Old 11th November 2013, 20:21   #6001

re: A Guide: Eating out in Hyderabad/Secunderabad/Cyberabad

Ok , here we go. Let the thread stay alive.

1. Lunch at Hard Rock Cafe - We had Hickory Smoked Chicken Wings (Half Plate - Rs 215), Potato Skins with Bacon Bits (Half Plate - Rs 250) Twisted Ham and Cheese (Rs 450) and Legendary 10 oz Burger with Chicken and Bacon (Rs 435) . Pics attached.

The items were pricey, but has that authentic feel to it. I love the Chicken wings and I think its the best Chicken wings available in the whole of Hyderabad (Chili's comes in a close second)

2. Evening snack @ Ice and Spice, Yusuf Tekri, Tollichowki - An impromptu visit, but I make it a point to eat the Mutabbaq (its an Arabian sandwich / stuffed bread with minced meat) whenever I go via that road. Its value for money at Rs 95/-.

3. Dinner - bought take away Kabsa Dajaj (Arabian Chickem Biryani , if I can call it that) from 4 seasons. First of all I think 4 seasons is pretty pricey ; I think their counter within the food court in Inorbit is much cheaper. 1 portion of Kabsa came at Rs 316 incl of VAT.

Muttabaq was awesome. A must try recommendation from my side.
A Guide: Eating out in Hyderabad/Secunderabad/Cyberabad-img20131109wa002.jpg  

A Guide: Eating out in Hyderabad/Secunderabad/Cyberabad-img20131109wa003.jpg  

A Guide: Eating out in Hyderabad/Secunderabad/Cyberabad-img20131109wa000.jpg  

A Guide: Eating out in Hyderabad/Secunderabad/Cyberabad-img20131109wa008.jpg  

Last edited by autotranny : 11th November 2013 at 20:26.
Old 11th November 2013, 23:07   #6002

Originally Posted by Pheonix View Post
We went there for dinner late and ordered Paneer Tikka, Plate Poori , 2 Butter Nans and one "Malai Kofta"
Ordering Punjabi dishes at an Udupi joint? What else did you expect?
I had the experience of finding curry leaf tadka in paneer butter masala at Shanbagh long ago.
Old 12th November 2013, 17:37   #6003

Guyz,
Please suggest the best Chinese restaurant in Hyderabad,preferably around Madhapur, Gachibowli area... Banjara Hills and Jubilee hills is also fine.
Apart from the food, I would like a good ambience and service.

Aadi
Old 12th November 2013, 17:41   #6004

Originally Posted by Pheonix View Post
^^^ Avi you just jinxed me wanted to revive this thread with my yesterdays visit to the same minerva cofeeshop at Himayat nagar for dinner and here i find your post !!

We went there for dinner late and ordered Paneer Tikka, Plate Poori , 2 Butter Nans and one "Malai Kofta"
Originally Posted by CtrlAltDel View Post
Ordering Punjabi dishes at an Udupi joint? What else did you expect?
I had the experience of finding curry leaf tadka in paneer butter masala at Shanbagh long ago.
Agree with Andy here. Not sure why would you order North Indian curries at a South Indian Place? ( Though I myself have done it a few times and realized it isnt always the best)

I recommend you stick to their snacks and maybe the South Indian Thali. I was actually tempted to try that and maybe will do try in near future.

Originally Posted by autotranny View Post
Ok , here we go. Let the thread stay alive.

1. Lunch at Hard Rock Cafe - We had Hickory Smoked Chicken Wings (Half Plate - Rs 215), Potato Skins with Bacon Bits (Half Plate - Rs 250) Twisted Ham and Cheese (Rs 450) and Legendary 10 oz Burger with Chicken and Bacon (Rs 435) . Pics attached.

Muttabaq was awesome. A must try recommendation from my side.
Love HRC Food but, I shudder at their cost. I have tried all their signature dishes like Hickory wings, Potato Skins and Corn Cheese Balls. But, never tried their Burger or Bacon as I dont eat that

I will take away the Muttabaq and let you know my feedback. Hope its available at 6:30pm in evening?
Old 12th November 2013, 17:48   #6005

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
But, never tried their Burger or Bacon as I dont eat that
Considering the huge non bacon eating population in Maa Hyderabad, HRC does serve the Buger and the skins without Bacon/Ham etc. However to get the best out of a Burger, it should necessarily be Beef.

I will take away the Muttabaq and let you know my feedback. Hope its available at 6:30pm in evening?
6.30 is just warm-up time for them. The place starts bustling after 7.30 pm only. By the way, Mutabbaq is best eaten hot. Considering your gastronomical skills, I suggest you eat one there and pack one for the family.
Old 12th November 2013, 20:36   #6006

However to get the best out of a Burger, it should necessarily be Beef.
I happened to eat a beef burger by mistake in Paris and even though the taste was quite good, I regret it even now..LOL

6.30 is just warm-up time for them. The place starts bustling after 7.30 pm only. By the way, Mutabbaq is best eaten hot. Considering your gastronomical skills, I suggest you eat one there and pack one for the family.
Well, you said it and I bought it, is that fast enough?

