Old 3rd September 2017, 14:52   #6331

Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

There is some problem with the Counter of No. Of Posts present on T-Bhp.

When I searched "Find All Posts by IndigoXLGrandDi", it displays 817 Results.
Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-longscreenshot_20170903143053.png

But my profile as well as the Counter which 'displays no. Of Posts' on my each post are showing me 1001 posts.

Also I reported my post in Hyundai Verna Official Review to make Changes after I saw that that very post is my 1000th post.
But after reporting that post, I saw that the Counter has increased my Post Count to 1001.

That means Actual Posts posted by me are only 817.
The additional 184 are posts reported by me to Mods.

But the Counter is taking total of 817+184=1001.

Now in reality this very post is 818 post of mine but will be displayed as 1001 posts at the time of posting.

Edit:
This Screenshot shows Posts by IndigoXLGrandDi (Me) are 818.
Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-longscreenshot_20170903145317.png

Mods, any takers on this?

Last edited by IndigoXLGrandDi : 3rd September 2017 at 15:05.
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th September 2017, 14:42   #6332

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
Can we please have drag and drop photo uploading?
This would really be great, but last we checked there were some software limitations preventing that. Will give it another look...

Originally Posted by timuseravan View Post
As the title says, I want to ask the Mods/Admins if a new sub-forum can be created in "Technical Stuff" forum just for listing official pdf User Manuals / Repair Manuals etc.
Adding a whole new sub-forum for this is unlikely, as there wouldn't be enough content to justify it.

Do use the thread that Bluevolt linked to. TIP: Use the "Search thread" feature to search within that thread.

Bonus tip: For other threads, click the paperclip icon to get a list of attachments in that thread. It'll then be easy to spot the PDF in the list

Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-screenshot-20170905144143.png

Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi View Post
There is some problem with the Counter of No. Of Posts present on T-Bhp.
It's working as intended...

Note that the post count on your profile is correct (reporting posts creates a new post in a private forum that only Mods can see / act on).

The search results tells you how many (publicly visible) posts its showing, not how many posts you've made!

Last edited by Rehaan : 5th September 2017 at 14:44.
Rehaan is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 5th September 2017, 15:45   #6333

Using the forum on the mobile is very acceptable these days. One thing to look at sometime...

The usable resolution for the mobile interface is a fingertip. This means that, quite often, I have to zoom the screen to get my fingertip accurately on frequently-used text links like first-unread in a subscribed-threads listing.

Whilst it would be important not to increase the depth of each item in a listing, a carefully-placed icon might be easier to jab than a text link.

Something for ongoing-thought list!
Old 5th September 2017, 21:34   #6334

Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post

Note that the post count on your profile is correct.
The search results tells you how many (publicly visible) posts its showing, not how many posts you've made!
Can you please clarify how the posts Count on my profile is different than the Search Results?

If my Profile Post Count is more than 1000 but Search Results show only 800+ where are the other posts (1000-800=200).
I agree that reported posts are visible only to Mods.
But where are my 200 posts which are not shown in Search Results?
Old 5th September 2017, 22:05   #6335

But the Counter is taking total of 817+184=1001.
(1000-800=200)...But where are my 200 posts which are not shown in Search Results?
I would like to chip in here.

As you have clearly stated in your previous post, you have used the Report Post option 184 times - either to report your own or others' post. Though invisible to you or others (but visible to mods), these reports are added to your total post count. This is because, as GTO has clarified earlier:

Reported Posts are as much a contributor to forum quality as a regular post on the public forum is.
Hope this helps.
Old 5th September 2017, 22:28   #6336

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
a carefully-placed icon
Wait, am I being an idiot here? It is there on the desktop, I'd better look on the phone again.
Old 6th September 2017, 12:15   #6337

.....text links like first-unread in a subscribed-threads listing.
I don't see such an on option on the desktop either - to get to the first unread. It would be a convenient option to have. If there is one, could someone please guide me to that?
Old 6th September 2017, 13:02   #6338

Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post

Note that the post count on your profile is correct (reporting posts creates a new post in a private forum that only Mods can see / act on).

Mine is exact opposite

When I searched "all posts by auto_enthusiast", it displays 178 results but the counter shows only 164 posts. Add to it the posts that I've reported and the few posts which have been deleted by the mods.

Am I missing something?

EDIT: Understood it
The posts which are made under shifting gears section are not counted in the total posts counts

Last edited by auto_enthusiast : 6th September 2017 at 13:10.
auto_enthusiast is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2017, 13:46   #6339

Well, here I am on the phone.

The desktop first-unread icon is immediately before the thread title, and it is not there on the mobile.

There is a first column, with one icon that is not very useful. It takes up the entire hight of the entry... A lovely finger-tip-size space

(I'm talking about the subscribed-thread list but I think others are similar)
Old 6th September 2017, 14:37   #6340

Well, here I am on the phone.

The desktop first-unread icon is immediately before the thread title, and it is not there on the mobile.
Aaaah.... Yes. Found it. I see that it is the red inverted triangle. I didn't quite look there. Thanks.
Old 6th September 2017, 16:18   #6341

You're welcome! It should be a big help to getting around here.

It is a fairly standard thing in the software used here, but the icon itself differs from site to site.
Old 6th September 2017, 17:13   #6342

Originally Posted by auto_enthusiast View Post
The posts which are made under shifting gears section are not counted in the total posts counts
If my Profile Post Count is more than 1000 but Search Results show only 800+ where are the other posts....
As pointed out by auto-enthusiast those 800+ posts also include posts under shifting gears section. So the missing posts are actually more than 200
The only reason I could think of is the posts in deleted threads, even if the thread is deleted the post counts will not decrease if I am not wrong.

Apologies for adding more to the confusion here.

Last edited by jayantvs : 6th September 2017 at 17:23.
jayantvs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th September 2017, 07:13   #6343

Re: The Auto-Image thread

I think TBHP must enable upload of Plotagraph images as they look stunning. Mods kindly consider this request.
Old 13th September 2017, 09:05   #6344

Not sure if this is the right thread, but when I was searching google for alloy wheels for Celerio, I got this result: http://www.mycarhelpline.com/index.p...=554&Itemid=91

They have taken the images of the alloy wheels on my Celerio which were uploaded to my thread here in TBHP(http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...e-variant.html) and have cropped the watermark. There is no credit to Team-BHP or mention of any permission. Though I dont lose anything by the image being used there, I dont want them to use my content to gather hits and revenue. Though I have left a comment there requesting that to be deleted, I am not sure if that will work. Is there anything else that can be done?
Old 13th September 2017, 10:11   #6345

Can we please ban the use of "sir" etc.? There should be no place for such type of addressing fellow members.

Last edited by Rehaan : 14th September 2017 at 13:43. Reason: Typo