Old 18th April 2022, 09:35   #2431

Re: The Regional movies thread!

I tried watching KGF -1 in 2 languages but could not tolerate the overhyped reactions and dialogues, movie may have been a success in terms of business but definitely not in pulling the crowd to theaters for a second time. James was a big disappointment, with no proper storyboard and miserable graphics using a body double of Appu.

I recently watched Nootokka Jillala Andagadu which is a good one-time watch movie.
Old 18th April 2022, 10:08   #2432

Originally Posted by balenoed_ View Post
Beast - Tamil - 2/5 - Theatre - absolutely no logic, defying physics, doing impossible.
Dude, you have high expectations from a Vijay movie. Barring a handful of exceptions, his movies have been that way since day 1. For that matter, bulk of the movies are like that.

I am happy they don't have these preachy nonsense and push some message. In that regard, it was a good timepass over a popcorn.
narayans80 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th April 2022, 22:09   #2433

Taanaakaaran - a Tamil movie streaming on Hotstar. I would rate it 4.5/5. Really interesting storyline and a very good performance from all the actors. It is apparently based on true incidents that happened at a police training college in the 90's.

Unlike most Tamil movies, there was no heroism displayed or duet songs. It was a real refresher especially after watching the Vijay starrer "Beast". Simple storyline narrated and picturized very beautifully. All the actors from the hero Vikram Prabhu, MS Baskar, Lal and all the co-stars have done a great job. Very interesting twist at the end. Do watch it if you like movies that portray real life incidents.

Beast - total disappointment after all the hype. Would rate it 2/5.
Satish Pari is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th April 2022, 22:41   #2434

Not adding a movie review here for KGF Chapter 2 - I have not yet seen it but know what to expect if I were to watch it.

Adding this here as I read some comments on KGF 1 and people planning to see Chapter 2 - these people should watch this interview and then go with the appropriate expectation

People with less time can fast forward to 14m 20s of the video and watch from there.
Good interview and I liked the way these guys defended this genre of cinema which they have aptly titled "Anti Gravity Cinema"...

Last edited by vsrivatsa : 18th April 2022 at 22:47.
vsrivatsa is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th April 2022, 04:47   #2435

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
When KGF1 released and subsequently came on OTT, I started watching after hearing all the rave reviews and could not watch it past 30 min. Was too dark and violent for me.
I didnt give in to all the hype when KGF1 was released and chose not to watch it, despite being available on Prime. With the hoopla around KGF2, i am now preparing to try and watch KGF1. Let's see if i persevere second time round.

While I don't intend to watch KGF2 in theaters, I will watch it on OTT. Whatever my personal opinion, huge credit to the makers for making a film, that too a regional language one, that is creating waves all across India. Pretty much unprecedented.
Wasn't Baahubali the same?
benbsb29 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th April 2022, 06:18   #2436

Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
I didn’t give in to all the hype when KGF1 was released and chose not to watch it, despite being available on Prime. With the hoopla around KGF2, i am now preparing to try and watch KGF1. Let's see if i persevere second time round.
Same here! And I watched KGF1 over the weekend. Not mighty impressed personally but can understand the hype and the buzz it created, especially for the second installment.
Old 19th April 2022, 08:00   #2437

Veyil - Malayalam

The Regional movies thread!-fgsaf2.jpg

Nothing special, just the usual plot. Decent acting by all. Starts to get bored midway and it's clearly too long. Should have kept it at 2 hours.

Rating - 2/5

Kuttram Kuttrame - Tamil

The Regional movies thread!-201665.jpg

I liked this one. It was a pretty decent crime thriller. Sort of reminded me of those Agatha Christie's movie adaptations.

Rating - 4/5

Both are on Amazon Prime.
naveen.raju is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th April 2022, 18:49   #2438

Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
I didnt give in to all the hype when KGF1 was released and chose not to watch it, despite being available on Prime. With the hoopla around KGF2, i am now preparing to try and watch KGF1. Let's see if i persevere second time round.

Wasn't Baahubali the same?
If you persevere past the first 30 odd minutes, you are most likely to watch the whole thing.

