Old 13th June 2005, 23:53   #1

Fiat Uno Wanted!

A very close friend of mine is looking for a Fiat Uno it can be any model from any year but most preferably the one with a Weber carb although, the acceleration of the car shows a flat spot. The car must have list is: a decent external shell with the least possible dents and scratches and an AirCon. The papers and mileage on the car should be genuine. The only constraint is the budget which he has i.e. around 50k which is quite reasonable for a Fiat Uno which is no longer in production and quite old in terms of engineering and design and also carries a lot of service problems. He wants to buy it as a project car. If anyone comes across such a car please PM me or notify as a reply to this post.
Old 14th June 2005, 12:32   #2

HI,
boss for 50K i doubt you will get a UNO...
one i one which was not in good condition which required lots of work done for 70K and was not ready to come down...

Note from Moderator - The use of sms/chat/slang is not permitted on TBHP. Please take the time to type your post correctly.

Last edited by Revvmaster : 14th June 2005 at 17:02.
Old 15th June 2005, 21:04   #3

Well UNO Petrol start from around 70K and there was an advertisement for one last to last friday for 68K bargain it and you make get it down a bit but not 50K.. i dont think so.. increase budget..
Old 16th March 2008, 01:11   #4

Reviving this thread. I am looking for a Fiat Uno Diesel this time. If anyone comes across a top end version going cheap, give me a shout. The car should be in fair condition with:

- A working aircon.
- Rear wiper.
- Power Steering.
- Non rusted body .

Don't care about the engine since I have already located a different engine to plonk into the frame.
Old 16th March 2008, 01:36   #5

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
Don't care about the engine since I have already located a different engine to plonk into the frame.
Must it also be built like a tank? Or is that not important?
Old 16th March 2008, 01:56   #6

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Must it also be built like a tank? Or is that not important?
Kya yaar :(. Btw what are the stock speaker sizes of the Uno? Does it only take 4" speakers in the doors or a spacer ring can help put in a 6" driver?

9) Fiat Uno: The humble UNO is built like a tank and the good thing about this car is that it doesn’t rattle much. The front has a 4” back open mount, so what works for the Santro works here. Also there is a similar pod on the 2 pillars that hold the parcel shelf up, so you can mount 4 X 4” in the car and keep it invisible. Also supplied is a nice rear parcel shelf that can actually hold a couple of speakers and not rattle too much. This is useful if 4 X 4” speakers aren’t enough for you. After you mount the rear speakers on the parcel shelf, you could place a boxed sub or a tube underneath, on the boot floor and it sounds pretty good.

Sam's take on ICE for hatch backs.
Old 16th March 2008, 11:41   #7

Wow, I'd forgotten about writing that stuff.

It doesn't take speakers in any door MF. 4" in the dash, like a santro.
Old 16th March 2008, 12:00   #8

Wow, I'd forgotten about writing that stuff.

It doesn't take speakers in any door MF. 4" in the dash, like a santro.
Can anything be done to fit in 6" speakers in the doors? I am sure you might have done something?
Old 16th March 2008, 12:12   #9

Can anything be done to fit in 6" speakers in the doors? I am sure you might have done something?
Yes, you can. By fitting a nice spacer ring. However the Fiat Uno door pads are not built like a tank. They are made of cardboard. So it wont hold too well.
Unless you create a new doorpad.
Old 16th March 2008, 18:16   #10

Reviving this thread. I am looking for a Fiat Uno Diesel this time. If anyone comes across a top end version going cheap, give me a shout. The car should be in fair condition with:

- A working aircon.
- Rear wiper.
- Power Steering.
- Non rusted body .

IF you already have an engine, why are you looking for diesel?
Old 16th March 2008, 19:23   #11

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
IF you already have an engine, why are you looking for diesel?
To retain the engine number and keep the registration papers clear.
Old 16th March 2008, 19:34   #12

I dont understand, Kiran.
Can you be more specific why you want a diesel engine?
Do the diesel engine number and the engine u've found have matching engine numbers?
And also, a cheap, used uno's value is not gonna deteriorate if U have a different engine number.
Or are you worried about insurance?
Old 16th March 2008, 19:38   #13

OK I'll tell you what I'm allowed to tell you.

MF is building a top secret project called Project Uno Tankster. This is a Fiat Uno Dragster, developing roughly about 330BHP, completely stripped and shaved to reduce body weight. The reason he wants a diesel is because it was a later model and has a better, improved suspension and other parts I don't understand.

I wish him luck in this endevour. I hope I haven't let on too much MF.
Old 16th March 2008, 19:41   #14

Ok, now I understand he needs the diesel suspension to take the bigger engine's weight.
Originally Posted by sk
MF is building a top secret project called Project Uno Tankster.
Sam, Im 99% sure Kiran wouldn't like this project details revealed.

Last edited by nitrous : 16th March 2008 at 19:49.
Old 16th March 2008, 19:48   #15

I'm pretty sure that he would not mind what I ave revealed so far. There are many more secrets that I don't even understand, so what can I reveal.

He is getting a lot of help and some boost that was done mechanically earlier is being done electronically and I saw some guys sitting around some engine with a laptop. Maybe it was 330 BHP or more.
It's some FIAT lovers' revenge thing. Some sleeping car or something like that they were saying. Though it fails me how a sleeping car can be fast lol.
And the engine is not made by Fiat. It is made by the company that makes Fiat Engines.

Looks like all these fellows who love Fiats are going to have the last laugh on everyone. So get him that Uno people.