Team-BHP > Shifting gears

Search this Thread
Old 14th April 2011, 00:08   #106
BHPian

re: The "Provident Fund" Thread

I need some advise. I have been working for the last six years but am quiting to peruse a full time one year course.

I'm not sure if I should withdraw my PF or let it lie dormant for one year and then try to transfer it to my future employer? Please share your views. Thanks.
Old 14th April 2011, 00:21   #107
BHPian

6 years would be a handsome amount. IMO unless you have a good investment plan/thought in mind do not withdraw.

also other details like planned big purchases/marriage/family would influence the decision.
Old 14th April 2011, 14:11   #108
BANNED

I would vote for sticking to the existing account till you stop working (50+ years of age). As somebody responded to this statement earlier, I really cannot comment on the processes, levels of corruption, etc in the future. Right now, you have a very risk-free and secure investment, which earns above average rate of returns.

Additionally, longer duration of account's existence means higher possible pension in future when you retire.

Only govt. bonds offer equivalent level of security; and they are still subject to attachment in case you go bankrupt. (a remote possibility, given the defunct legal system; but still a possibility).
Old 14th April 2011, 14:54   #109
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by somspaple View Post
6 years would be a handsome amount. IMO unless you have a good investment plan/thought in mind do not withdraw.
Thanks, I need to clarify a couple of things though - does the account still earn interest while I'm not contributing (earning) ?

The only thing making me want to withdraw is that I am young (below 30) with minimal financial commitments so I prefer riskier investment options with higher potential returns.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post