Old 27th April 2012, 11:33   #1951

Re: The Hindi Movies Thread

Originally Posted by rahul_sinha View Post
Watched Housefull2 yesterday. Needed a couple of hours to gather my scattered brains back.
Only saving grace - Johnny Lever and Ranjeet!

From the comments above, I think I should have watched Vicky Donor, though not sure I can go with family :(
Oh don't worry about that. There isn't any vulgur or cheap scene in the film which will make you uncomfortable if your family is around. The concept has been dealt maturely.
Old 27th April 2012, 11:34   #1952

From the comments above, I think I should have watched Vicky Donor, though not sure I can go with family :(
You can definetly go to this movie with your family. Its not a lewd movie but, based on a very relevant social subject.
Old 27th April 2012, 14:51   #1953

Originally Posted by A350XWB
Better late than never, watched "Kahaani".
. The resemblance of the storyline to the Bourne trilogy. Heck, the contract killer is a direct lift from the Bourne series and even the phone used by them (Motorola flip) is the same (remember mobilize asset?).
+1 to that. Seems i wasnt the only one who thought those scenes to have been copied from the Bourne series.
Kahaani was a good movie but not enough to tickle my brains. Wasnt that much of a thriller. But the turnaround the movie takes towards the end was fantastic. Bidya oops Vidya Balan as always played the protagonist's role very well and I dont think any other actress would have done justice to that role other than her.
P.s does 'nbtstat' and 'ipconfig' really let you hack into any network? AFAIK from my basic computer knowledge it only shows your network status and other network peripheral details.

Btw has anyone noticed the theme of 2 states running in these recent movies? Both Kahaani and Vicky donor?

Watched Vicky donor last weekend. 10/10.
The movie seemed so realistic in relation to modern times. It also helps to put donors and the parents in a better light thereby lifting up that "shady" image that sometimes hangs over the infertility specialities.
None of the dialogues seemed irrelevant at any point. Bong punjabi stereotype comparo done most aptly and in such a way that it doesnt hurt either party.
And coming away from the movie, the song "Pani da rang" has become my favorite. Not only has Ayushmann Khurana acted well but also sung well. Hats off to his performance. Noone did it better than him coming from Mtv backgrounds. John Abraham when not with Akshay Kumar seems to make pretty decent cinema

Review of Housefull 2 - as mindless as a cinema can get. You would be wishing to have left your brains at home to save it from such torture of around 3 hours.
Swear to God, Akshay Kumar starrers have become mindless with each release and housefull 2 has to be the heights.
Desi boyzz was better.

And Agent Vinod- lets not even talk.about that. I kept yawning right from the beginning of the movie. And slept through the second part only to be chided by my better half all the way back home
Old 27th April 2012, 17:24   #1954

I watched Hate Story yesterday !

It is not the meaningless soft porn story as it is made out to be, but has a good story to tell. In fact, it shows the darker sides of business/politics with some masala thrown in.

The screenplay is tight, no dumb scenes that make you feel its boring. All in all, a good watch and i pulled my friend along me to watch this and he was impressed with the story & screenplay. He is not a movie buff but still managed to sit through it & enjoy !

Rating: 3.8/5 taking kahani at 4/5 !
Old 28th April 2012, 22:21   #1955

Is Tezz worth spending 300 bucks?
Old 28th April 2012, 22:25   #1956

Originally Posted by chevelle
How about watching avengers in 3d rather? Everyone seems to be loving it and the film has performed upto the mark. Still unsure about tezz. Anil kapoor seems to have done parkour in the movie. But how well it fares is yet to be seen
Old 28th April 2012, 23:44   #1957

Originally Posted by Parthasarathig View Post
How about watching avengers in 3d rather? Everyone seems to be loving it and the film has performed upto the mark. Still unsure about tezz. Anil kapoor seems to have done parkour in the movie. But how well it fares is yet to be seen
Not released here yet. Its coming May 4.

Have already booked IMAX tickets for Avengers.
Old 30th April 2012, 16:21   #1958

Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
Absolutely NOT.
I wanted to watch Avengers 3/2 D or Vicky Donor. Due to "family pressure" watched Tezz instead. Its a movie where you need to run out the theater "Tezzi Se".

Thin plot - illegal immigrants planning to wreck havoc in UK. Star cast comprise of 4 national award winning actors - Ajay Devgn, Anil Kapoor, Mohanlaal (yep) and Kangna Ranaut.

Major goof ups throughout the movie
1. Why didnt counter terrorism cop (Anil Kapoor) coordinate with anti narcotics cop Mohanlal?

2. Doesnt Mohanlal have his own mobile - asks mobile from a girl to talk to Boman Irani - and the call is never shown the movie!!!

