Old 26th March 2009, 18:52   #1

The Trichologist, Hair & Scalp Thread

Okay, so I am experiencing hair fall.

Hyderabadi bhaiyon, looking at your meet pics, I am sure you know a good hair specialist or two. Please post your recommendations based on your personal experiences/feedbacks.

Naresh
Old 26th March 2009, 23:16   #2

Originally Posted by NK@Hyd View Post

Hyderabadi bhaiyon, looking at your meet pics, I am sure you know a good hair specialist or two. Please post your recommendations based on your personal experiences/feedbacks.

Naresh
since i am replying, you can assume i am also experiencing hair fall

you might want to try the keo-karpin hair vitalizer, giving me good results in the last more than a month, significant reduction in hair fall with daily application, recommended is twice daily but i am applying once.

i had tried the costly means earlier, read minoxidil solutions, but not much help after spending multiple thousands in vain and stopped it, can't have both hair and money vanishing together then i came across this 45 rupee bottle of dr. dey's keo-karpin, plan to use more and see some half year down the line.
Old 26th March 2009, 23:23   #3

Originally Posted by aburagohain View Post
since i am replying, you can assume i am also experiencing hair fall

you might want to try the keo-karpin hair vitalizer, giving me good results in the last more than a month, significant reduction in hair fall with daily application, recommended is twice daily but i am applying once.

i had tried the costly means earlier, read minoxidil solutions, but not much help after spending multiple thousands in vain and stopped it, can't have both hair and money vanishing together then i came across this 45 rupee bottle of dr. dey's keo-karpin, plan to use more and see some half year down the line.
Thanks Buddy. Does it also 'promise' increase in hair density, like Himalaya Hair loss cream does? I can already see a receding hairline in the mirror and would love to get some hair back.
Old 27th March 2009, 11:25   #4

NK, If you read the meets and guide to eating out in Hyderabad & Secunderabad threads, you would know that we do not have a trichologist in our midst. You would also know that we are too busy eating out and meeting to be bothered by excessive or falling hair. That is the truth. Some of us have a huge mop of unruly hair that is truly a pain to maintain, some have falling / fallen hair. It does not matter.

Balding is a genetic trait, call it an inheritance from your forefathers! That being said, sometimes the water / oil / shampoo you use can increase hair-loss. Try using different water etc.

I know people who got hair transplants etc. done. Seems like a sheer waste of money to me The results are obviously artificial (transplants are bloody painful too). If you have a bald pate - flaunt it. Legend says that a bald pate is a sign of passion & virility - go get em man!

Old 27th March 2009, 11:35   #5

Try Rich Feel, They have centers all over India!! First they test your hair by taking some strands as to why the hair fall and accordingly medicines,oil bla bla!
Old 27th March 2009, 14:07   #6

Originally Posted by Ravveendrra View Post
NK, If you read the meets and guide to eating out in Hyderabad & Secunderabad threads, you would know that we do not have a trichologist in our midst. You would also know that we are too busy eating out and meeting to be bothered by excessive or falling hair. That is the truth. Some of us have a huge mop of unruly hair that is truly a pain to maintain, some have falling / fallen hair. It does not matter.

Balding is a genetic trait, call it an inheritance from your forefathers! That being said, sometimes the water / oil / shampoo you use can increase hair-loss. Try using different water etc.

I know people who got hair transplants etc. done. Seems like a sheer waste of money to me The results are obviously artificial (transplants are bloody painful too). If you have a bald pate - flaunt it. Legend says that a bald pate is a sign of passion & virility - go get em man!

Thanks for your response, Raveendra. I know we don't have a trichologist in here, I just meant that some of our good folks seem to be suffering from receding hairlines (in the pics, atleast) and thought they would have consulted a specialist sometime...just my dry haryanvi/dilli sense of humour.

What's worrying me is that my parents have a good volume of hair and so does my cousins, so I am not sure if genetics is playing a part here.

Yep, I too read about baldness being a sign of virility..perhaps Roman or Greek folklore. I am yet to have courage to trying doing that
Old 27th March 2009, 22:09   #7

Originally Posted by Ravveendrra View Post
I guess you rightly pointed out the right attitude of Hyd folks. I can add to that we aren't also too worried about weight issues, you know the typical query by most good-natured Indians? Yaar, tu kitna mota hogaya ( accompanied by a shocked look on the face which can make a lean guy wince)

Thanks for your response, Raveendra. I know we don't have a trichologist in here, I just meant that some of our good folks seem to be suffering from receding hairlines (in the pics, atleast) and thought they would have consulted a specialist sometime...just my dry haryanvi/dilli sense of humour.
I dont know what made you think that folks with receding hairlines may have consultated a hair specialist.

On a funny note, to help you guide to the people who you may be referring to can be PM'd.

Now guys dont kill me for this..LOL. I suppose you are referring to Milecruncher, Zen91, Hillram, getsurya,rajesh etc. ( thank god my name doesnt figure in that list, atleast for now)

If you contact them, i know they will respond with an emphatic- Chill dude, there are more important things in life to enjoy than worry about than a mop of hair...LOL..

That was all in good humour, as we hyd folks need our regular dose of laugh. Good luck in your search for positive help for your hairy issue !!!!!

Last edited by mobike008 : 27th March 2009 at 22:10.
Old 27th March 2009, 22:52   #8

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
I guess you rightly pointed out the right attitude of Hyd folks. I can add to that we aren't also too worried about weight issues, you know the typical query by most good-natured Indians? Yaar, tu kitna mota hogaya ( accompanied by a shocked look on the face which can make a lean guy wince)

I dont know what made you think that folks with receding hairlines may have consultated a hair specialist.

On a funny note, to help you guide to the people who you may be referring to can be PM'd.

