26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 5th August 2015, 13:57   #2986
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

^^ If you trade using ICICI direct, there is a consolidated P&L statement for both short term and long term capital gains that you can use as an attachment in your IT return. Uses FIFO approach and indexed costs so I guess that's in line with what is required.
Old 5th August 2015, 14:53   #2987
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by murillo View Post
Dear members,
Does your broker give you something like a consolidated report of transactions with a grand total of net profit/loss at the end of the financial year, and which you just attach for your tax submission?
I have a trading account with ICICI securities. They provide a report which gives a report on short term capital gains made during the year for both stocks and mutual funds. Not sure which other trading platforms provide this.
Old 5th August 2015, 19:37   #2988
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit View Post
I use moneycontrol.com's portfolio builder for this. As you keep selling stocks, it automatically saves the details in the capital gains section. At the end of the year I transfer this list to excel from the website and I have all the details ready. Of course, you have to manually input every purchase & sale transaction on the website but I find this method far less cumbersome & more importantly, less confusing then having to sit at the end of the year and make a list from every contract note.
Quote:
Originally Posted by noopster View Post
^^ If you trade using ICICI direct, there is a consolidated P&L statement for both short term and long term capital gains that you can use as an attachment in your IT return. Uses FIFO approach and indexed costs so I guess that's in line with what is required.
Quote: