Old 20th May 2010, 13:27   #421

Any Reliable Psycologist in East Bangalore

Guys

Need your inputs on reliable psycologist in Eastern Bangalore. Any kind references are highly appreciated.

Wanted to take elders to meet them
Old 21st May 2010, 00:23   #422

thanks

Thank you SS-Traveller,
thanks for your answer and clear explanation!

God Bless.

Ace.
Old 21st May 2010, 01:42   #423

Hi SS-traveller & Tejas,
My gums above wisdom tooth on the right side has swollen and has a severe pain now, i visited a Dentist at max hospital today, she told me the both the wisdom teeth have to be removed. Is there any other alternative?
Old 21st May 2010, 12:28   #424

Members, kindly restrict yourselves to medical Q&A and do not argue merits of treatments with volunteer medical professionals who are offering free advice. - Support Team
Samurai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2010, 11:51   #425

I had holes in all 4 molars ( the innermost ones) filled with what appears to be a composite ( some paste was filled and an instrument with a blue light shown to harden in)

wikipedia tells me that this is not recommended for molars. Another doctor friend tells me that wikipedia is not recommended for medical advice . What's your take?

The dentist also said that there was some wear and tear in my other teeth. of late, when i drink cool/cold water, one side of my lower jaw & the teeth there hurt. can't quite put my finger on which tooth is hurting.

What do you suppose could be the problem? I'm going to see the dentist tomorrow anyway
Old 22nd May 2010, 12:01   #426

Update for SS-Traveller & Tejas - I'd a visit to Dentist this morning. After examining he said there's nothing to worry & looks like there's a small black spot (didn't inquire much). He suggested an X-ray & when the machine was put up, the power supply was cut off promptly. So I'll be visiting in the evening for X-ray & update further here. Just wanted to drop a word of Thanks, if you hadn't suggested I would've postponed this visit even further.

Last edited by aargee : 22nd May 2010 at 12:04.
Old 22nd May 2010, 12:02   #427

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I had holes in all 4 molars ( the innermost ones) filled with what appears to be a composite ( some paste was filled and an instrument with a blue light shown to harden in)

wikipedia tells me that this is not recommended for molars. Another doctor friend tells me that wikipedia is not recommended for medical advice . What's your take?

The dentist also said that there was some wear and tear in my other teeth. of late, when i drink cool/cold water, one side of my lower jaw & the teeth there hurt. can't quite put my finger on which tooth is hurting.

What do you suppose could be the problem? I'm going to see the dentist tomorrow anyway

Composites can be used in molars. I personally have not done a single silver filling in 10 years.

If the pain is transient, lasts for not more than 2 seconds after stimulus (cold water), then it's just dentinal sensitivity. You will need to be on a desensitizing toothpaste for a few months to take care of that.

Are you clenching / grinding your teeth in the night? I have seen this as a major cause of wearing away of teeth? Do you get headaches when you wake up after a stressful day? Then you are definitely grinding your teeth. This is very often missed by most dentists. If you are doing this, ask your dentist to make a night guard for you. You have a condition called Bruxism in such a case.
Old 22nd May 2010, 12:24   #428

Hello Docs,

I got bitten by a stray dog yesterday, Well its not a major bite, The dog came from behind and just grabbed my leg(behind the knee) for a second and let me go, There is no visible wound, puncture, blood or whatsoever, I think its just the impression from the teeth.

I washed the area with detoll and soap and also saw a doctor who examined the area and gave me a TT injection and antibiotic tablets for 3 days, However i'm still worried. Please help me out

Well, The dog is a stray but lives near a house since many years and is fed by the people on that lane. Just a conclusion that its not a mad dog.
Old 22nd May 2010, 13:38   #429

Pls help with my confusion

@SS-Traveller & @Tejas
The Doctor explained that there're no other issues in the teeth except the cavity in the inner part of the teeth on the area of red circle. The options provided are
1. Permanent Solution - Remove the teeth that is marked with arrow sign because that is not serving any purpose as it is not straight & will affect other tooth; then fill with cement on the area marked in red square so that the cavity is arrested. The removal of the tooth also serves another purpose that the food doesn't get accumulated further for the germs to grow up.

Also I couldn't believe that the bone starts growing once the tooth is removed in a span of 2-3 months. Is this true?

Also if this method didn't work, he was suggesting to get root canal treatment.

I'm also left with another confusion as the area marked in red circle is the area infected by germs, but the Dentist was saying that he will fill in the area marked in red square. Since I was embarrassed of asking too much question. I didn't question this.

2. Temporary Solution - Do not remove the tooth marked in the arrow; instead fill the cavity marked in square to prevent the germs growing up further. But this is only a temporary solution as the cavity is bound to be growing again.

