Old 27th July 2014, 00:50   #2026

re: Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations

Hi everybody.
Read the posts about phimosis with interest.
I have the same problem and have been advised circumcision.
I abhor the idea of going under the knife and general anesthesia.
Reading a column in Mumbai Mirror in which Watsa advises that it should be done under local anesthesia. Somebody please guide.
Another option was circumcision by laser which was nixed by a urologist.His reasoning was that it would burn the surrounding area.
For this I wouldn't need a general anesthesia. The very thought of spending a day under anesthesia in a hospital frightens me.
Thanks a lot in advance for your help. Appreciate that.
Old 27th July 2014, 04:39   #2027

re: Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations

Originally Posted by faustus77 View Post
Hi everybody.
Read the posts about phimosis with interest.
I have the same problem and have been advised circumcision.
I abhor the idea of going under the knife and general anesthesia.
Reading a column in Mumbai Mirror in which Watsa advises that it should be done under local anesthesia. Somebody please guide.
Another option was circumcision by laser which was nixed by a urologist.His reasoning was that it would burn the surrounding area.
For this I wouldn't need a general anesthesia. The very thought of spending a day under anesthesia in a hospital frightens me.
Thanks a lot in advance for your help. Appreciate that.
General anesthesia is not usually recommended for circumcision (unless the patient is uncooperative or allergic to local anesthetics). Local anesthesia is the preferred method because it has lesser complications and quicker recovery compared to general anesthesia (i.e. you are already awake so you can just walk home right after the procedure).

Laser circumcision has the benefit (and its the only difference compared to scalpel circumcision) of lesser bleeding (cauterizes blood vessels as it cuts) and quicker healing time.

Common between laser circumcision and scalpel circumcision:
- Both require stitches after the incisions have been made. Stitches are usually the absorbable ones, which don't require to be removed/cut later on.
- Both take 2 weeks at most to heal (depends on patients hygiene and prescribed medicine timely use)
- Both will be painful once the local anesthesia wears off. (pain can last for 2 days, but controlled via pain killers)
Old 28th July 2014, 19:30   #2028

@Deep Blue , @Geo_Ipe , we met a different doctor and he advised a course of antibiotics. My son is much better now. We need to see the doctor again next week. Thanks for your help
Old 29th July 2014, 18:52   #2029

Originally Posted by condor View Post
Comments from my wife, a doctor:
Pls be more specific & post more details so that doctors on the forum can try to help
One of the possible problems could be septicemia.
Originally Posted by falconion View Post
Your wife is most probably correct about it being septicemia. But it could be a lot of other things as well, and as you said will need more information.
I hope your cousin gets better.
I am attaching the case history of my cousin.Please take a look and provide your suggestions.
We visited some popular hospitals here in chennai with the case history for second opinion and could not get any positive response from them.

A small swelling has started to show up in right hand i.e similar to the one for which he got operated in the left hand(ref.case history), indicating that the infection is still there and spreading.
Currently they have taken a biopsy and sent it to mumbai for analysis.
Doctors are trying their best to find out the root cause but all in vain.
Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations-rajesh-report.jpg  

Old 29th July 2014, 19:35   #2030

General anesthesia is not usually recommended for circumcision (unless the patient is uncooperative or allergic to local anesthetics). Local anesthesia is the preferred method because it has lesser complications and quicker recovery compared to general anesthesia (i.e. you are already awake so you can just walk home right after the procedure).

Laser circumcision has the benefit (and its the only difference compared to scalpel circumcision) of lesser bleeding (cauterizes blood vessels as it cuts) and quicker healing time.

Common between laser circumcision and scalpel circumcision:
- Both require stitches after the incisions have been made. Stitches are usually the absorbable ones, which don't require to be removed/cut later on.
- Both take 2 weeks at most to heal (depends on patients hygiene and prescribed medicine timely use)
- Both will be painful once the local anesthesia wears off. (pain can last for 2 days, but controlled via pain killers)
Falconian
Hi. Thanks a lot for your guidance. Appreciate it.
Will go in for laser as soon as I build up courage
Everything has been clearly explained except one point. Does this burn the adjoining tissue as mentioned by the urologist?
My family doctor spoke to somebody and he mentioned that cicumscising by is not a problem and he can do the whole operation in 15 minutes.
Will appreciate your guidance.
Once again thanks a lot
PS: I am 70 years old and do expect that the healing process may take a bit longer
Old 29th July 2014, 23:51   #2031

Originally Posted by rock18 View Post
I am attaching the case history of my cousin.Please take a look and provide your suggestions.
We visited some popular hospitals here in chennai with the case history for second opinion and could not get any positive response from them.

A small swelling has started to show up in right hand i.e similar to the one for which he got operated in the left hand(ref.case history), indicating that the infection is still there and spreading.
Currently they have taken a biopsy and sent it to mumbai for analysis.
Doctors are trying their best to find out the root cause but all in vain.

The doctors are trying their best.

ANA: Negative
Ds-DNA: Positive

With these last two tests they were trying to rule out Lupus. His symptoms are all over the place (biopsies are not showing any bacterial growth). And it could be Lupus, but an ANA-Negative Lupus, which is very rare.

Ask doctors to run Anti-SM (Smith) antibody test, a kidney function test with biopsy, and anti-U1-RNP antibody test.

ANA-Negative Lupus is also sometimes called Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (it incorporates a lot of diseases into one), which is basically an autoimmune disease which causes bodies own immune system to attack other cells within the body itself.

It would be better to consult with an Internal Medicine Doctor specializing in Rheumatology and Lupus, and also visit a Pulmonologist.

