Old 15th September 2024, 09:54   #3661

Re: The Regional movies thread!

Kishkindha Kaandam- Malayalam- Asif Ali-Aparna Balamurali

Lovely film in the mystery genre. Can't say much without revealing spoilers. Better watch without reading any reviews.

Unlike some other movies in this genre it is not very slow paced. You get caught with the flow and feel satisfied at the end of it all. The brilliance is not that, it is the fact that once you finish watching, then you start thinking back and then you realise and recognise all the small elements and happenings and the nuances the script brings in as it unfurls the story in front of you. When a movie makes you do that, that's when we know it is a winner.

The setting at the edge of a reserve forest makes it a visual pleasure also.

The cast is all very good especially Vijayaraghavan. You don't know what to make of his character until the very end.

Rating 4/5.
Rajeevraj is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 18th September 2024, 13:39   #3662

Ajayante Randam Moshanam (ARM) (Malayalam):

An enjoyable movie which is a mix of adventure, action and fantasy. Tovino appears in 3 roles set in 3 different time periods, with the second one being the most impressive. The rest of the cast has also done a good job, however this is an out-and-out Tovino movie. I think children will like the movie, especially the 2nd half. The movie is more than 2.5h long, but it is engaging from beginning to end. But do not expect an edge of the seat thriller.

The technical side is also good, but I found the BGM to be too loud in the beginning, drowning out other sounds. The VFX is good.

I guess the movie would be more enjoyable in 3D format. Unfortunately, there were no 3D shows in my city.
StarrySky is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th September 2024, 22:30   #3663

Thalavan (2024, Malayalam)

The Regional movies thread!-th.jpg

Excellent investigative thriller movie laced with unique twists and turns to keep the audience engrossed throughout it's runtime.
Both the leads, Biju Menon & Asif Ali, put in strong performances and carry the film well. Asif Ali in particular is improving with each outing.
The direction is quite pacy with a moody background score, dotted with some fantastic cinematographic shots of the hills.
I thought the ending was a bit rushed, but overall, an enjoyable experience.
A sequel is pretty much a given, and should be eagerly awaited after the twist at the very end.

Rating - * * * ½

Iratta (2023, Malayalam)

The Regional movies thread!-irr.jpg

Went into this one after hearing similarities to the plot twists from Maharaja. The ending is a similar, gut-punching experience but the story is very different.
Credit to Joju George for performing so well as the twin, but the main DYSP role required more depth and emotion.
The movie seemed to lose it's plot midway through, but caught back up in the final act.
And the climactic sequence felt a wee bit underwhelming - they could have gone the reveal-revenge way but chose not to.
Still, a good watch.

Rating - * * * ½

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
Kishkindha Kaandam
Lovely film in the mystery genre.
Thanks for the rec, Rajeev.
RavenAvi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 02:00   #3664

A.R.M (Malayalam) - 4/5

Spectacular and one of the best visual treat in Malayalam films. Go must watch in Theatres. Tovino at an alltogether different level, playing 3 roles. What a casting of him for this role. The same with Surabhi Lakshmi, perfect match. One of the best BGM's off late.

However a 2D release would have sufficed.
balenoed_ is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 07:47   #3665

Bro Daddy (Malayalam) - Disney Hotstar - 4.5/5

What a refreshing movie this was!!. Mohanlal and Prithviraj have played their roles very well. Light hearted movie which will keep you smiling all along. Recommended watch
115 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 10:45   #3666

Watched quite a few movies in the last couple of weeks. Nothing worthy.

Grrr
Except for Suraj's okayish acting, it was super bad. Decent VFX as well.
Available on Hotstar. Can be avoided.
Rating - 1/5

Cheena Trophy
The movie had it's moments but as a whole, it was disappointing.
Available on Amazon Prime (Rent). Can be avoided.
Rating - 2/5

Pavi Caretaker
Expected it to be good since it had decent reviews when released but it was just ok. Dileep was trying to regain his old days with the same old repeated comic styles but failed miserably. You will feel the drag.
Available on Manorama Max. Wont regret if you miss this.
Rating - 2/5

Adios Amigo
Though Asif will bore to the ultimate level I somehow watched till the end. Again, Suraj was the saviour here.
Available on Netflix. Can be avoided.
Rating - 2/5

Jaladhara Pumpset Since 1962
The synopsis sounded interesting and expected a full-on comedy movie but was super bad. I couldnt watch the entire movie and had to rely on the skip button.
Available on Jio Cinema. Can be avoided.
Rating - 0/5

CID Ramachandran Retd. SI
Not your typical crime thriller where you keep guessing. It's just a "not a twist" crime thriller. Pretty decent with good acting by Shahjon.
Available on Manorama Max. Watchable.
Rating - 3/5
naveen.raju is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 12:27   #3667

Kishkindha Kaandam

Just came back after watching this. Terrific movie. The story, the characters, the casting, the acting everything is top notch. It is difficult to say anything more without giving out spoilers. But I just would like to say this. The story is inspired by a renowned hollywood movie. We have seen a couple of Indian movies "inspired" by that movie, but the makers of those movies should be made to watch Kishkindha Kaandam and learn what an "inspiration" actually looks like.