The problem with me is, I cannot digest the fact of losing a tooth, whether it is used or not, to me its a vital part of my body. At the same time, I cannot dismiss the knowledge of Dentist. Wifey suggests with temporary fix, but I'm more of "Fix it permanently" person & I've this confusion of losing the tooth.

Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations-x1.jpg

I'm attaching the Xray for the reference. I'm left with little confusion & appreciate if you can guide me choose a wise decision. Thanks.

Last edited by aargee : 22nd May 2010 at 13:43.
Old 30th May 2010, 17:17   #430

Originally Posted by aargee View Post
I'm attaching the Xray for the reference.
Well, the x-ray is not of good enough contrast or resolution to decide about the cavity in the tooth marked with the box and circle. But yes, the tooth you've marked with an arrow is a wisdom tooth, and appears to be in what one calls a mesioangular impaction. Reason enough to extract it ASAP (your work schedule permitting), and more so if you are developing a cavity on the adjacent tooth. A temporary solution will not work too long, since you will continue to have food debris stuck there, and secondary cavity formation despite the filling.

Should not be too much trouble for you to have it taken out. The good thing might be, you can get your office to sanction a couple of days off! Most folks are more scared and worried about the after-effects of wisdom tooth extractions than actually happen...

Edit: And yes, if your dentist has told you it's a non-functional tooth (not serving any purpose as you mention), you neither need to get it replaced, nor would your chewing efficiency decrease because it's taken out.

Last edited by SS-Traveller : 30th May 2010 at 17:20.
Old 30th May 2010, 17:29   #431

Thanks Doc; but will the bone grow in the empty place in 3 months? The Dentist said that removing the teeth is like a few hour's job. So I guess leave from office, does it matter? I'm literally worried now on losing the tooth . But tell me how long can I postpone this surgery provided I keep my mouth clean. Is it like I can do it in 3-6 months time frame or do it now kind? Point being, I like to prepare mentally to lose one tooth (yes I know I sound stupid, but that's me)

Last edited by aargee : 30th May 2010 at 17:30.
Old 30th May 2010, 17:36   #432

Originally Posted by aargee View Post
Thanks Doc; but will the bone grow in the empty place in 3 months? The Dentist said that removing the teeth is like a few hour's job. So I guess leave from office, does it matter? I'm literally worried now on losing the tooth
YEs the socket gets filled with new bone in 3-6 months' time, but long before that (in about 2 weeks) the area heals up and you won't even know if anything was done there.

Few hours??? Not likely. A competent dentist / oral surgeon should be able to complete the procedure in less than an hour on the outside - maybe a half hour.

Sure, you can take leave from office for a couple of days and go on a long drive! As long as your boss doesn't catch you having a good time at the resort you checked into!!
Old 30th May 2010, 18:56   #433

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
YEs the socket gets filled with new bone in 3-6 months' time, but long before that (in about 2 weeks) the area heals up and you won't even know if anything was done there.
Thanks Doctor. Appreciate your help & patience to have explained things.

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
Sure, you can take leave from office for a couple of days and go on a long drive! As long as your boss doesn't catch you having a good time at the resort you checked into!!
Well, given a chance, I would pamper myself at Orange county resort & their cuisine, I'll plan the next long drive, leave & surgery on perfect time. Probably pooja holidays are best time.
Old 30th May 2010, 20:17   #434

akshay_b
no need to worry as long as skin is intact.
observe the dog and note down its activities if possible.has the dog bitten others.
a rabid dog usually dies within 10 days of infection.
till then nothing to worry.
Old 31st May 2010, 11:29   #435

@ kalpeshc:
Originally Posted by kalpeshc View Post
My 18 month old son has around 14 teeth. He started teething quite early - in his 6th month.
The teething pattern appears to be quite normal.

His ... teeth have jagged ends. Even the surface ...an eroded look.... Are the jagged teeth problematic? How to ensure that he grows 'regular' teeth when the next set comes through!
These jagged edges are called mamelons, and are a normal feature of incisors.

Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations-artiste_comp_cas2.jpg

Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations-cde0309_patil_abb20.jpg

Adults' incisors do not show this pattern because there is wearing out of these irregularities within a few months. No worries.
... brushing his teeth (without any toothpaste) once a day. Rest of the day his mom brushes it with her fingers and then rubs them with a clean soft cloth.
Try using a finger brush like this...

Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations-160251jkfingerbrushblue.jpg

...and do use a kids' toothpaste, which has a more fruity flavour, rather than the spicy minty taste that most kids hate. Brush with the finger brush twice a day, and start him on using his own toothbrush too, just to develop the habit.

...he has developed a tendency to bite with his molars rather than the front teeth which he was doing earlier. In fact if i insist him on using the front teeth, instead of a 'bite', he ends up 'tearing' the food.
Let him bite and chew as he feels comfortable. Chewing on the molars is a natural thing to happen, and there is no need to make him "learn" how to use his teeth.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by SS-Traveller : 31st May 2010 at 11:33.