26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 7th February 2015, 12:22   #2791
BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

JP Associates - as ajmat mentions - has too much debt on the books. They've sold their cement plants and are trying to improve their balance sheet. Currently, valuations are not expensive. If one wants to take a bet on the capex cycle recovery, it can be a multibagger in 3-4 years time.

Overall, quarterly results have been below par for most companies, particularly PSU banks and the market seems due for a correction/ consolidation around 8200-8600 levels. Obviously, global liquidity and the budget can be the game changers.

My hunch is - knowing the PM's modus operandi - he has taken time to understand issues & get an economic gameplan in place. He knows he cant win the next election unless he delivers jobs & economic growth. He has to act now since revival will take 2-3 years to translate into strong growth. So, my view is the budget will have innovative ideas and should be growth-oriented. I would be seriously disappointed if it is not - and my suspicion is markets could go lower to 7800 levels or so, if budget is below par. Equally, if its good, 9000+ is a certainty.

Wait to see !
Old 8th February 2015, 19:37   #2792
Senior - BHPian

Recommend reading "Understanding Michael Porter by John Magretta" to understand what porter really means by strategy and competitive advantage.

Though I have read many books by Porter since my MBA days, I now realize I did not have a proper understanding of strategy and competitive advantage. Now I understand what strategy means with respect to value proposition, value chain, trade-offs, fit, and continuity of business. The examples given in the book (IKEA, Southwest Airlines etc) help to understand the concepts well.