Is this the Mutabbaq? Btw, It's chicken minced meat and costed just Rs.65

It was an outstanding dish and I relished it while driving back home this evening

Definetly going back for this wonderful dish.....
A Guide: Eating out in Hyderabad/Secunderabad/Cyberabad-img_00001649_01.jpg  

Old 12th November 2013, 20:40   #6007

Well, you said it and I bought it, is that fast enough?

Is this the Mutabbaq? Btw, It's chicken minced meat and costed just Rs.65

It was an outstanding dish and I relished it while driving back home this evening

Arre Wah. That was indeed quick. Is this from Ice and Spice itself or the nearby shops. Ice and Spice charged me Rs 95/- for this on Sunday. I wonder if they have a TBhp Mod discount.

On a second look, I think they gave me a bigger portion since me and wifey shared one. Maybe they have a half and full plate concept.
Old 12th November 2013, 21:16   #6008

Originally Posted by adimicra View Post
Guyz,
Please suggest the best Chinese restaurant in Hyderabad,preferably around Madhapur, Gachibowli area... Banjara Hills and Jubilee hills is also fine.

Aadi
Try wonton...it's a pretty decent place for Chinese...its not very spicy as well...it's at Indiranagar...above dominos
Old 12th November 2013, 21:17   #6009

Arre Wah. That was indeed quick. Is this from Ice and Spice itself or the nearby shops. Ice and Spice charged me Rs 95/- for this on Sunday. I wonder if they have a TBhp Mod discount.

On a second look, I think they gave me a bigger portion since me and wifey shared one. Maybe they have a half and full plate concept.
Haha! It was Ice and Spice. We were sitting in the car and he served it to us in the car. No idea of the full and half plate. But, quantity was too much for me and had just half of it. Saved the rest for tomorrow
Old 12th November 2013, 21:55   #6010

Used to get a very similar looking dish in Chennai at Hotel Runs in Adyar.

They used to call it Ceylon Chicken Egg Parotta.

Very filling and very satisfying.
Old 12th November 2013, 22:11   #6011

Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Used to get a very similar looking dish in Chennai at Hotel Runs in Adyar.

They used to call it Ceylon Chicken Egg Parotta.

Very filling and very satisfying.
Imran Bhai, that's different. This is more like a sandwich.

Infact I had the privilege of eating some awesome Egg/Chicken parotta in Kuala Lumpur. Carried over from the Tamil influence on Malay food.

By the way, we had New Town Cafe above Lumbini Mall on road no 2, Banjara Hills that used to serve pretty awesome Malay cuisine. I think it was forced to close pretty soon (so says Zomato)

Edit : Note for BBlost - My wife nudged me to ask you if you like the Runs Biryani ?

Last edited by autotranny : 12th November 2013 at 22:24.
Old 12th November 2013, 22:13   #6012

Originally Posted by adimicra View Post
Originally Posted by racer_ash View Post
Try wonton...it's a pretty decent place for Chinese...its not very spicy as well...it's at Indiranagar...above dominos
Aromas of China, City Centre Mall, Road No. 1, Banjara Hills = One of the best in town, located in Banjara Hills, good food, excellent ambience, superb service. Pricey!!!
Old 12th November 2013, 22:15   #6013

Imran Bhai, that's different. This is more like a sandwich.

Infact I had the privilege of eating some awesome Egg/Chicken parotta in Kuala Lumpur. Carried over from the Tamil influence on Malay food.
This is the dish I am talking about:
http://www.thehindu.com/features/met...cle3840065.ece

Will try and pick this Mutabbaq over the weekend for research and study purposes.
Old 12th November 2013, 22:42   #6014

Originally Posted by hyd_traveller View Post
Aromas of China, City Centre Mall, Road No. 1, Banjara Hills = One of the best in town, located in Banjara Hills, good food, excellent ambience, superb service. Pricey!!!
Have been to both.
Wonton is not really a fine dining experience. I normally used to order home delivery or take away...its good for the price.

I like Aromas of China a lot.. in fact, I was pretty regular there when I used to stay at Banjara hills.

What about Oriental Blossom at Aditya Sarovar?
Old 12th November 2013, 22:46   #6015

Originally Posted by bblost View Post
... Hotel Runs in Adyar. ...
:O Really? Scary. Wouldn't people be scared of actually getting the runs eating there?

... awesome Egg/Chicken parotta in Kuala Lumpur. ...
The first time I had Muttabaq / Murtabaq was in KL in a food court on the top floor of a supermarket.