Old 14th April 2017, 16:38   #571

Re: The "Provident Fund" Thread

This is a query regarding VPF, anyone that have been subscribing for it kindly throw light on it.

Is the VPF deducted from the pre-tax income or post-tax income? If pre-tax then the net tax outgo gets reduced, is that assumption right ?
Old 14th April 2017, 21:54   #572

Originally Posted by aravindkumarp View Post
This is a query regarding VPF, anyone that have been subscribing for it kindly throw light on it.

Is the VPF deducted from the pre-tax income or post-tax income? If pre-tax then the net tax outgo gets reduced, is that assumption right ?
VPF and PF are both pre-tax deductions, subject to a cap of 1.5 lakhs under Section 80 C.
Old 19th April 2017, 13:59   #573

Was able to download my passbook until March 2017 from this link today
Old 19th April 2017, 23:29   #574

Originally Posted by Nonstop-driver View Post

When I tried it gave me a message saying your passbook will be ready in 04 days ! Not sure if this a computerised system or they are going back to manual operation.
Old 20th April 2017, 19:36   #575

Originally Posted by pgupta View Post
When I tried it gave me a message saying your passbook will be ready in 04 days ! Not sure if this a computerised system or they are going back to manual operation.
This happens usually when you have logged into portal for first time. Nothing to worry there.
Old 20th April 2017, 22:22   #576

Originally Posted by .sushilkumar View Post
This happens usually when you have logged into portal for first time. Nothing to worry there.

I had actually used the passbook feature about a year back. So I am not a first time user. However i could also see that lot has changed since I last used the site and unfortunately for the worse. Earlier when UAN was not introduced one needed to enter a document number from a given list of documents and the process was quite simple thereafter. And you could see instantly the balance. Now it takes you to a suspicious looking URL and then gives you some crazy and non sense messages. I tried again today and I got the same message stating that it will take 04 days to get the passbook. Probably someone is manually calculating and preparing the statement and then the same will be uploaded and then it will be claimed that we have an automated portal. Let's see what I get after 4 days of wait.
Old 21st April 2017, 14:02   #577

Looks like there is a new feature being added in the Unified Portal to transfer account.

The "Provident Fund" Thread-pf.jpg
Old 21st April 2017, 14:21   #578

Website not opening for me today. Guess it is the most unstable site!
Old 21st April 2017, 14:36   #579

Thanks, this link worked perfectly for me. Was able to view and download my passbook, which is updated till 31st March. Based on the recent news the interest also should be credited by next week for the previous financial year.
Old 21st April 2017, 14:40   #580

I tried downloading my PF passbook to view balance and other details but got following error

"Passbook not available to this Member-id as this pertain to exempted establishment (i.e. Trust).Requested to
contact your employer"

Please advise.
Old 21st April 2017, 18:43   #581

Originally Posted by bluevolt View Post
I tried downloading my PF passbook to view balance and other details but got following error

"Passbook not available to this Member-id as this pertain to exempted establishment (i.e. Trust).Requested to
contact your employer"

Please advise.
Is your PF trust managed internally.
Old 23rd April 2017, 13:58   #582

Originally Posted by .sushilkumar View Post
Is your PF trust managed internally.
Not sure about it. Shall I contact my HR in office?
Old 23rd April 2017, 17:13   #583

Originally Posted by bluevolt View Post
Not sure about it. Shall I contact my HR in office?
Most Probably HR will be able to provide answer.

Many organisation like HCL have private PF trust. If you happen to be on among them, they have a Private PF trust managed by themselves & all statements are provided internally to employees rather than via EPFO.
Old 17th May 2017, 11:12   #584

I am able to view/download my passbook from
https://passbook.epfindia.gov.in/Mem...Book/Login.jsp

It is up to date and shows my monthly contributions as of April 2017. However, very strangely, the annual interest which gets credited in March of every year is "missing".

Does anyone know, what is the reason behind this? Or is it just a delay in updating the system. Such things are a real put-off. How difficult is it to show up-to-date information (not talking of real-time updates but at least EOD data)? Am thankful though, at least I am able to see data till the previous month-end, which seems like a big deal now.
Old 17th May 2017, 11:24   #585

Originally Posted by sachinayak View Post
Does anyone know, what is the reason behind this? Or is it just a delay in updating the system. Such things are a real put-off. How difficult is it to show up-to-date information (not talking of real-time updates but at least EOD data)? Am thankful though, at least I am able to see data till the previous month-end, which seems like a big deal now.
Update of interest credit is delayed every year. It never happens by April. One reason is that the Finance Ministry has to approve the interest rate . Sometimes they even try to lower the interest rate , resulting in a tussle with the Labor ministry and causing delays.

Last edited by sdp1975 : 17th May 2017 at 11:25.