Old 7th August 2008, 01:00   #1

Germany or UK for Automotive Masters

Hi Friends and senior members,
I finally graduated from B.E Mechanical Engineering with 73 % aggregate. I am thinking of doing my masters but this time its going to be specialisation in Automotive. I already applied to two master programmes in UK one in loughborough and in Southampton. I am learning German language also. I am always getting this doubt should I go to UK or Germany for my masters. Kindly help me decide. I am in a big dilemma.
AFAIK
for UK the pros and cons are - Ease of admission and already got offer from 2 universities, but I am worried about the job prospects and the Cost involved, its bit high should go for a big loan.

For Germany the admission isn't that easy, and language (though I am learning this its kinda tough and I am working hard for this) but I consider it to be the home for cars so the education quality and the tech seem to be really good (going through the modules) and moreover financially its on the lighter side (this is important at the end of the day)
kindly help me in the regard to decide which one should I go for I am awaiting your inputs I am sure there may be seniors who would have gone in both the directions!
note: i should still apply to the german universities for the feb 09 intake or the next sept 09 intake

thank you in advance
Ranjith

Last edited by rranjith_kum : 7th August 2008 at 01:03. Reason: mistakes
Old 7th August 2008, 12:39   #2

Originally Posted by rranjith_kum View Post
I finally graduated from B.E Mechanical Engineering ....
Congrats Ranjith. You finally graduated from engineering .

Coming back to your question. The way I would approach it is:
  • Look at the history, track record of the university in the subject I am planning to study.
  • Look at the professors who would teach the subjects and know more about them (From internet, journals etc)
  • Industry-Academia partnership for the course I am planning to study.
  • Placements
  • I would also talk to alumni, specially of the course I am about to take
I would not give much weight-age to the german/UK car history/home thing.

No doubt, money and ease of admission are important criteria BUT not the most important and ONLY criteria. These 2-3 years are very important and will be the foundation for the rest of the life from a professional perspective.

Hope that helps..
Old 7th August 2008, 15:06   #3

First of all thank you for your reply,

I did look at these criteria beforehand but guess I didn't address these issues in my post
In UK the university I applied for Loughborough which is run with a lot of company collaboration such as ford, Jaguar, landrover etc.. the course itself dates back to 1986 i believe. there are a lot of publications from the faculty member esp in SAE and all

The german system of education has got internships as a part of the curriculum so there is even more exposure to the working environment the overall cost difference is coming around 7 lakhs less than what it is for UK.
German programmes are for 1.5 years and optional research semesters in most cases but UK the programmes are for 1 year jam packed they call it.
I ran a detailed module specification search, the courses in germany are much more specific and detailed comparatively but we cannot draw any conclusions just by looking at the syllabus right ?
Old 7th August 2008, 15:09   #4

one more thing when i ask every alumni or present students about the course every one is saying that their university is best so I am unable to arrive at any particular decision with this !! looks like all are very loyal to their institutions
Old 7th August 2008, 15:14   #5

As a mechancial Engineer myself and specializing in Automobile engg, I would always recommend if any thing concerned to machineries / automobiles the 1st preference would be Germany. But as Khan has suggested do a trough analysis and then decide.
Old 7th August 2008, 19:56   #6

I agree with you sir, Germany stands out with technology !!
Old 7th August 2008, 20:05   #7

Which University are you trying for in Germany ? Language is a point to take into consideration but let that not be the only point for your to strike out the option. There are many Uni's now in Germany offering courses in English, and the numbers are rising everyday. Do your basic A1 course in German and it will not at all be difficult for you to pick up the language once you are in Germany. Even if the language is a requirement, most universities, allow you to take admission if you have done the basic 3 months of A1 and then you continue with extra classes at University.

If there is any help I could be off, please feel free to PM me.

All the best with your decision.

Indra

For Germany the admission isn't that easy, and language (though I am learning this its kinda tough and I am working hard for this) but I consider it to be the home for cars so the education quality and the tech seem to be really good (going through the modules) and moreover financially its on the lighter side (this is important at the end of the day)

thank you in advance
Ranjith
Old 7th August 2008, 22:34   #8

Halo Senindra,

its nice to hear from you ! In fact I have been learning German Language for almost a year. Yes I am in my B1 level now ! Ich spreche bisschen Deutsch.

ah ha I think I will better continue in English for the benefit of other readers, I am planning to apply to RWTH aachen and FH Esslingen ? Do you know any other universities offering Automotive specialisation? I am collecting info from DAAD website as of now.

Last edited by rranjith_kum : 7th August 2008 at 22:36.
Old 7th August 2008, 23:05   #9

Do I qualify for the course?
I am a civil engineer by education.
I am really interested in the structural parts of the car(chassis, suspension, roll cage etc.)

Please enlighten me too senindra.
Old 7th August 2008, 23:55   #10

Hi, there are quiet some courses esp universitat stuttgart offering the courses tough its quiet broad you can always do your project in that direction showing you keen interest and specialise this can attract your potential employer !
Old 8th August 2008, 11:55   #11

I have already completed the degree and am working in one of the big four consultancies since an year now. I hold a patent on a steering mechanism and have been involved in making four cars during my college days. I have also been the team leader for my college FSAE team at formula student silverstone,UK.
This job is paying me well but still i am unsatisfied as my first love has always been and will always be automobiles.
Old 8th August 2008, 12:58   #12

Super . B1 ist schon genug.

FH Esslingen I have been told has good faculty. I am from a completely different stream so I am not very aware, but it would not be too difficult to find out as I know of a girl from India who studied Automobile technology and now works for BMW in Munchen.

Ich spreche bisschen Deutsch.

I am planning to apply to RWTH aachen and FH Esslingen ? Do you know any other universities offering Automotive specialisation? I am collecting info from DAAD website as of now.
Old 8th August 2008, 22:52   #13

Motorhead, try for Aachen. Google up and you will find some information. As I am not from this stream I would not be able to help you. Once you have decided and are moving to germany, ping me if you need any help/suggestions

All the best

Originally Posted by motorheadinc View Post
Do I qualify for the course?

Please enlighten me too senindra.
Old 9th August 2008, 09:49   #14

Originally Posted by senindra View Post
Super . B1 ist schon genug.

FH Esslingen I have been told has good faculty. I am from a completely different stream so I am not very aware, but it would not be too difficult to find out as I know of a girl from India who studied Automobile technology and now works for BMW in Munchen.
hi, then can you try to get me as much info as possible for fh aachen 's masters in automotive vehicle integration.
Old 9th August 2008, 09:51   #15

Originally Posted by motorheadinc View Post
I have already completed the degree and am working in one of the big four consultancies since an year now. I hold a patent on a steering mechanism and have been involved in making four cars during my college days. I have also been the team leader for my college FSAE team at formula student silverstone,UK.
This job is paying me well but still i am unsatisfied as my first love has always been and will always be automobiles.
Formula student was always my fantasy !! may I know which college are you from? more over I would like to know more about your steering patent !!