51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Old 7th December 2007, 14:02   #76

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Any idea how good is the BGR energy IPO ?
good ipo.street premium is about 200-220
Old 7th December 2007, 14:20   #77

Have applied for both eclerx and bgr, Lets see what do I get. IPO is like lottery
The only issue is that money gets locked up for a month!
Old 7th December 2007, 15:18   #78

Do you think the markets will fall next week?
Old 7th December 2007, 15:26   #79

Have applied for both eclerx and bgr, Lets see what do I get. IPO is like lottery
The only issue is that money gets locked up for a month!

And its like a BIG Gamble, not necessary that you get a premium on listing day itself.

20000 is the resistance level for sensex for quite sometime, hope that it will retract next week.
Old 7th December 2007, 15:30   #80

yup, the market seems to be hovering between 18500 and 20000
Strong support at 18500, it should remain so. with inflation down. I would start worrying in february as pre budget blues hit market and US christmas sales data becomes more apparent.

With new road projects being announced, and lots of global aquisitions, the market will still hold out for long.

Only problem is the FM doing some silly announcement and then saying I got misquoted, sorry you lost 2 lakh crores.
Old 7th December 2007, 15:43   #81

i trade as well as look out for data on kotak, while i even use moneycontrol and rediff/yahoo sometimes....
Old 7th December 2007, 16:26   #82
adc

Originally Posted by BomBatt View Post
Stock market is my bread and butter. I left a job that was paying me 25 k to 35 k p.m. and jumped into this heaven/hell 3 years back. I do everything - long-term, short-term, daytrading, but not much of F&O (I lost heavily playing in F&O).

I never put my hard-earned money on somebody's recommendation/rumours. I do extensive research before investing; although daytrading and momentum trading is a different thing...

Doing full time stock trading that too as an individual is a big decision, but you have weathered 3 years and that proves the sustaining ability.

Was in stocks till Jan 07, but anyway exited with some profits as could not understand the market that time, but as now evident would have earned much more if I would have hold on - I am in mutual funds from that time.

Would like to hear some good long term stocks [1-2 years] based on fundamentals.

And one mega stock that I would hold on for some 7 years or so, till 2014, would sell it at that time and go to Brazil for the World Cup!!!!

Last edited by adc : 7th December 2007 at 16:32.
Old 9th December 2007, 21:15   #83

I have been associated with stocks for the past 13 years now!

Yes you read it right 13 years now. Been in this game right after finishing school and doing that ever since.
I like to call it the 3 B's
My Bread Butter and Beer

We are stock brokers and Depository Participants with memberships of all the exchanges (not commodities) only Equitys. Do mainly retail business that is on behalf of clients and make our own investments also.

As I am associated with this line of business its not easy to be in this business and not involved into it.
Burnt my hands (not only fingers) a lot of times and now trade strictly for the long term only.
Old 10th December 2007, 10:58   #84

I recently started MF SIP subscriptions, through citi online. Didn't have a clue about stocks / MFs until early 2007. I use moneycontrol.com for my references.

I have entered the MF market primarily to park my extra pocket money, with the hope of decent returns over the long run. The Joe Average type...
Old 11th December 2007, 11:16   #85

Originally Posted by JUDA View Post
This morning good tip for Harig Crankshaft presently at 3.41/-Rs to touch 20/-Rs by March08 due to acquisition by Bharat Forge. It has been closing in UC everyday after markets open. So place your orders early in the morning before the games begin. Cheerio.
Deal is off as per my sources so cant say what the action would be I am pulling out of HC at present.

IMP Note: These are tips received from sources however tips are tips and not concrete information so please invest at your own risk.
Old 11th December 2007, 12:39   #86

I stay away from these penny stocks. Of course some turn multi baggers, like Balasore alloys. It grew 1000+ % in a short time.
But for an individual investor, its best to stick to bigger stuff or midcaps.

Anyways, any idea about Tata coffee. I am waiting for more than a month for this stock to hit around 300 so I can exit with moderate profits.
Old 17th December 2007, 11:33   #87

How about holding tata tele, I bought this at 17/- and now trading at 60/-. I Assume this will grow further and touch 500+ in next two years. They have a termendous growth rate nearly 40%. I beleieve in a year they will become profit making.
Old 17th December 2007, 11:53   #88

Can someone shed more light on IPOs? How are they allocated? When to buy, when to sell etc.? I am a complete newbie to this. I have already read wikipedia.
Old 17th December 2007, 12:01   #89

Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
Can someone shed more light on IPOs? How are they allocated? When to buy, when to sell etc.? I am a complete newbie to this. I have already read wikipedia.

IPO can be bought in the Primary Market from the company thru a allotment process, which is like a lottery system and mathematical calculations. Its not always necessary that u get what u apply for. Generally companies which issue their shares in IPO are always traded at a premium in secondary market which gives you an oppurtunity to exit. If you are a long term player, one can still hold them for future use.

More is said abt IPO's but this should give you some idea.

PS: I dont invest in IPO's as money is locked for more than 21 days with the co and there is high probability I will not get any shares. Dealing is only in secondary for me
Old 17th December 2007, 12:10   #90

So does it mean you loose your money if shares are not alloted to you?