Wishing your cousin all the best.
Old 30th July 2014, 00:11   #2032

Originally Posted by faustus77 View Post
Falconian
Hi. Thanks a lot for your guidance. Appreciate it.
Will go in for laser as soon as I build up courage
Everything has been clearly explained except one point. Does this burn the adjoining tissue as mentioned by the urologist?
My family doctor spoke to somebody and he mentioned that cicumscising by is not a problem and he can do the whole operation in 15 minutes.
Will appreciate your guidance.
Once again thanks a lot
PS: I am 70 years old and do expect that the healing process may take a bit longer
You are welcome!
Yes laser does burn the adjoining tissue (not like a burn you get from fire). This burn is very precise, barely noticeable, and mostly superficial which heals over time. Considering your age, it would be better to go for laser circumcision, because the healing process is much quicker and there is minimal to no bleeding. They use absorb-able sutures to close up the incision, so no need to get the stitches removed.

Here is a step by step video:
Old 30th July 2014, 17:42   #2033

The doctors are trying their best.

ANA: Negative
Ds-DNA: Positive

With these last two tests they were trying to rule out Lupus. His symptoms are all over the place (biopsies are not showing any bacterial growth). And it could be Lupus, but an ANA-Negative Lupus, which is very rare.

Ask doctors to run Anti-SM (Smith) antibody test, a kidney function test with biopsy, and anti-U1-RNP antibody test.

ANA-Negative Lupus is also sometimes called Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (it incorporates a lot of diseases into one), which is basically an autoimmune disease which causes bodies own immune system to attack other cells within the body itself.

It would be better to consult with an Internal Medicine Doctor specializing in Rheumatology and Lupus, and also visit a Pulmonologist.

Wishing your cousin all the best.
Thanks a lot for your inputs..Rheumatologist visited yesterday and prescribed some new medicines.
I will check with the doctor about the tests you have suggested.
Thanks again.
Old 31st July 2014, 13:03   #2034

Originally Posted by rock18 View Post
..Rheumatologist visited yesterday and prescribed some new medicines.
Did the results of the tests on the pleural fluid come in ?
Old 31st July 2014, 23:15   #2035

Originally Posted by sajusherief View Post
Does anyone know any Ayurveda allergy specialist in Bangalore? I heard from someone that there is a visiting doctor at one of the kottakkal Arya vaidhyasala franchises. Need to consult for dustmite/cotton dust allergy!
Offtopic in this thread. There is a separate thread - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifti...t-options.html
Old 1st August 2014, 22:04   #2036

Falconion
Hi.
Thanks a lot for your guidance and the video which makes it simple to understand.
So far havnt had to go under the knife, touch wood, so this is pretty daunting.
Will try and drum up courage
Thanks a lot once again.
PS: At the age of 67 + I drove alone from Bombay to Leh and back.
Zojila pass was closed and I had to take the deserted road(by no stretch of imagination can it be called a road) above the pass. Also the road through Lamayuru was closed and I had to take the so called Jalebee pass(deserted) which overlooked the town. Both frightening. Kept myself going with repeating the tag line from a soft drink ad "darr ke aage jeet hai" It worked.Maybe it will work now
Old 2nd August 2014, 21:04   #2037

Hello Respected Doctors,

My mom came back home today after 2 days from hospital. She was admitted for complaint of high blood pressure.

Coming straight to the point, is there any blog/website/forum where one can post about rude behavior of doctors?

The MD doctor treating her, was not even ready to look at her past BP records and other related details which my father had documented carefully so that he could have a look at it and would help in the diagnosis.

My father being a para medic has quite a good amount of medical knowledge as compared to a layman and it is natural for the patient's relatives to be a bit worried, and when my father asked him any question he would say "Make it fast, I don't have time, have 40 other patients to treat".

My dad not even once spoke rudely with him, always addressed him as Sir, doctor sahab, still the doctor was extremely shrewd and blunt. My father is 66 yrs old and wasn't asking questions to test his knowledge or hinder his working, it was plainly out of concern for my mother. He showed just no respect towards my dad.

Today evening when my dad went there to settle the bill and some formalities, even then he replied rudely to my dad.

I really wonder, where are the ethics lost in today's world. People are losing their ethics and conscience in business we all know, but even doctors joining the league? That's quite sad. Doctors take the "Hippocratic Oath" and are morally bound to follow it, isn't it? But I feel today, it is read just as a formality for graduation and forgotten after that. Doctors reading this might be aware of how a simple smile from them or a few comforting words go a long way in making the patient and their relatives feel relaxed, but when the doctor who is considered God speaks in such a manner, it really breaks the patient and his/her relatives.

While I'm pouring my heart out, I'd also like to mention another thing. There are also cases where Bombay's top doctors(all super-specialists), I really mean top-of-the-line doctors from the best hospitals (who have several of the aforementioned doctors reporting to them) have treated my parents so well, just a few words from them feel so warm and relaxing that everything is taken care of.

I'd really like to write about this doctor on a forum/website/blog if any there.

-Bhargav
Old 6th August 2014, 11:47   #2038

Doctors on the Forum,

I am lately having the problem of EDS (Excessive Daytime sleepiness). I am not tired or anemic but just that, I feel like I want to sleep.

It happens at my office or home but when I am outdoors, I feel better. It has gone to a stage where I am not able to sit continuously in office for an hour.

I checked with a doctor at office and was advised it might be due to Vitamin D deficiency. When I told the same to my family doctor, he advised it is not possible to get the deficiency at this age (30).

Can some one please advise what might be the underlying cause.
Old 6th August 2014, 12:34   #2039

Just get a blood test to check Vit D levels. Even i think that's the most probably cause.
Old 6th August 2014, 13:57   #2040

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Just get a blood test to check Vit D levels. Even i think that's the most probably cause.
Agreed, Have a Vit D levels check. If it turns out normal, then we can look at other possibilities.