Yes of course Bahubali was humongous, but some how the hype around this seems even higher.
Old 20th April 2022, 11:51   #2439

When KGF1 released and subsequently came on OTT, I started watching after hearing all the rave reviews and could not watch it past 30 min. Was too dark and violent for me. Now that KGF2 released and was getting rave reviews again, I decided to watch KGF1 again. This time I did watch it through and did not hate it. Felt it was fantastically made and was a pretty good watch. Maybe my sensibilities have changed.
The Problem with KGF 1 is that there were totally two different movies Pre and Post Interval. The Pre interval was only build up, lot of hero worship, many charcters introduction, fast paced jump cuts which was not pleasing to watch and can get dizzy at times. However, post interval it became slower with more character build up and a classic one man army vs the oppressors with good elevation and action scenes. By the time it ends you will like it, specially the climax buildup and its explanation the end.

If you watch KGF on youtube and Amazon there is a stark contrast in the dubbing. Excel movies put a lot of effort in the dubbing for Amazon (at least hindi), so although its a dubbed version, you still feel the impact of the words spoken. Even KGF 2 has dialogues, which create a lot of impact in any of the other languages it has been dubbed. Just check out the hooting and cheers in cinemas across the country and in different languages

Last edited by Bulls14 : 20th April 2022 at 12:12. Reason: Fixed broken quote tag
Bulls14 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th April 2022, 12:54   #2440

Bhoothakaalam - Malayalam - Sony Live
4/5

The Regional movies thread!-bhoothakaalam.jpg

I would rate this as one of the best Horror / Psychological movie came out in recent times

The movie starts at a slow pace as a psychological drama than a horror flick. The slow pace may get you feel bored but as it reaches the end, boy it turns to a superb horror thriller.

Acting from Revathi and Shane is on the point, the BGM fits perfectly to the mood of the movie.

There are couple of jump scare scenes but it was executed perfectly, which we don't feel as cliché.

Overall a very good movie.

Bheeshma Parvam - Malayalam
3.5/5

Name:  bheeshmaparvamet0030624228022022122144.jpg
Views: 419
Size:  42.0 KB

Directed by Amal Neerad, who is known for his stylized film making skills and his unique cinematography and starring the quintessential style icon of mollywood, Mammooty
This movie is an adaptation of Mahabharatha (Bheeshamar) & inspired by "The Godfather" placed in the city of Kochi at 1980's

Standout features of this movie are the Cinematography, BGM, Acting from lead actors (Especially Mammooty, Shine Tom Chacko & Soubin) & the songs.

Main negative I felt was the rushed climax which might leave you wanting for more.
Asish_VK is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th April 2022, 13:39   #2441

KGF2(Kannada)

Scale, Scale, Scale...it's all about scale. Down south, Kannada film industry was looked down upon by other language film industries. Be it story or budget, be it marketing or the revenue generation, Kannada industry was the last among the 4 movie industries of the south. This movie has shattered all that...at least in terms of budget, economics and hype. "If you can do Bahubali, RRR, Pushpa, 2.0, Bigil etc., we can also make KGF" is the kind message that's loud and clear.

It's the costliest Kannada movie ever made. and forget south, it's now in the list of top 10 highest grossing Indian movies (in the first week itself) and will easily finish in the top 5 if not top 3.

For me, the distinctive things end there. There's hardly anything different...same old "one guy kills everyone" storyline, same kind of dialogues, a female character eye candy, same kind of mother-son sentiment, same old fight sequences. After some time it kind of gets monotonous and borderline boring. As a car enthusiast, I must mention about all the lovely cars and Rocky's blue Van in the movie....drool worthy.

Others, I'm not a fan of all this evil glorification, women objectification seen in these so called mass movies because I firmly believe movies influence the society we live in. The movie ends with a small window to a possible 3rd sequel.

I'd rate this a 2.5/5
hemanth.anand is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2022, 00:08   #2442

KGF2 (Kannada)

Though it's overall enjoyable as a Mass action flick, I didn't enjoy it much.

The making, cinematography & screen presence of Yash, Sanjay Dutt & Raveena Tandon, few action scenes and BGM for few scenes where great.

Mustang chase scene gave me the vibe of fast & furious mixed with Madmax fury road. Could've been much better though.

