26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 24th November 2015, 13:33   #3091
Senior - BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

I bought 18 shares of a company more than 12 months ago. Then within last 12 months, I purchased 25+ shares of the same company.
Now, I would like to sell 14 of the shares such that I can avoid STCG tax.

How does IT department know that I want to sell 14 out of my first batch of 18 shares and hence I won't be paying STGC tax?
Old 24th November 2015, 13:45   #3092
Senior - BHPian

Always the order of FIFO is followed while selling. First in First out.
Old 2nd December 2015, 21:24   #3093
BHPian

Booking partial profits out of Reliance Communications.

Looking for undervalued ideas in the agricultural input space and any viewpoints on the sugar sector.
Also looking at MOIL. For positional trade for about 6 months.

Any inputs?
Old 3rd December 2015, 17:33   #3094
Distinguished - BHPian

Does anybody use any professional recommendations / tips (paid services)? Any pointers to it??
Old 3rd December 2015, 17:48   #3095
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftnfurious View Post
Does anybody use any professional recommendations / tips (paid services)? Any pointers to it??
IMHO they're not worth it and would recommend you to stay away.

If you have a small chunk of cash you can take risks with go ahead but it's mostly for trying to make a quick buck than help you build real wealth.

They'll keep sending you tons of text messages daily with stuff like - target XYZ at Rs XXX, stop loss at XXX, buy XX units at XX. Inputs like these doesn't really let you be the decision maker as you would then gravitate towards using these without your own due research.

It's all a business, and any monthly/annual fee you pay would just add to their bottom-line, not yours.