Go watch.
Old 23rd September 2024, 16:10   #3668

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
Kishkindha Kaandam- Malayalam- Asif Ali-Aparna Balamurali
Have been recommended this movie by multiple folks, so planning to watch this in theaters this week. Novice question - we do not understand the language - does the movie come with English subtitles (generally watch regional movies on OTT, so have no idea).
Old 23rd September 2024, 16:20   #3669

Originally Posted by sachinayak View Post
Have been recommended this movie by multiple folks, so planning to watch this in theaters this week. Novice question - we do not understand the language - does the movie come with English subtitles (generally watch regional movies on OTT, so have no idea).
It's better to lower your expectation before you go and watch Safer side if I can recommend is to wait for OTT release. Again, this is purely a personal recommendation based on my wife's expectation based on reviews and subsequent disappointment.
Sk8r is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 18:08   #3670

Originally Posted by sachinayak View Post
You need to confirm in Bookmyshow that the theater you are booking is playing the movie with subtitles. Typically now Malayalam movies play with subtitles in most theaters. Good to reconfirm.

It is a good slow burn movie, whether you will like it or not depends on your taste in movies. OTT release for this will happen only after 50 days. So would be a long wait.
Rajeevraj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 23:21   #3671

Pechi (Tamil, on Prime)

The Regional movies thread!-pe.jpg

How many times do we have to watch teens visiting/trekking unknown places and completely ignoring local warnings to end up in trouble? Umpteen times in English movies for the past 4 decades or so, and this movie keeps that tradition going.
Except for a few moments of genuine chills and premonition & a set of fantastic overhead cinematographic shots of the twisties, Pechi offers not much else. You are rooting for the one character to make it out alive (due to obvious reasons), but otherwise you stop caring about all the other characters midway through. The twist at the end seems like it was tacked on just because the makers wanted to, although it doesn't make sense even by body count numbers.
One-time watch & forget, this one.

Rating - * * ½

Last edited by RavenAvi : 23rd September 2024 at 23:22.
RavenAvi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2024, 10:21   #3672

Lubber Pandhu (Tamil, 2024)

My Rating 5/5

Refreshing Experience , Outstanding performance from entire cast
Enjoyed a Tamil movie in theatre after long time
Seagull76 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 29th September 2024, 05:40   #3673

Watched premiere show of Devara Part-1 starring Jr.NTR, Saif Ali Khan and Jahnvi Kapoor, here in Fremont, CA.

1st half is really a paisa vasool with NTR's acting and few sequences, especially that Ayudha Pooja scene as well as pre-interval fight scene while 2nd half felt laggy until pre-climax, where he fights using shark. But, I felt the ending scene similar to Bahubali Part-1. People, who watched this movie, will get to know very well. Also, the director has given a hint that there will be Part-2 of this movie.

Saif Ali Khan as antagonist is okay while Jahnvi Kapoor has nothing to do in this movie as her role is limited to 10-15 mins including a song "Chuttamalle", which became a chartbuster in recent times.

Overall, NTR's acting along with Anirudh's BGM has elevated this movie. Now, waiting for Part-2 of this movie, which will take time to release.

My rating- 3.5/5
Old 30th September 2024, 11:47   #3674

Watched few feelgood family drama/comedy movies over the weekend.

1. Vishesham [Feelgood family drama-comedy] - Prime Videos - 3.5/5

The Regional movies thread!-vishesham.jpg

Watched without any expectation and I quiet liked it. Socially two relevant subjects presented with a flavor of humor and drama. The movie was grounded and didn't go to melodrama at any point. The main protagonist's acting was not consistently good, He was good at some part but not always. He is also the writer, song writer and music also (I think), did good in all these.
Female lead also did very well so are the supporting cast. Overall a good feelgood movie

2. Nunakkuzhi [Comedy] - Zee5 - 3/5

The Regional movies thread!-nuna1.jpg

Was having high expectations due to the online reviews and box office success. Felt it was not that great. Nothing new in the story, we have watched many similar stories in the past in many languages.

It's definitely watchable if you are not worried about the logic. Baiju was great with his usual comical police role. Rest of the cast was just OK.

Onetime watch

3. Bharatanatyam [Comedy-Drama] - Prime Videos- 4/5

The Regional movies thread!-bharathanatyam2024073114501923080.jpg

This was totally unexpected and humorous throughout. Saikumar was excellent so was Saiju Kurup. I think it deserved better performance in theaters. It had few laugh out loud moments at unexpected situations.

Totally worth your time
Asish_VK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th September 2024, 12:51   #3675

Watched 3 movies this weekend.

1. Vishesham 3.5/5

2. Bharatanatyam 4/5

3. CID Ramachandran Retd. SI 3.5/5

The Regional movies thread!-cid.jpg

Some really good movies are not getting enough appreciation these days due to the hype created in social media for other poor to average movies.
myavu is online now   (1) Thanks