Old 12th January 2010, 22:42   #601

All four in 1 CD! Any new compression format?
A VCD not of great quality ones. They usually get 4 or 5 movies in a CD. Got a dump from a friend?
Old 13th January 2010, 12:32   #602

Saw 3 idiots. Would rate it pretty good even though many scenes are typical of our movies. However it does contain a strong message for a large majority of parents and institutions in India. Btw, I believe the college scenes (ICE) are shot in IIMB.
Old 15th January 2010, 20:36   #603

Saw Chance pe Dance today. Apart from Shahid's dance and a few good songs, there's nothing great in the movie. 1.5/5
Old 29th January 2010, 07:51   #604

Any reviews on RANN?
Old 29th January 2010, 11:53   #605

Saw "Khamosh" directed by Vidu Vinod Chopra ( 3 Idiots/Munna Bhai fame) which happens to be his first movie and that too a crime thriller.

It is amazing to know such a thriller was made in 1985. It has all famous stars and suspense that will make your nails bite into your armrest.

Awesome movie. Must watch for thriller fans.

4.5/5
Old 29th January 2010, 12:02   #606

Spotted one mistake in 3 Idiots.

When both, Raju and Farhan are holding the contanier with Javed Jafri's father's Aasthi, Raju and Farhan drop the lid of the container in toilet. Now after the story of Aamir khan, when Raju and Farhan along with Cahtur leave Javed's Jafri's house, Jafed Jafri checks if Aasthi are OK or not. Javed Jafri lifts the lid of the container to check this, but the lid was thrown in toilet. So where it came from ? Common sense says its a mistake.

There are many arguments for this, but overall, this is a mistake. Still people rate 3 idiots as good which is bad IMHO.
Old 29th January 2010, 12:26   #607

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Saw "Khamosh" directed by Vidu Vinod Chopra ( 3 Idiots/Munna Bhai fame) which happens to be his first movie and that too a crime thriller.
Yes, Khamosh was excellent but the first movie of Vidhu Vinod Chopra as a director was Sazaaye Maut, which failed to get a nationwide release. Khamosh is special for me because it was the first movie I had watched in Delhi (Odeon), a day after I had arrived in the city for my B.Sc. Admissions.
Old 29th January 2010, 12:30   #608

I also liked Khaamosh, saw it recently.
Old 29th January 2010, 13:24   #609

Looking forward to see ISHQUIA hopefully this weekend !

Dil to bacha hai jeeee ....
Old 30th January 2010, 03:53   #610

Just back after watching ISHQIYA. Powerful acting by Vidya Balan. Naseeruddin Shah & Arshad Warsi have also done a good job. Storyline is a bit confusing. But definitely a must watch. 4/5

PS: As warned before, there's a lot of swearing.
Old 30th January 2010, 04:30   #611

Great catch aaggoswami, I had to watch 3 Idiots again and it is so true.
Old 30th January 2010, 07:58   #612

Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
Any reviews on RANN?
I read Anupama Chopra's report on NDTV.com which rated it at 2/5.

I'll wait till I watch it but still why can't RGV make good movie anymore?
Old 30th January 2010, 08:19   #613

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
I read Anupama Chopra's report on NDTV.com which rated it at 2/5.

I'll wait till I watch it but still why can't RGV make good movie anymore?
If i were to go by such reviews, Taran Adarsh praised it a lot. giving 4/5. But i would give more weight-age to the views of members here.

Those reviews are of little interest to me. hope you understand.
Old 30th January 2010, 10:40   #614

Rann

If you have watched Sarkar-2 , you pretty much have watched Rann - except the setting that has been shifted to the Tv news reporting field. It's Deja Vu time. The direction is standard RGV as is the camera work (jerky, tight close ups) and the back ground score is SUPER SHRIEKY LOUD.

The movie is only redeemed by some powerful performances lead by AB and Ritiesh Deshmukh .

Verdict - 2/5. If you cannot watch it, you haven't missed much.
Old 31st January 2010, 00:54   #615

ISHQIYA -

Just caught it tonight - 10 PM Show with a few friends.

Excellent acting by all 3 main lead actors.

Movie is set in Gorakhpur and Eastern UP and is a bit slow in my opinion.

Not fast paced and gets boring at times.

Dialogues are nice and some scenes are very intelligently shot.

Watch it if yout got nothing to do tommorrow. Else wait for the DVD to come out.

3/5