Old 2nd November 2008, 12:30   #16

Excellent write-up, Suman! And whats with that bartender job? Effect of the economic slowdown?

Congrats on your new acquisition. No more excuses henceforth for the poor quality of snaps.
Old 2nd November 2008, 13:44   #17

Camera looks beautiful.

I got a query which is OT though.
1) For a person who is an amateur which is the right way to start off? Asking as my friend is planning on getting himself a Dslr which will be a straight from a normal digicam.
2) Any particular place in blr where you can do this keeping both price and quality product in mind.

@GD bhai why rekha when there are so many who are younger, Well not as beautiful as her though
Old 2nd November 2008, 18:59   #18

His loss & misfortune. Missed out on an opportunity to hold a masterpiece in his hands...

Ooops.....now did I start something akin to Nikon Vs Canon?

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Congrats! Was a nice writeup too.

How much did it cost?

What made you not opt for a Nikon? Just curious.

And the lens kit?
Old 2nd November 2008, 19:44   #19

Phamilyman, iceberg made interesting reading but let me tell you that most of the things listed out there are generally one-time expenditures for most serious photographers. Later you only add lenses or upgrade the body if the need arises. True, for a newbie the binge shopping syndrome does happen but with a level head one should ask self as to how many times that gear would see daylight. If it is going to rest in the dark confines of the camera bag in some secure corner of your pad more often, then no point in acquiring more gear.

BTW, that Kenko is an UV filter.

Ramkahani expert ho gaye ho. kya guide guide kar rakha tha - sirf naam/moustache hi kaafi hai

Waise if you write like that while appraising your juniors, unki toh gayi

Welcome to the Iceberg!32.5 ka breakup batao. I see a kenko in there too. Just one lens - start the iceberg now!
Old 2nd November 2008, 19:47   #20

Seems you've not heard of rare wines.....

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post

@GD bhai why rekha when there are so many who are younger, Well not as beautiful as her though
Old 2nd November 2008, 21:39   #21

Hey congrats suman!
Glad you finally took the plunge!
So when is that new 55-250Is lens coming
Hehe! when Sumanji?

Saw couple of pix at dpreview all with the 55-250 IS, phew!

Want the link Suman?

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
His loss & misfortune. Missed out on an opportunity to hold a masterpiece in his hands...

You have a contact who sells Nikon too? : )
Old 2nd November 2008, 22:12   #22

The same contact from whom Suman got his 450D. Many of my friends and their friends/acquaintances and I, have been buying our Nikons from him. The Chandni Chowk camera wholesale market is predominantly Nikon oriented.

As for me, my Dad had that legendary Nikon F with a 50mm 1.2, that was passed on to me, after I experimented with a Yashica viewfinder initially. Armed with Indu B&W rolls and the F shot quite a number of photographs. Later when the AF system was introduced, sold the F along with the lens (like a fool) and got a F-801 with a 35-70 AF Nikkor & SB-24 (that I still have).

Current gear is a D80 with 18-135 and a 70-300VR, SB-400.

You have a contact who sells Nikon too? : )
Old 3rd November 2008, 06:12   #23

Phamilyman, iceberg made interesting reading but let me tell you that most of the things listed out there are generally one-time expenditures for most serious photographers. Later you only add lenses or upgrade the body if the need arises. True, for a newbie the binge shopping syndrome does happen but with a level head one should ask self as to how many times that gear would see daylight. If it is going to rest in the dark confines of the camera bag in some secure corner of your pad more often, then no point in acquiring more gear.

BTW, that Kenko is an UV filter.
sarkar,

I just jest. Its just something akin to our ICE junta. Come in with one budget, upgrade, upgrade, end up spending 2-3x So thode maje le raha thaa.

Yeah, i recognized the filter myself, but was just curious if 32.5 included accesories/UV/CPL filter etc or not
Old 3rd November 2008, 06:58   #24

Congrats Suman!

Why you didn't consider the Nikons, especially D90?
Old 3rd November 2008, 11:03   #25

Thanks Guys for all the good wishes
What dadagiri?
In my dictionary, anyone who can drive into Government buildings in the "New Delhi 110 001" area without being questioned or being asked to present credentials by Security and can then park their car inside & coolly walk out again is definitely a DADA - take that as a compliment!

I'm not a patch on what TSK does and marvel at his dexterity.
The point is, we all know about TSK & his capabilities - but I had no idea that you were a seasoned photographer. You were the "Chupa Rustom" so to speak!
Hey congrats suman!
Glad you finally took the plunge!
So when is that new 55-250Is lens coming
Thanks - remember who first pointed me in the direction of the 450D? Don't forget the 50mm 1.8 as well (though Rudra will whack me for mentioning the words "addl lens"!!

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
2) Any particular place in blr where you can do this keeping both price and quality product in mind.
Check with Ravi Bhat, he seems to be knowing a few places in Bangalore.....

Hmmmm, like Safaris & Scorpios, Canons & Nikons can co-exist peacefully!

Saw couple of pix at dpreview all with the 55-250 IS, phew!

Want the link Suman?
I've been eating, sleeping & drinking DP Review for the past four or five months JK, its on my "Favorites". Can probably recite a few reviews by heart!
Just one lens - start the iceberg now!
I just jest. Its just something akin to our ICE junta. Come in with one budget, upgrade, upgrade, end up spending 2-3x
Bhai, too much "theory" doesn't always work. Some non-ICE junta do a lot of research & go prepared - and buy what they intend to buy
Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
Why you didn't consider the Nikons, especially D90?
I think it was a comparison of the best VFM - appeared to be the 450D. I was telling GD that, at one point in time, to me the term DSLR was synonymous with Nikon. Not sure when & how that changed. But as I mentioned somewhere, the 450D was the best option at that price vs features point.

Last edited by suman : 3rd November 2008 at 11:06.
Old 3rd November 2008, 11:22   #26

Originally Posted by suman
Bhai, too much "theory" doesn't always work. Some non-ICE junta do a lot of research & go prepared - and buy what they intend to buy
No problemo sarkar. Let's revisit this thread, 1 year from now, 3 years from now. Iceberg isnt called an iceberg without a reason

Take that from a long standing fencesitter!

Last edited by phamilyman : 3rd November 2008 at 11:25.
Old 3rd November 2008, 12:00   #27

3 years from now. Iceberg isnt called an iceberg without a reason
3 years from now is "replacement time" - or call it "upgrade time" if you will

But seriously, at this point in time, a tripod & an additional zoom is all that I'd be looking at. Anything beyond that would be sheer stupidity till such time the Camera becomes an extension of me, so to speak.

And that's gonna take some time.
Old 3rd November 2008, 12:36   #28

Congratulations!! Oh, proud owner. It's time to flood all auto image threads.

Use that Kenko filter only as dust/dirt protection. Try to shoot without that as much as possible. Regular UV/Skylight/Haze filters are no match for modern optics. They tend to pull down their quality. If you really want to use a good protection filter, go for a good one.

No hurry. Any of your friends/relatives can get you one from abroad... unless you're traveling in near future.
Old 3rd November 2008, 15:33   #29

Thanks Boss, don't know about the quality of the flood though

Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
No hurry. Any of your friends/relatives can get you one from abroad... unless you're traveling in near future.
Will check with you about the specs.
Old 3rd November 2008, 15:40   #30

And the iceberg starteth.

PS: I need to dig up the cost of a Hoya 62 mm (?) CPL. I recall end Jun, Singapore had those items close to the 7-9k bracket! LOL: