Old 3rd January 2022, 11:29   #2221

Re: The Regional movies thread!

Originally Posted by fundagenie View Post

Bheemente Vazhi - 1/5
Plus some really unexpected scenes from a Kunchako movie. Now some may say, in todays times with kids exposed to a wide array of western movies and series on OTT, its not a big deal. But still a Kunchako movie is always considered as a totally safe family watch and now that is lost.
FundaG
Even I expected much more after reading the reviews of it. Found it an average one with a pretty decent climax sequence. Such movies with a small predictable story thread need some strong performances to keep the viewer engaged. Felt that was missing here. Also as you mentioned, couple of unexpected scenes and several dialogs not normally seen in a kuchacko movie. Was watching with full family including elders and kids and was surprised. ( Of course, pretty normal now a days, but did not expect it in this one). Rating 2/5.

Watched couple more:

Kaaval- Suresh Gopi- Netflix. An old fashioned 90's type entertainer. Even with that mindset felt it slow and not much mass moments which you would expect in a Suresh Gopi film. Pass time watch. Rating:2/5.

Keshu ee Veedinte Nathan- Dileep- Hotstar. As expected from Dileep and Director Nadirshah, a slapstick entertainer with not much logic. Few laughs, but considering the cast of Dileep, Urvashi, Jaffer Idukki, Shajon, Kottayam Nazeer,Naslen- All great comic actors with superb comic timing, could have been much much better. Once again a passtime watch. Rating 2/5.
Old 3rd January 2022, 13:08   #2222

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
Kaaval- Suresh Gopi- Netflix. An old fashioned 90's type entertainer. Even with that mindset felt it slow and not much mass moments which you would expect in a Suresh Gopi film. Pass time watch. Rating:2/5.
I started watching this with my wife, and we both commented on how slow the pace is, as well as how silly the whole thing felt. Somehow, i was unable to empathize with the happenings on screen, and Suresh Gopi's overaction as always did nothing to help.

I gave up after some time, although wifey completed watching it (She has to finish watching something, if started LOL!)
Old 3rd January 2022, 14:45   #2223

Watched Minnal Murali. Since I don't like superhero movies, I was a bit apprehensive starting to watch it. The silly teasers were a reason too. But it was a pleasant surprise that the teasers had nothing to do with the actual movie.

What works best about the movie is the sympathetic villain. A sympathetic villain is difficult to work with especially in a superhero film, but if you get the balance right, it provides a rewarding experience. There is nothing much to complain except the villain's diction - which I should admit that at times seems like a strength more than a weakness. Tovino has also performed well (considering his mediocre performances in his previous roles) - at least well enough not to let Guru take away all the accolades. Baiju and Aju perform well and a couple ladies have somewhat meaty roles but are largely forgettable.

The story is simple but it is the detailing that make it enjoyable. Especially how it stays rooted in the 80s/90s Kerala village atmosphere. The story builds up slowly introducing the characters one by one and it takes a while until the backdrop is set for the real story.

The writer falters at times - for example the powers of neither the hero nor the villain is defined well enough. They seem to do random stuff at random times and some does not make sense. Some people may not like it that superhero does not wear a "superhero" costume until the big fight. Well, actually making him wear that costume was stupid considering the overall tone of the film. The writer tries to push in a back-story into the mix which appears cheesy and the random flashbacks break the narration. Also the writer seems to run out of ideas towards the end and the climactic fight is ridden with clichés. And the ending is a joke, both the end of the fight and the monologue before the credits.

Save the ending, it is a thoroughly enjoyable movie - although may not be for regular superhero movie fans. I hope this movie stands alone and the makers do not feel the need to make a franchise out of it and milk it until viewers start hating it.
dragonfire is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2022, 16:29   #2224

Keshu Ee Veedinde nathan - Malayalam (Hotstar).

I think I am done with Dileep style of slapstick comedies. Too over the top for me.
Movie is okay if you see it as a welcome break from all the new age realistic movies. Other than that nothing works save for a couple of moments here and there.

Watch if you dont have anything to do and if you can still put up with Dileep's mannerisms.
vibbs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2022, 19:29   #2225

Originally Posted by dragonfire View Post
Now, I didn't finish watching Marakkar, but it looks like a typical Priyadarshan film. He fills his frames with a lots of characters, use exquisite locations, use elaborate costumes etc, but unfortunately he uses his usual cast and they struggle hard to fit into their roles. Actors like Mukesh, Baburaj, Innocent, Mamukoya etc play their own selves dressed up in period costumes and mouthing dialogues with fake accents. All those flaws could be forgiven but the greatest abomination of the movie is Mohanlal. He is a great actor, but he is a terrible miscast in this role.
Still a good 30 mins left in the movie and I have given up, Seriously, what we have learned in history books about the great Kunjali Marakkar and the iconic status that he had in our minds has been destroyed by this third rate movie. The movie degrades and makes a mockery out of this great historical figure. I would stop short of alleging that it is intentional, but then I had my doubts when Priyadarshan insisted that he had to make this movie. His earlier Kalapani glorifying one of the controversial figures of pre-independent India could be held against him. But then who would squander a few hundred crores to make someone look bad.

