Old 3rd February 2011, 15:19   #121

Re: On Corruption in India

Raja has caused huge loss to the exchequer. Arrest is only an eyewash keeping in mind the upcoming budget session and the pressure from Supreme court. If the GOVT was serious enough they would have canceled the licenses and would have penalized for not rolling out services.
Old 10th February 2011, 09:19   #122

Thanks to God that we have News Groups like "The Hindu". While other media houses have already sold their soul to the God of Money, these guys still are holding strong to the ethics.

They recently provided very detailed coverage of "2S" spectrum scam which was worth 2 lakh crore compared to 1.76 lakh crore of 2G scam.

The deal seems to be on its way to scrapping after the expose.

Way to go Mr N. Ram.
Old 17th March 2011, 00:11   #123

2G scam suspect and former telecom minister A Raja's close associate Sadhick Batcha commits "suicide" !!

Trail gets murkier.

Madhur Bhandarkar/Ram Gopal Verma listening? A film waits to be made on this.

On the related note, The Hindu has taken up the job of going through the Wikileaks treasure trove and fishing out India related information. Its already in day two of publication and made excellent reading till now.

Sad to know that mainstream media won't even touch Wikileaks with a Barge pole now. Its all forgotten.

Mods may delete this comment but I have to say again: Way to go Mr N Ram.

With this rampant scams around suddenly all out capitalism seems scary to me. We need a balance of capitalism and socialism. I was thankful to left parties when they protested against giving over the PF management to the private players. Have they handed it over already?
Old 17th March 2011, 13:02   #124

Another piece of detail to emerge from the 'India Wikileaks' is the amount paid as bribe to make MPs vote for the Indo-US Nuclear Deal. The US embassy cables say 10cr was paid to each of these MPs.(five of them).

Japan is facing tense moments due to the nuclear reactor meltdown, and here our netas have compromised our nuclear policy for 10crores.
Old 17th March 2011, 14:08   #125

Originally Posted by download2live View Post
Thanks to God that we have News Groups like "The Hindu". While other media houses have already sold their soul to the God of Money, these guys still are holding strong to the ethics.

Way to go Mr N. Ram.

"The Hindu" is biased as hell. The reason they covered this news well was because it suited the political agenda of the left. It is a strongly marxist/leftist mouthpiece, only the propaganda angle is very subtle. They rely on suppression of information and distortions of facts with slanted choice of words in language as much as other media outlets do - quiet routinely.

N Ram is no hero. He is as dirty as the rest.

PS: This is not OT. There is moral corruption where the gain is monetary, and there is ideological corruption.

--Ragul

Last edited by Ragul : 17th March 2011 at 14:37.
Old 17th March 2011, 14:30   #126

Originally Posted by Ragul View Post
The Hindu is biased as hell. The reason they covered this news well was because it suited the political agenda of the left. It is a strongly marxist/leftist mouthpiece, only the propaganda angle is very subtle. They rely on suppression of information and distortions of facts as much as other media outlets do - quiet routinely.

N Ram is no hero. He is as dirty as the rest.

PS: This is not OT. There is moral corruption where the gain is monetary, and there is ideological corruption.

--Ragul
And we need a little bit of that as a balancing force to rampant capitalism. I believe in a system of checks and counterbalances. Like an ecosystem there should be political parties of all colours and hues in a country. USSR failed because of it blind faith and total reliance on a single political ideology.
And US with its hardcore capitalistic core beliefs is going the same way. Forgot how Bush Jr won the election? Hurricane Katrina? Oil lobby and Iraq war? Bankers having a free run and the economic crisis? Or the current state of Healthcare? If people are coming from US to have their teeth filling done in India then there is something horribly wrong.

India by a fortunate accident of events boasts of a political system where Capitalist boys (Read Manmohan and Company) are there as well as Left is also there. I do agree that I will not like Left to be at power but they are important.

As brakes are important to a car.

OT: Do you read The Hindu?

Last edited by download2live : 17th March 2011 at 14:35.
Old 17th March 2011, 15:11   #127

If this is true its nothing but a disgrace! to what limit people(politicos) are ready to sell themselves?

Originally Posted by Daewood View Post
Another piece of detail to emerge from the 'India Wikileaks' is the amount paid as bribe to make MPs vote for the Indo-US Nuclear Deal. The US embassy cables say 10cr was paid to each of these MPs.(five of them).

Japan is facing tense moments due to the nuclear reactor meltdown, and here our netas have compromised our nuclear policy for 10crores.
Old 17th March 2011, 23:13   #128

@Ragul: Buddy you feel N Ram is Biased. I feel the rest of the media is biased too. Why do issues like this get hidden unless someone gets it out.

