Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 15th July 2008, 15:03   #1
Senior - BHPian

The Green Driver Campaign

Note: This is an environmental protection campaign and if the mods feel it shall be moved to another thread elsewhere, please do so. However, I request to leave this as a new thread, as this will also serve as a 'sign up sheet' for those who wish to participate. I am compiling the sign-ups and consolidate from various media to make the campaign successful. I would highly appreciate cooperation from the mods in this regard...

I am a GREEN Driver.. How about you..?

What is being Green?

Global Warming, Green-house effect, Ozone layer depletion, CO2 emission, changing extreme weather conditions, increasing temperatures, devastating rains and droughts, more frequent cyclones and unprecedented forest fires – these have been the major concern for the entire world, regardless of advanced nations or growing countries, as the effect is global and everyone is affected.

Where we are now?

CO2 Emission has been on an unprecedented rise in the past few decades for reasons attributable to faster growth rates of many countries around the nation. We must point out that the world’s CO2 emissions from the transportation sector exceeded 5 G annual tons in 2002, of which more than 4.2 G came from road transportation (which is an incredible 84%), CO2 emissions from transportation for 2030 are projected to exceed 8.5 G tons.

With respect to the European Union, forecasts show that between 2000 and 2030 emissions will increase by 1 G to 1.3 G tons annually in Europe alone. In short, CO2 emissions from the transportation sector are at a very high level and therefore have tremendous environmental consequences.

What are we doing now?