Old 16th May 2012, 19:07   #226

re: The "Provident Fund" Thread

It appears that the limit for Gratuity increased to 10 lakhs after the 6th Pay Commission was implemented with retrospective effect from 2007. But amounts over 3.5 lakhs were taxable.

It was only in May 2010 that the Income Tax Rules have been amended by the Central Board of Direct Taxes to make the entire amount of 10 Lakhs non-taxable.

There is some controversy whether this exemption is only for Government employees and PSU employees, but to me it looks like it is applicable to all, including private sector employees. I shall update this thread after I gather information.

Last edited by vnabhi : 16th May 2012 at 19:09.
Old 24th May 2012, 11:42   #227

Quoting from the article below

employees will have to sacrifice the bonus they get on 20 years of pensionable service.
Is anyone aware of this bonus if you are in 20 years of service. Thats a new thing in here.

Article Link : EPFO bonus may go in exchange for pension hike - The Economic Times
Old 20th June 2012, 16:50   #228

I did not know where to ask . Is Superannuation part of CTC or not ? . Does every company has Superannuation by default ? . How do I know whether my previous company had Superannuation or not ?
Old 26th July 2012, 09:47   #229

E-passbook for your PF Account. Great Initiative

Member Portal - Beta

I have not yet explored it. Would love to hear from you
Old 26th July 2012, 10:27   #230

Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
Quoting from the article below

Is anyone aware of this bonus if you are in 20 years of service. Thats a new thing in here.

Article Link : EPFO bonus may go in exchange for pension hike - The Economic Times
Thanks for the update. I got to read this post just now.

I don't think it is a big difference, as the difference in monthly pension after withdrawing the bonus of 2 extra years of pensionable service on completing 20 years of service under FPS is quite meager.

If you read through the example given in the url below, the difference works out to Rs 186 per month (Rs 2321 Vs 2135)

Epf Pension Calculation Formula | HR Letter Formats
Old 27th July 2012, 18:18   #231

Is it possible to claim a PF which is atleast 7 years old?
Old 27th July 2012, 21:36   #232

Originally Posted by mail4ajo View Post
Is it possible to claim a PF which is atleast 7 years old?
Of course you can. You need to contact your ex-employer and the PF office local to that employer's office.
Old 10th August 2012, 12:09   #233

Can we withdraw full or part amount from PF if you are still in service ? If yes then how much and how?
Old 10th August 2012, 12:43   #234

As per today's ToI Rs. 26000 Crore lying unclaimed in PF and Bank accounts.
Rs 26,000 crore left unclaimed in bank, provident fund accounts - The Times of India
Old 10th August 2012, 13:22   #235

Originally Posted by sam003 View Post
Can we withdraw full or part amount from PF if you are still in service ? If yes then how much and how?
Of course you can, subject to certain qaulifications for reason of withdrawal. Attached is the link below which will give more details.
Guide Lines for PF Withdrawal | HR Letter Formats

If your PF is held through a trust managed by your company then you need to contact your HR for more details on the withdrawal process.
Old 10th August 2012, 19:44   #236

Originally Posted by sam003 View Post
Yes, you can, and ghodlur's link is correct. But it is always advisable to resist the urge to do so (though I am guilty of yielding to the urge twice).

I'm not sure how much time it takes, but if your PF is managed by a trust, then it is a smooth affair. But Trusts are rare, and mostly found in government undertakings.

There was a limit of maximum two withdrawals in one's lifetime from the Trust of the company I used to work in.
Old 10th August 2012, 19:59   #237

Originally Posted by carwatcher View Post
As per today's ToI Rs. 26000 Crore lying unclaimed in PF and Bank accounts.
Rs 26,000 crore left unclaimed in bank, provident fund accounts - The Times of India
I too have a share in that pot. It's a nominal amount hence not raising a hell for the same although I have already initiated the process of withdrawal from my previous PF account. I seriously feel this amount would have been much lesser if the PFO was computerized and the homo-sapien neanderthals working in PF department were a bit more 'customer friendly'.
Old 10th August 2012, 21:01   #238

Originally Posted by SankalpDesai View Post
I seriously feel this amount would have been much lesser if the PFO was computerized and the homo-sapien neanderthals working in PF department were a bit more 'customer friendly'.
In case you are not aware, PF department has been computerised at a very fast pace during last few years. The staff also has become much more public-friendly and computer savvy, throughout India their offices have been renovated. IIRC they will give (or its already started) each individual an account no. like PAN that will take care of all your PF related issues.
Old 10th August 2012, 21:46   #239

Originally Posted by carwatcher View Post
In case you are not aware, PF department has been computerised at a very fast pace during last few years. The staff also has become much more public-friendly and computer savvy, throughout India their offices have been renovated. IIRC they will give (or its already started) each individual an account no. like PAN that will take care of all your PF related issues.

Yes, this is correct.

OT---'Home sapien neanderthals' made me guffaw!
Old 28th August 2012, 12:44   #240

Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
E-passbook for your PF Account. Great Initiative

Member Portal - Beta

I have not yet explored it. Would love to hear from you
Thanks once again for that link. I registered on that site on July 26th and requested for a soft copy of a passbook.
I got the response today (after a month) and was able to view and download my passbook in pdf form. It was updated till August 1st PF deposit, which is the most current one.

That site rocks.