3. Special effects - watch out for the goods train blast - I am sure Chhota Bheem has better technology than Priyadarshan. For a film that struggles and strives to look like a western product, its VFX is embarrassingly poor. When the train changes tracks, it looks like an Anaconda sliding past with the swish of a PowerPoint slideshow. When Inspector Menon pounces from the bridge between two trains to one of them, the agility of his pounce can trounce any crouching tiger. But the trophy for the most uninspiring VFX has to be the building explosion scene where investigator Himanshu Verma is ‘dragged and dropped’ out of the window like it were done using a computer mouse. Look closely around his collar, there has to be a cursor somewhere.

4. Why CANT Kangna Ranaut go back to India yaar? Why did Ajay Devgn need to "search" her in UK? Didnt she have any FB account or stuff? Still stone age, huh - no wonder he was deported back.

5. Maybe I am overreacting, but money calculations are wrong - "some" money paid for Sameera Reddy's (biker girl - blink and miss) brother, half of remaining to Kangna and some to 'again' Sameera's and Zayed's (yeah, he too) families - kisko kitna mila bhai?

Sorry to spill the beans on this one, but I preferred to keep my brain ticking this time

My rating: 1/5 - I am being very very generous!

Last edited by rahul_sinha : 30th April 2012 at 16:22.
Old 30th April 2012, 17:41   #1959

3. Special effects - watch out for the goods train blast - I am sure Chhota Bheem has better technology than Priyadarshan. For a film that struggles and strives to look like a western product, its VFX is embarrassingly poor. When the train changes tracks, it looks like an Anaconda sliding past with the swish of a PowerPoint slideshow. When Inspector Menon pounces from the bridge between two trains to one of them, the agility of his pounce can trounce any crouching tiger. But the trophy for the most uninspiring VFX has to be the building explosion scene where investigator Himanshu Verma is ‘dragged and dropped’ out of the window like it were done using a computer mouse. Look closely around his collar, there has to be a cursor somewhere.
I read this in some review on some site ! Are you the official reviewer ? Sorry I can't seem to re-collect where I have read this
Old 30th April 2012, 18:21   #1960

Is'nt Teez based on "Speed".
I mean with due respects to the Bollwood tradition of lifting bits and pieces from many hollywood flicks and coming up with a Masala Curry.

If this indeed is case then they should have waited a bit more. I still remember "Speed".
Old 2nd May 2012, 09:14   #1961

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
I read this in some review on some site ! Are you the official reviewer ? Sorry I can't seem to re-collect where I have read this
Nope, am not an official reviewer I too had read it somewhere and just stuck to it. Dont remember where.

Saw Agent Vinod yesterday, kind of liked the movie, probably had expected to get thoroughly bored, and that sort of set the expectations
Old 2nd May 2012, 09:18   #1962

Vicky Donor: What a brilliant composition! A very serious topic handled in a very mature way. Loved the script and the couple of songs it has. No overacting by anyone and every actor has played their part nicely.

5/5 and highly recommended to watch.

Absolutely NOT.
I wanted to watch Avengers 3/2 D or Vicky Donor. Due to "family pressure" watched Tezz instead. Its a movie where you need to run out the theater "Tezzi Se".
Learn from your mistakes, do watch Vicky Donor It will make up for the Tezz blunder.

Last edited by _raVan_ : 2nd May 2012 at 09:20.
Old 2nd May 2012, 13:29   #1963

"Hate Story" starring newbie actors

Heard from a few people that its a movie of substance and not how its hoarding made it out to be. Infact, its hoarding is an insult to such an intelligent movie.

I am surprised to see so many good movies in recent past ( Kahaani, VD and now Hate Story) and my faith in Bollywood is slowly being restored
This movie is a great win for a tight screenplay, excellent acting by all newbie actors ( especially the guy who played the villianious industrialist as his potrayal was simply brilliant)

Some intelligent business related scenes that is woven tightly into the storyline makes this movie extremely engrossing. The actress did some bold scenes which is not over the top but, not too subtle too.

Finally, this movie is also a "MUST WATCH" for movie lovers who enjoy an intelligently made engrossing thriller

4/5
Old 3rd May 2012, 07:20   #1964

Watched Kahani.

While I enjoyed the entire movie, the climax didn't appeal to me much, I was instantly reminded of Taking Lives (*ing Angelina Jolie).

The young cop was a gem in his role! Overall, a very different and interesting movie.
4*
Old 6th May 2012, 22:52   #1965

Saw Vicky Donor today and agree with most reviews here. Definitely 4/5

What characterization, and what acting !!