Seriously, this is bad film making. I would have been a happy person if the film bombed at the box office.
dragonfire is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 10th January 2022, 08:49   #2226

Bheemande Vazhi - Rubbish.

Why did they even bother making this? Kunchakko is clearly mis-cast and appears out of comfort zone throughout, a power house like Chemban vinod completely wasted and a zillion nonsensical unwanted characters buzzing in and out of the frames adding little or no value to the already wafer thin plot.
And, those ‘scenes’ - clearly exploitive and intending to be shock value than convey character development. A footloose character uninterested in commitment could have been depicted with subtlety and without being manipulative on the audiences.

The nonsensical proceedings end without actually making any sense or conveying anything at all.

What happened to those tightly scripted shoe string budget Malayalam movies of old with characters we cared for! Most of these new age duds only indicate rise of money power and decline of movie making.

Last edited by WindRide : 10th January 2022 at 08:54.
WindRide is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2022, 09:10   #2227

Originally Posted by dragonfire View Post
Seriously, this is bad film making. I would have been a happy person if the film bombed at the box office.
As per most reports, it was a disaster at the box office. Which is one reason why it was on Prime within 2 weeks of release and the theater federation did not complain as the theater run was pretty much done and dusted in a week.
Old 10th January 2022, 12:42   #2228

Bheemande Vazhi - Malayalam (Prime)

I read the reviews here and went into the movie with a bit of hesitation, such as not forcing my daughter to watch as i wasn't sure what to expect. As mentioned by the others, Kunjchacko didn't look natural in those scenes, and it felt forced and unnecessary.

As for the plot, it had it's moments but too many characters doing too many things just took away from it. The twist was good and there were some hilarious moments, but in all honesty it was a disappointment.

P.S. : I found the names of the characters quite intriguing.
Old 10th January 2022, 14:58   #2229

Watched Pushpa in kannada. Decent mass entertainer type of movie. May be a little inspired by kgf-type movies. But at the end, the movie is entertaining although it's hard to put a finger on what makes it entertaining.
deep_bang is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2022, 16:05   #2230

Originally Posted by deep_bang View Post
Watched Pushpa in kannada. Decent mass entertainer type of movie. May be a little inspired by kgf-type movies. But at the end, the movie is entertaining although it's hard to put a finger on what makes it entertaining.
I also watched the Telugu version yesterday. But could only go through it half way. Not sure what was the hype about the movie. Reminded me of movies of the 90s when every movie projected goons as heroes and showcase a small incident of their childhood that led to them being goons. I think, such movies doesn't set a good example in general.
sukhoi30 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2022, 20:04   #2231

I watched Pushpa (Telugu) yesterday.

One word...CRAP!
I knew what to expect from such a movie but still there was nothing in it to like about. Be it the below average cartoon story in the beginning, or the poor vfx that makes sandalwood look like sausages!, the vulgar and derogatory song of "oo antawa" or the pain in the ears "ee bidda" song, be it the skin show of Fahad and Allu arjun or the dummy eye candy rashmika...absolutely everything about the movie is trash. If at all I liked something, it was Sunil who had done well in a negative role as against his comic roles that he is known for.
I wouldn't recommend anyone to watch it.
0.5/5
hemanth.anand is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th January 2022, 20:12   #2232

Originally Posted by sukhoi30 View Post
I also watched the Telugu version yesterday. But could only go through it half way. Not sure what was the hype about the movie. Reminded me of movies of the 90s when every movie projected goons as heroes and showcase a small incident of their childhood that led to them being goons. I think, such movies doesn't set a good example in general.
I echo your thoughts. The teenage me would have loved this movie for obvious reasons but I didn't like the movie after watching it. Maybe I'm getting old It was a lazy Sunday noon and I was bored so watched it. It is a okayish one time watch masala entertainment type movie, where you leave logic outside the room. The action scenes are just well laughable, story is guessable too ! Apparently there's going to be a second part to this.
I'll rate Pushpa - ** One for masala action movie and one for Allu Arjun, saw his movie after years.
Old 10th January 2022, 20:36   #2233
KPR

Pushpa wasted my data, time and electric power.
Rudrathandavam - 3.5/5
O mana Penne - 3.5/5
Thingalayscha Nishchayam - 3.5/5
Pushpa - 0/5

And watched Panchayat's Gajab Bejjati hai yaar episode twice.
KPR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2022, 20:43   #2234

Watched the Tamil version of Pushpa for a while. Good lord, what a waste!!!

After the first 15-20 mins mostly packed with "action" where the unwashed hero doing acts normally done by superheroes, couldn't bear any longer and jumped to somewhere in the middle - a scene where the hero is paying the heroine for a mouth-to-mouth kiss. Cringing, I jumped to the end expecting to see some good ending, only to see the hero an the villain undress to their innerwear and both going home and prepare for part 2. Yeh, part 2. They call the ending a second interval.

I thought I'd not post a review here after reading all the positive reviews online; and a 8.1 rating in IMDB. Thought there could be something wrong with my tastes - until I saw the two posts above. Thanks for making me feel normal again.

Seriously why do people still watch such trash?
dragonfire is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 11th January 2022, 08:30   #2235

Thanks for the reviews of Pushpa guys, I was about to watch it in the last two days, but somehow didn't find time. Now I don't want to watch it. What was the hype all about?