51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 11th August 2015, 09:49   #3001
BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

SUN, it will depend on the swap ratio.

Strides Arcolab is a company I am interested in. Shasun has been acquired and will get merged. If you are investing 1 lac in Strides, ideally it should be equal to investing 1 lac in Shasun currently. With the swap ratio if you calculate, there would be minor difference only. Any arbitrage opportunity does not exist for too long.

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
Hey Vindy,

What is your view about mergers/ acquisitions to the stock price of both the companies?

Say, for example, if Kotak acquires Yes bank. Would it benefit share holders of Yes Bank or would it be more beneficial to Kotak share holders?

The price per share of acquiring company is lower than that of the other company.
Faustus, I do not write in MC or anywhere else. Avanti's EPS of Rs 220 is an estimate based on management guidance which everyone has access to. I think that is a conservative estimate .

No, Avanti was not exporting shrimps, the major business is manufacturing feed for Shrimps. Shrimp is grown in farms in coastal area. The farmers buy the feed and grow shrimps just like agriculture. Feed is the highest cost item for the farmer and most critical. For 1 Kg of shrimp he will have to use more than a kg of feed. Avanti is now expanding its shrimp processing business and might start exporting shrimps at larger scale going forward. The next 2 years growth will be driven by feeds only.

India exports shrimp worth 20,000 Cr annually! But that's still small compared to the potential we have and the global demand. Apparently shrimp is considered a much healthier meat and is very popular in US.

Quote:
Originally Posted by faustus77 View Post
Vindy
Hi
Thought of you when I saw Avanti at the upper circuit