Old 1st July 2008, 18:01   #1

YetiBlog® - The Don, My Father's wedding and Strawberries on Rajinikanth's face.

Prologue:

It has been a long while since the Yeti® saw a Hindi movie.

The last one I saw was “Partner” a brainless, plot-free, mad package of entertainment.

There is only one person I know that can truly make kitsch look cool - sing Himmesh, walk Shahrukh, dance Govinda still be super cool. I just had to watch a movie with the Don.

I had been eying the movie posters of “Mere Baap, pehle Aap”, a movie by Priyadarshan. I had seen two previous releases by this Director – Maalamaal Weekly and Hera Pheri. The trailer was tight and quite funny. In my opinion Paresh Rawal is a God. And Priyadarshan's movies were funny. I had to see this one.

Chal, Mere Baap ki Shaadi dekhne jaate hai
Woh kya hai?
Arrey that new comedy movie by Priyadarshan.

Silence.

Nahi hua hai release abhi tak.
Theek hai, par tu mere bina nahi jaayega.
Achha baba, nahi jaaoonga tere bina. It's not a very good movie, I heard.
Click.
Then Jenny came back to India and Priyadarshan was forgotten. NC went for his usual Friday movie stints.

Then one day, Jenny left. Returned to Germany - just like that. Depression was setting in. Strong and hard. This was not acceptable.

Kya kar raha hai?
Depressed hoon Gautam.
Arrey this is life yaar.
Hmmm… Chal picture dekhne jaate hai.
Chal. Kaunsa?
Mere baap ki shaadi.
My voice is sounding unhappy.
Silence.

It’s called Mere Baap pehle aap you know.

Arrey whatever. Let’s go see it.
I am actually sulking and I can feel it. I sound like a child whose favourite toy has been snatched away.

Chal. Kab?
Kal.
Monday? Chal. What show? Late?
Yes.
Where, Imax?
Ya.
Theek hai, I’ll order the tickets.

Click.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 1st July 2008 at 18:08.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st July 2008, 18:22   #2

Ahh!!! another Yeti blog.. featuring NC? wah wah , this one's gotta be filled with masala .bring it on Sam

Last edited by The Matrix : 1st July 2008 at 18:25.
Old 1st July 2008, 18:24   #3

YetiBlog® - 16th June 2008

It's a dull Monday at the office. Work is progressing at a snail's pace as is the day.

Gautam has managed to get the tickets. There is a 8pm and a 10.45pm show. We have decided to get the 10.45pm tickets. Also decided to meet at the cinema by 8.30 or 9, hang out, catch up on stuff and eat at the Chinese/Thai cafe inside Imax. The Don likes Tom-Yum.

By evening, work gets out of hand and I get delayed. I intend to go home, wash up, change into jeans (I don't wear shorts when I go out in the evening) and drive to Imax.
It's now 7 and I've only just left the office.

ABHI nikla? You are going to be really late. Why don't you come straight to the theatre?

My driver Sunil is from Sion. My nickname for him is "Mumbai Darshan"

If there is an easy, straight and simple way to go somewhere, you can be assured that Sunil is not on that way. This is a Man who thinks Malad is near Vikhroli.
But he is from Sion and he knows the way to Imax - he takes me through some super short cut. It is 7.45 and I am 10 minutes away from the cinema.

I hurriedly call Gautam who is waiting at home in Chembur. He promises to leave in the next 5 minutes and see me in the next 15.

8pm

Sunil parks in the parking lot of Imax, smiles his Good-night-Sir and is off.
I am waiting.

15 minutes later a Skoda Octavia RS oulls up with a familiar Jabra Bluetooth on a familiar ear in the window.
Sam ko milne aaya hoon, picture dekhne he is saying into the phone as he pays his parking fee.
He parks, locks the door, puts both his hands in his pockets and walks happily towards me with a trademark grin.

It's going to be a fun evening.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 1st July 2008 at 18:25.
Old 1st July 2008, 18:33   #4

Sounds interesting, looking forward to this one!!!
Old 1st July 2008, 18:33   #5

yes... good time pass
Old 1st July 2008, 18:40   #6

Here we go with one more Yeti blog seems interesting right from the word go
Old 1st July 2008, 18:40   #7

Oh mine!
I'm gonna roll my stomachs on this one again.

Aan de, Aan de!
Old 1st July 2008, 18:44   #8

Hmmmm..a movie travelogue. Sounds interesting. Look forward to the rest.
Old 1st July 2008, 18:47   #9

Bucket of KFC (Hot and Crispy)- CHeck
Chilled Beer - Check
Bean Bag - Check

Ahhh now I will start reading Sam's blog.
Old 1st July 2008, 18:58   #10

Waiting for more bro. Yeti Blog Rocks!

Last edited by abhinav.gupta88 : 1st July 2008 at 19:12.
Old 1st July 2008, 19:16   #11

Wait till the Rajni brigade troops in, seeing the title.
Old 1st July 2008, 19:19   #12

Double copy Sammyboy

Hoping it doesn't carry on till tomorrow working day
Old 1st July 2008, 19:20   #13
ECM

(I don't wear shorts when I go out in the evening)
So all those who are tall wearing shorts in the evening with a bakra type beard may NOT be not Sam,first point I have noted,go ahead Sam.
Old 1st July 2008, 19:23   #14

cant wait for the rest of the story!

Sam did u ever consider writing as a profession ??
Old 1st July 2008, 20:05   #15

YetiBlog® - continued

Arrey what took so long?
What long?
Trademark grin replaced with mock glare. Aaya to 15 minit mein! Kaisa aadmi hai?

We walk together towards Imax as I check my watch. It's 8.15pm.

What are we going to do for 2 and a half hours man?
Arrey chal, we'll do some full time-pass inside.

I shrug an OK and we pass through the metal detectors into the cinema. It's a monday evening, not very crowded in there. OK no crowd. There are about 6 people inside. Maybe 5. OK chal 4. Deal.

We walk around the atrium pointing to each and every poster and passing comments on everything. We take a little longer at the Sinngh is Kinng (or something like that) poster.
A quick visit to the toilet, a few jokes in the toilet and we're back in the Atrium, thinking of what to do next.

Around this time it happens again.

Time and again I have noted that every now and then when I am with Gautam, something happens. We both start laughing. I mean like complete idiots. Jokes need not be completed, smart lines not required.
We can both look at a person and end up laughing like two juveniles at the same time.

We walk around laughing at all the people inside the atrium. All 4 of them. OK 5 if you include the man who sells those 20 rupees tokens to play kiddie games. And 6 if you include the Baskin Robbers icecream walla.

We gravitate towards the crossword store. We're talking to each other non-stop, winding our way through the gulleys full of books and CDs, stopping and staring at things that interest us, chatting away without skipping a beat. After spending about 20 minutes inside the store, we automatically walk out and we're back in the Atrium.

When do you want to eat?
You say.
I'm a little hungry.
So come on.
Nahi, it's still too early.

We somehow end up in the middle of the kiddie arcade.

It is now 9 pm.