Team-BHP > Shifting gears

Search this Thread
Old 21st July 2008, 20:57   #1
BHPian

Help with a home loan!

Need some help on a home loan from experience members, I am a complete noob in terms of money matters, and finance issues are piling up, need to take care of it before it gets out of hand.

Here are the bare facts.

I am presently working in Delhi, I am not yet married, however I and my fiancée decided to buy an apartment together since we can afford the EMI together. So we didn’t waste much time searching for the perfect home, rather took the plunge and booked an apartment in RPS Savana, Sector 88, Faridabad.

:: RPS Group :: - Projects (Real Estate Residential ) ::

Now lets not discuss why Faridabad of all the places in NCR, but one of the main reason is, that’s one place where we can afford right now, its connected to Delhi, Noida and Gurgaon, and I am sure its going to develop very soon. We had booked the apartment in Oct 2006 when the project was launched at a basic price of 23.5L for a 2+1 BHK, now the prices have gone up to 30+ for the same apartment. The society is under construction right now and is scheduled to be completed in mid 2010.

We decided to apply for the home loan under my fiancée name, and at that time only Axis and HDFC bank were providing loans on that project. Axis bank approved the home loan, but it was approved for only 16.5 lakhs as that was the max they could do based on my fiancée documents. We decided to go ahead with the loan, as we thought that after we get married I will apply as a co-applicant for a loan top-up to cover the balance. Initially for the first 18 months, EMI would only be the interest on the amount disbursed by the bank and the actual EMI would start after 18 months.

We chose the construction linked payment plan from the builder, they would send out a demand letter based on the construction completed.