@downloadtolive+10 to your points: We are becoming fiercely capitalistic. Some checks and balances needs to be done.

Just check this and share please
Bribe Bandh | I PAID A BRIBE
Old 17th March 2011, 23:16   #129

The silver lining on the cloud is that integrity is still not cheap. It costed 10Cr each
Old 17th March 2011, 23:34   #130

May I suggest that all statements about nuke plants being safe should be listed in the jokes thread??

Here is a link, for the sceptics.

Ben Lovejoy
Old 18th March 2011, 01:14   #131

Originally Posted by download2live View Post
And we need a little bit of that as a balancing force to rampant capitalism.
OT: Do you read The Hindu?
Its not about capitalism vs communism I was talking about. Its the absence of agenda driven news reporting in the world.

I dont read any newspaper, I dont watch TV, but I scan the news all over, noting choice of words and phrases, omissions, tilts. Inspired by sites like Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting (FAIR). Of course that FAIR website itself has a heavily leftist tilt. But their methods or analysis are useful to imitate like in the media advisory box on the right, or the analysis of sentence construction used by the media as pioneered by Chomsky. All it takes is a "Wren and Martin" at hand and a passion to dig deeper. I never read the news, I read (between the lines) about the news Its been a hobby of mine for years now.

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
@Ragul: Buddy you feel N Ram is Biased. I feel the rest of the media is biased too. Why do issues like this get hidden unless someone gets it out.
No doubt about it. The best one can do in such circumstances is read everyone and glean counter-balancing view points - be it left wing or right wing or "secular" or "communal" view points. Just like one would read an autobiography of a serial killer and "enjoy" it pulp fiction style as well as read moralizing view points about crime and criminals.

But if anybody is reading only what the mainstream media publishes like NDTV or CNN-IBN or Star News or Times Now, or India Today or Outlook , he is in my books a brainwashed "idiot", whether he realizes it or not or thinks otherwise - No matter what his education is.

A good read can be found in books like "More Equal than Others" by Ravi Shanker Kapoor ( http://www.visionbooksindia.com/deta...sbn=8170943817 ) or "Eminent Historians" By Shourie.

People only like to talk about politicians, but the Indian media is corrupt as hell and stinks as hell. And depending on the media to be well informed is something I consider bad mental hygiene.

--Ragul

Last edited by Ragul : 18th March 2011 at 01:37.
Old 18th March 2011, 04:28   #132

Ragul: Truely said people with your viewpoint are a minority. People just take things at face value.

Best balance: Watch a Bit of NDTV and then watch Times now. You will then be totally confused on who is the culprit

This is a good read
Tehelka - India's Independent Weekly News Magazine

Best bet for india at the moment is to strongly invest in alternative energy research. It would be beneficial to the industry and also create a edge for the country rather than depend on technologies which have to be purchased from outside.
Old 18th March 2011, 06:57   #133

Originally Posted by Ragul View Post
But if anybody is reading only what the mainstream media publishes like NDTV or CNN-IBN or Star News or Times Now, or India Today or Outlook , he is in my books a brainwashed "idiot", whether he realizes it or not or thinks otherwise - No matter what his education is.

People only like to talk about politicians, but the Indian media is corrupt as hell and stinks as hell. And depending on the media to be well informed is something I consider bad mental hygiene.

--Ragul
I agree. Once you have an idiot box at home with people sticking their brains to it waiting to be programmed by whatever material comes their way. Most importantly, people form biases by what they watch on the corrupt media on the TV. They seem to believe what is shown on TV by the corrupt media houses fed by governments and huge corporations.

The worst part is when alternate media shows something which is true, uncorrupt and unbiased it is easily thrown in the gutter labelling it as a 'conspiricy theory'.

More worse is people are in a state of mind to believe what they like to believe and satisfies their heart. E.g this Wikileaks. Some organization whose chief I believe was arrested on counts of rape or some other sexual crime is worth trust ? Maybe it is anti governement (India) which many people like so they trust the source where ever it may come from.

Bottom line: I like something shown by the corrupt media so I will support it. Something exposed by alternate media which I do not like is a conspiracy theory. How gullible are we ?

Disclaimer: I do not support any party or anything. Everyone is the same and everyone's motive is to make money. We are soon becoming a country where the government is going to be selected and not elected.
Old 18th March 2011, 15:41   #134

NO FEAR board on the Corruption.

Babus not afraid of raids: Lokayukta - The Times of India
Old 18th March 2011, 17:51   #135

Note from Team-BHP Support : Sensitive discussions involving politics are not permitted on this forum, due to their highly subjective nature which can lead to volatile and inconclusive debates.

This thread is closed.