Now guys dont kill me for this..LOL. I suppose you are referring to Milecruncher, Zen91, Hillram, getsurya,rajesh etc. ( thank god my name doesnt figure in that list, atleast for now)

If you contact them, i know they will respond with an emphatic- Chill dude, there are more important things in life to enjoy than worry about than a mop of hair...LOL..

That was all in good humour, as we hyd folks need our regular dose of laugh. Good luck in your search for positive help for your hairy issue !!!!!
All the more reason why I would love to meet you guys someday..perhaps in the next meet (no, not for discussing hairy issues ).
Old 28th March 2009, 09:12   #9

All the more reason why I would love to meet you guys someday..perhaps in the next meet (no, not for discussing hairy issues ).
Sure mate, your more than welcome for our next meet. If i am not wrong i did invite you personally for a couple of them? I can safely comment that Hyderabad TBHP group is the most rocking in the entire country. Also, the first to have gotten the t-shirts done before it comes out officially.

What you see in meet threads is hardly 50% of what is happening as there are several other meets that happen so regularly ( between CUG's) that by the time we post a meet details, another would have already happened

We are having a Ghazal Nite on April 3rd, that's going to be one helluva meet !!!!
Old 28th March 2009, 20:48   #10

[quote=mobike008;1233938]
Now guys dont kill me for this..LOL. I suppose you are referring to Milecruncher, Zen91, Hillram, getsurya,rajesh etc. quote]

oye pandey ,since when did i figure out in the list man? i just had a summer cut dude.lol

@ nk ,i know some people washing their hair with 'mineral water' cause the borwell water of hyderabad is high in lime content and all which leads to hair loss.

try doing that buddy!

also did you visit dr batra's ,atleast in the papers they claim control over hair loss with those 'before' and 'after' treatment pictures..
Old 28th March 2009, 20:57   #11

Originally Posted by Rajesh Rawal View Post
@ nk ,i know some people washing their hair with 'mineral water' cause the borwell water of hyderabad is high in lime content and all which leads to hair loss.

try doing that buddy!

also did you visit dr batra's ,atleast in the papers they claim control over hair loss with those 'before' and 'after' treatment pictures..
Mineral Water?? I am better off without hair than without money .

Rajesh bhai, where did you get your summer cut from...or was it nature's gift to you
Old 28th March 2009, 21:30   #12
PVS

Naresh
Hi Naresh

March 2008 ; I decided I had enough of a baldness and decided to do something about it. Booked an appointment at Dr Ashok's Hair clinic at Begumpet and went in for a preliminary examination of my receeding hairline.

Dr Ashok's have a procedure wherein they will transplant hair follicles from the 'active' part of your scalp to the 'bald' part. Obviously, your scalp will be given a close-examination.

There are apparently 5 stages in which you can be slotted ; stage 1 is where you have quite a lot of hair remaining on your scalp, and stage 5 is the last, where you are almost, totally bald. The lesser the stage you are in, the lesser you will be charged.

I was slotted in Stage 4, and the cost worked out to Rs 40,000/-.

It was a day long procedure on March 19th?? - You are required to take the entire day off and may be the next day even.

Before you come to the procedure, you are required to submit a couple of medical reports from registered labs - not quite sure what they are; essentially the clinic wants to make sure it doesn't have an ugly situation in its hands.

So once you are in at the scheduled time, you are led to a room, where you change to the patient overalls - you are give refreshments and then, after some time, you are taken to the procedure room where you are put on a sedative - you are not knocked out completely 100% - you do remain awake, but a certain numbness kicks in , and when they start plucking out follicles from the active part of your scalp - you wont feel it.. Soft music keeps playing in the back ground - and its a pleasant atmosphere.

Once this is done (- and this takes what about 45 minutes or so??), you are sent back to your room and you will remain there for quite some time - hot lunch is served after noon.

Then comes the 2nd part of the procedure - which is longer - you are led back to the procedure room where the part of 'transplantation' begins - they 'plant' back 'active' follicles on the bald part by making tiny incisions, and following a regular line or pattern along the way so that, a few months down the line, when your natural growth kicks in, the hair growth appears natural.

After this roughly 3-hour procedure gets over, your scalp gets bandaged up and you are led back to your room. After a hot cup of tea, you are now ready to head back home.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, how am I placed 1 year down the line?

Much better I would say - the transplanted hair has started growing, and I have a decent hairline now - the mid part of the scalp needs to catch up though -.

So is it worth? Well I would say Yes - but it depends on what stage your hair is in right now?

Hope this helps
PVS is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th March 2009, 23:48   #13

Thanks a lot, PVS and I am glad it worked out well for you. I think I am in Stage 2 as per the Hamilton-Norwood Scale, which probably is the benchmark for categorizing hair fall stages.

If you still have Dr. Ashok's contact info, can you please PM it to me or post it here?

Thanks again!
Old 29th March 2009, 07:20   #14
PVS

Here you go...

Dr. Ashok's Hair Transplant Clinic Hyderabad|Dr. Ashok's Hair Transplant Clinic Begumpet|Dr. Ashok's Hair Transplant Clinic 2nd Lane Contacts on Sulekha
Old 30th March 2009, 13:28   #15

wow pvs ,i didnt know you had hair transplant and all.

nk:what would dr ashok do to lure you to take his treatment?

here goes...

dr ashok: Sar jo tera chakraaye, ya dil dooba jaaye
Aaja pyaare paas hamaare, kaahe ghabraaye.. kaahe ghabraaye
Tel mera hai muski, ganj rahe na khuski
Jis ke sar par haath phira doon chamke kismat uski
Sun sun sun, are beta sun, is champi mein bade bade gun
Laakh dukhon ki ek dava hai kyoon na aazmaaye
Kaahe ghabraaye, kaahe ghabraaye.