share trading just for fun. Had postponed it for quite a long time, but now I have a 2 months vacation in my college, so have some free time. I will open a demat a/c in my bank (Kotak) on Monday. Which trading account do you guys suggest? Also, can someone tell me where do I start learning the basics of trading from?
Like any other profession/business trading is NOT easy to do. There are several pre-requisites.

If you have the inclination, time, financial cushion to fund this without dipping into your capital i.e. the annual returns on your capital are adequate to fund this venture, do start this activity. Done properly it is very rewarding else it is like going to the casino where the odds always favour the house.

Educate yourself with regard to the trading strategies, the operating rules/regulations etc and then start risking your money. All the best if you chose to start.

Last edited by RS_DEL : 14th October 2012 at 10:56.
Old 14th October 2012, 22:34   #2061

Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
I'm interested to learn share trading just for fun.... now I have a 2 months vacation in my college, so have some free time.....can someone tell me where do I start learning the basics of trading from?
I could suggest you to try dummy trading (paper trading) first to learn the basics and understand the moves. Trying this for a few months should enable you to come up with your strategies & test it out as well. Based on your confidence on your progress, you can jump into actual trading.
Old 18th October 2012, 10:11   #2062

How does Sharekhan Top Picks report work? Their selection in the basket changes every month. So , assuming i invest in all the stocks mentioned in the June report (for example), and some of those stocks are dropped from the July report, am i supposed to sell those dropped stocks as soon as i get the July report? Is that what sharekhan advices us to do? iam a little confused on how to use the Top Picks report.
Old 18th October 2012, 11:39   #2063

Friends interested in day trading can try this site. http://chat.rahejacapital.com:443/

It is a chat room where you get live calls . I personally used this and it is good. Be patient for a few days and get the hang of things first.

Standard disclaimer applies and I am in no way attached with them. I also will not take any responsibility.
Old 18th October 2012, 20:57   #2064

Mitrajdeep
Day trading is highly speculative.You are taking a time risk.
My suggestion would be to avoid as it is injurious to your wallet.
Quoting Warren Buffet"Derivatives are mass weapons of financial destruction"
Take today's trading day.The way the market turned it was surprising.
Rest is upto you.

Windride
Two days back when Reliance Industries declared its results(after market hours) a very senior expert(on a business channel) predicted that the price will go up by at least 5%.Well next day it ended lower.Need I say more.
As posted a few months earlier my advice is buy blue chips and keep for a few years.
I had recommended M&M,ITC,TCS,SBI etc and they have appreciated with the market.
Old 19th October 2012, 11:49   #2065

Originally Posted by faustus77 View Post
Mitrajdeep
Day trading is highly speculative.You are taking a time risk.
My suggestion would be to avoid as it is injurious to your wallet.
Quoting Warren Buffet"Derivatives are mass weapons of financial destruction"
Take today's trading day.The way the market turned it was surprising.
Rest is upto you.

Windride

Two days back when Reliance Industries declared its results(after market hours) a very senior expert(on a business channel) predicted that the price will go up by at least 5%.Well next day it ended lower.Need I say more.

As posted a few months earlier my advice is buy blue chips and keep for a few years.

I had recommended M&M,ITC,TCS,SBI etc and they have appreciated with the market.
I would disagree that day trading doesnt work. Just because a person doesnt look both ways before crossing a busy street and is run over by a truck, doesnt mean no one should cross roads.

There is a way to do everything.
Just like in investing, for a few years, you cant just buy any company and hope that it gives you money in 5 years. You have to study the company.

Similarly, in day trading, you need to have a mechanical trading system with a positive expectancy, tested over a sample of a minimum of 2000 trades ( yes, two thousand ) encompassing a minimum of 5 years of data, with complete statistics, regarding, your Maxx DD, average DD, number of losses back to back, Sharpe ratio,payoff ratio, MAE levels, and MFE levels, all categorised.

Then you have a decent chance of making it good as a day trader.

Now, everyone here has heard of people loosing money in day trading. Of those people who lost, it would be interesting to know, how many had completed the above procedures, that take close to 1 year to complete.

You cant do brain surgery by rwading a book about it. Similarly, you cant day trade just because your instincts tell you what to buy or sell. It has to be mechanical. And now, with advancements in technology, many systems can now be even automated.
Old 25th October 2012, 13:32   #2066
vsh

Yes, indeed a good trading system is needed.

[quote=Altaf Petiwala;2937624]

{Similarly, in day trading, you need to have a mechanical trading system with a positive expectancy, tested over a sample of a minimum of 2000 trades ( yes, two thousand ) encompassing a minimum of 5 years of data, with complete statistics, regarding, your Maxx DD, average DD, number of losses back to back, Sharpe ratio,payoff ratio, MAE levels, and MFE levels, all categorised.}

But it is not necessary to go through above all, you can trade with few rules and good strategies. Day trading is not that difficult as it looks from the above post.

Last edited by vsh : 25th October 2012 at 13:34. Reason: Capital letters, minor corrections.
Old 25th October 2012, 13:48   #2067

[quote=vsh;2943087]Yes, indeed a good trading system is needed.

Originally Posted by Altaf Petiwala View Post

{Similarly, in day trading, you need to have a mechanical trading system with a positive expectancy, tested over a sample of a minimum of 2000 trades ( yes, two thousand ) encompassing a minimum of 5 years of data, with complete statistics, regarding, your Maxx DD, average DD, number of losses back to back, Sharpe ratio,payoff ratio, MAE levels, and MFE levels, all categorised.}

But it is not necessary to go through above all, you can trade with few rules and good strategies. Day trading is not that difficult as it looks from the above post.
Maybe that would explain the ratio why 90 % of day traders do not survive for more than 6 months, 50 % getting wiped out in the first 2 months itself.

There are people in rural areas who do operations and are not even qualified as a compounder. I have seen a small dilapidated shop in Jalna with a board saying " B.A.M.S. Surgeon "

So, anything goes. Till he kills a few patients on the table, its all right for the people there.
Old 25th October 2012, 14:47   #2068
vsh

[quote=Altaf Petiwala;2943106]
Originally Posted by vsh View Post
Yes, indeed a good trading system is needed.

Maybe that would explain the ratio why 90 % of day traders do not survive for more than 6 months, 50 % getting wiped out in the first 2 months itself.

There are people in rural areas who do operations and are not even qualified as a compounder. I have seen a small dilapidated shop in Jalna with a board saying " B.A.M.S. Surgeon "

So, anything goes. Till he kills a few patients on the table, its all right for the people there.
Oh! come on altaf!! You are not the only one who knows how to trade. Dont judge people by their place. Trading is more psychological than mechanical. I have seen many people buying black box systems and go bust.

If you want to debate and test my knowledge, you can pm me.
Old 25th October 2012, 15:17   #2069

Originally Posted by vsh View Post
Oh! come on altaf!! You are not the only one who knows how to trade. Dont judge people by their place. Trading is more psychological than mechanical. I have seen many people buying black box systems and go bust.

If you want to debate and test my knowledge, you can pm me.
vsh , how does one start day trading technically ? . Where does one start ?.Software ? ,data feed ? .Kindly shed some light .
Old 25th October 2012, 15:29   #2070
vsh

@black12rr- I assume you have good knowlege about markets. Are you familiar with charts or totally new?

You can start observing intraday charts of some frontline stocks to startwith. Once you become familiar there are some chart patterns which you can trade.

So, first start observing intraday charts! They talk!