But, the movie seems souch stretched and few places I got bored and waiting it to end.
The mother-son backstory, it's songs and few dialouges were cringy for my taste.

The Best buld up and entry was for "Kalashnikov - the AK47"
Asish_VK is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th April 2022, 08:28   #2443

Antakshari - Malayalam

The Regional movies thread!-v1_.jpg

I was looking forward to this - Thriller, Jeethu Joseph (producer) but sort of disappointing. Started off well, then looses steam. I felt a lot of characters were wasted (Binu Pappan) and short lived (Vijay Babu). Saiju acted well but the kid (flashback) acted really well.

Guess Jeethu Joseph's name was used to hype the movie (during promos/trailers) as it's not listed on his Wiki page.

Rating - 2/5 (Available on Sony Liv)

Manmadha Leelai - 2022 (Tamil)

The Regional movies thread!-ta4._v1_.jpg

Storyline didn't sound exciting but decided to watch since it was Venkat prabhu's movie and boy what a disaster it was. Could manage only 1 hour and skipped the movie till the end and the climax was the highlight - what a wreck. Good that I skipped the second half.

Rating - no point in rating this. SKIP (available on Aha)
naveen.raju is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th April 2022, 07:39   #2444

KGF-2 : 4 / 5

There are movies that blow your brains out in the theatre. Those are great movies that make you trust the makers of the movie and go to the next one. Marvel (movies) are perfect examples of such, on the Bollywood front, Amir Khan (movies) are probably the best example. But such movies start and end in the theatre - pure entertainment and that's it.

And then there are movies that do entertain you in the theatre, but it's the next 24 or 48 hours when you go back and ponder about the movie and make you rethink what they actually represented and now how it has changed your look completely, implicitly or subconsciously. For me, KGF 1 & 2 has changed my perspective of (ignoring) the Kannada movie industry completely.

For so long regional movies were supposed to be pandering to regional audiences. Yes, there were heroes that were larger than life but that never lifted the movie industry to be national. How many of us knew Yash or Prabhas as an actor before KGF or Bahubali. Also, regional movies were never about creating new worlds and making you wonder 'wow'. Heck, you didn't even expect Bollywood to do that, it was mostly Hollywood that made you believe in something fictional as if it could have happened (e.g. Matrix, Fight Club, Harry Potter series, GoT and so many more). Bahubali 1 & 2 created an alternate world and wow-ed all of us like never before. It didn't strike all that this was a Telegu (audience-focused) movie; it wowed not only Indians but even the world.

KGF 1 & 2 fall into the same level but it is even better (in my opinion) because where the makers of KGF have upped the game is they have fused fiction and reality to make you wonder - did it really happen in the past? Was Kolar Gold Fields (some 100 km from Bangalore) really have some history?

Also what has changed is that we no longer will be relying on Bollywood to make the big-budget king-sized movies. It's the regional industries that are taking the bull by the horns and leading the way. And these movies are setting the base for some wonderful years ahead of where a lot of us (across the country) are going to look south for the next big blockbuster, rather than waiting for Bollywood to wow us.

----------

Now to the actual review. There's this amazing short speech by Malyali actor Prithviraj about Yash & KGF 2. One of his dialogues really sums up his (and my feedback) about this movie

"Yash, you might not like violence but you make it look really cool."

Thoroughly enjoyed this movie; so much that I'm going back again to watch it for a 2nd time later this week. The only reason I'm deducting one star is it's too bloody long. And really why have the heroine if her presence is just for namesake.
ninjatalli is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 25th April 2022, 08:19   #2445

The character Rina is underdeveloped. I thought in Chapter 1, she hated him and then later on 'fell for him'. But again in Chapter 2 she goes back to hating him and follows the same trajectory. Didnt make sense. Rina is an after-thought and there purely for "entertainment"! The romantic song cut the pace, and could have done without. Like GGVV (Garuda Gamana Vrishabha Vahana) they could have 'avoided' any 'decoration'. I agree that KGF has enlarged the scope, and creatives will go 'all out' with their imagination
Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
And really why have the heroine if her presence is just for namesake.

Last edited by Sebring : 25th April 2022 at 08:36.
Sebring is offline   (1) Thanks