26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Old 25th September 2014, 12:11   #2581

Re: Do you play the stock market

Good day for some shopping. Kaveri has corrected nicely and so has many others.
Old 25th September 2014, 12:30   #2582

Hey guys,

I am comparatively new to the stock market and was going through www.google.com/finance looking at various shares. Most of them I could see the rates have climbed up considerably (2x, 3x, even 4x for some) from their rates in Jan - Feb '14. Did anything particular happened during that time period because of which the market was low or something happened recently that took the rates to the sky? Do their current rates mean that they are overvalued at the moment?

Some of the whom I was looking at:

Suzlon.
Ucal Fuel Systems.
Ashok Leyland.
Sona Koyo Steering wheels.
KEC International
Gabriel India.
Old 25th September 2014, 15:10   #2583

Dude,

Select each stock one by one, study their businesses, read reports and you will get clues. Use screener.in for financial analysis. Read Pat Dorsey's book for a good framework to analyse stocks.

Price does not say anything about a company's future. Valuation is different from price. It will take a while to get a hang on how market values different types of businesses and then with your own understanding of a company's business potential you can decide for yourself if there are chances of higher valuations in the future. When earnings grow and markets opinion on valuation for your company improves, you make a very neat return.

Many stocks have ran up based on sentiments after election results. Pls separate those which are cyclical and sentiment driven to those who have been growing well irrespective of market sentiments. Compare earnings growth with stock price growth.
Old 25th September 2014, 16:16   #2584

Originally Posted by Bomi View Post
The Govt owns the land and Tata's will not benefit from any future returns from the land. This was inked in the divestment agreement.

If you want more details read : http://www.financialexpress.com/news...vt-nod/1120687
Govt had only 52% at the time of stake sale, and it will retain 52% of the land as well. My question is what happens to the other 48%? Is it still tagged to the 48% shares that are being traded now or will it belong to the rest 48% shareholders as on the date of stake sale as per formation of HPIL?
How can I get access to the terms of the stake sale?
Old 29th September 2014, 12:00   #2585

Originally Posted by skumare View Post
Govt had only 52% at the time of stake sale, and it will retain 52% of the land as well. My question is what happens to the other 48%? Is it still tagged to the 48% shares that are being traded now or will it belong to the rest 48% shareholders as on the date of stake sale as per formation of HPIL?
How can I get access to the terms of the stake sale?
Please read the link that I had pasted in my previous post. There is a clear mention therein that TCL was excluded from any ownership of the land bank of VSNL.
Old 29th September 2014, 13:52   #2586

Has anybody looked into the management of Hind Industries? It's the biggest meat exporter from India.
Old 1st October 2014, 04:33   #2587

Been a watcher as mentioned before and i have some queries:

For a newbie to start investing how to go about it? How to open accounts, whats required? (This is mainly for setting yourself up and not what books i need)

Mutual Funds vs shares

How to select funds and what should i read for the same.

Will a demat account help me get involved in mutual funds too?

What i know is mutual funds is a way of investing where you do not need to have a daily check on it. Is this true?

How to buy into a mutual fund and whats the exit criteria?

Basically to start of, how does one begin? Where can i start my research.

Sorry for the continuous repitative queries and i hope to continue somewhere with this.

Maddy
Old 1st October 2014, 20:16   #2588

I now buy MFs through my trading account with my broker. Search for MFSS NSE and you will get the answers on buying and holding. Here is my modus operamdi.

I already have a trading account with online and mobile trading facilities. I use the mobile platform.

The NSE site has a list of AMCs and schemes available through MFSS. (HSBC for example, is a fund AMC not available in Mfss)

Once the AMC and schemes are identified, I identify the code from NSE site or use the search facility on the app to aff thm to a watchlist. Once the funds are transferred to the broker, I place for the order.

Note that this is not a trade. I am not speaking of ETFs. I have not answered the all important query on identifying scheme. I rely on reputation and history. Research is of marginal use here, IMHO, YMMV.
Old 13th October 2014, 07:52   #2589

Hi friends, interesting thread. Nice

If any one holds Sun TV then it is advisable to sell, because i read in the papers last friday that an investigation is to commence on the Maran brothers for the Aircel deal
Old 13th October 2014, 09:45   #2590

The Stanchart guy was saying that he expects a correction of 10% in NIFTY from here. So all investments on hold for now. I was planning to innvest about 4L for mmy son but am holding back.
Old 13th October 2014, 21:21   #2591

Hi I am looking for the elusive 10-10-10 stocks : 10 lakhs to invest into 10 stocks for 10 years . essentially looking for multibaggers ... Any suggestions ??
Old 13th October 2014, 22:37   #2592

Originally Posted by siddutta View Post
Hi I am looking for the elusive 10-10-10 stocks : 10 lakhs to invest into 10 stocks for 10 years . essentially looking for multibaggers ... Any suggestions ??
ITC, Dabur, Cairn, Reliance, Persistent, Hexaware, Dish, IndusInd, Tata Motors, Cipla and IRB.
Old 14th October 2014, 13:04   #2593

Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
ITC, Dabur, Cairn, Reliance, Persistent, Hexaware, Dish, IndusInd, Tata Motors, Cipla and IRB.
By Dish you mean DishTV?

10 lacs invested across 10 years, means 1 lac per year, which is probably further split into 10K per company each year (or some sort of monthly SIP).

What is the return of interest expected with these companies?
Old 14th October 2014, 13:22   #2594

Do you suggest buying Tata Motors at current level ~ 490/-?
Old 14th October 2014, 13:47   #2595

Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
By Dish you mean DishTV?

What is the return of interest expected with these companies?
Dish TV. At the least 15% CAGR from these companies.

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
Do you suggest buying Tata Motors at current level ~ 490/-?
Yes, if it is for long term.