26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 6th August 2014, 10:21   #2476
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

Isn't 25% very less for 5 year term, assuming even FDs can get you a ~50% returns in 5 years?
Old 6th August 2014, 10:29   #2477

Two replies of 25 percent plus growth. Aren't folks really setting themselves up for disappointment here?

The Indian market has logged growth of about 16 percent compounded over each of the past 10, 20, 30 years timeframes -- but that was also because it was extremely under-valued in the 80s and 90s (for understandable reasons) on every parameter: PE, market-cap to GDP, etc.

Even if we do assume India continues to grow at 13-15 percent nominal growth (7-8 percent real + 6-7 percent inflation), it should lead to a similar growth in the market's earnings-per-share, assuming PE ratios don't expand further.

Now if your portfolio beats the market by more than 10 percent for a consistent enough time, we would rival the likes of Warren Buffett (beat S&P by 10%), or Anthony Bolton or any of the greatest money managers in history.

Even from a financial theory standpoint, given India's 8 percent historical returns for fixed-income investors, you are expecting a 17 percent premium for taking equity risk?

Rakesh Jhunjhunwala, for instance, has gone on record several times to say he would be a very happy man if his portfolio grows by 18-22 percent CAGR from hereon (including dividends). Can't find a link to a story though.

Remember, the more alpha (returns over the index) you seek, the more portfolio risk you will have to incur via concentrated bets. In that case, you should know your companies really inside out.

As Buffett says, risk comes from not knowing what you're doing.
Old 6th August 2014, 10:33   #2478

Quote: