Old 29th September 2009, 13:32   #46

Bangalore Durga Puja 2009

This time, since we could not be in Kolkata for the Durga Pujas, we made the best of it by covering almost all Pujas in Bangalore.

Saptami: Cambridge Layout, Koramangla and Ulsoor.

Airforce Command Hospital, Cambridge layout
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-airforce-command-hospital-cambridge-layout.jpg

Sarathi Trust- Koramangala
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-sarathi-trust-koramangala.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-sarathi-trust-koramangala-2.jpg

Sarathi Forum- Koramangala
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-sarathi-forum-koramangala.jpg

Ulsoor Bengali Association, RBANMS Ground, Ulsoor
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-ulsoor-bengali-association-rbanms-ground-ulsoor.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-ulsoor-bengali-association-rbanms-ground-ulsoor-2.jpg
Old 29th September 2009, 13:51   #47

Planet is busy at the workshop - an ANHC did this on the eve of EID:

Durga Puja - India and Overseas-1a.jpg

Durga Puja - India and Overseas-2a.jpg

Rocker was down with the after-effects of "over eating" and "over fueling" everyday (Saptami-Dashami ). on top of that i had to take out ETC for pandal hopping at odd hours in the morning (6AM~8AM). I didn't click any pics. i will upload the ones shot by my brother.

Last edited by planet_rocker : 29th September 2009 at 13:53.
Old 29th September 2009, 14:26   #48

Sorry to hear the news Planet, but just curious how was the culprit after it took the hit?
Old 29th September 2009, 14:27   #49

Ashtami- Bangalore

Places we covered in Ashtami evening: Sahakarnagar, Anandnagar, Sanjaynagar, Malleshwaram, Rajajinagar, Jayamahal.

Sahakarnagar Durga Puja
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-sahakarnagar-bengali-association-sahakarnagar1.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-sahakarnagar-bengali-association-sahakarnagar-2.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-sahakarnagar-bengali-association-sahakarnagar-3.jpg

R.T. Nagar Sarbajanin Durga Puja Samiti, Anandnagar
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-r.t.nagar-sarbajanin-surga-puja-samiti-sai-baba-temple-anand-nagar.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-r.t.nagar-sarbajanin-surga-puja-samiti-sai-baba-temple-anand-nagar-2.jpg

Antaranga Bengali Association, Sanjay Nagar
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-antaranga-bengali-association-sanjay-nagar.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-antaranga-bengali-association-sanjay-nagar-2.jpg

Prabaasee Association, Canara Bank Union Hall, malleshwaram
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-prabaasee-association-canara-bank-union-hall-malleshwaram.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-prabaasee-association-canara-bank-union-hall-malleshwaram-2.jpg

North Bangalore Cultural Association, Rajajinagar
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-north-bangalore-cultural-association-mahalakshmi-layout-rajajinagar.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-north-bangalore-cultural-association-mahalakshmi-layout-rajajinagar-2.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-north-bangalore-cultural-association-mahalakshmi-layout-rajajinagar-3.jpg

Jayamahal Sarbajanin Durga Puja, Jayamahal
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-jayamahal-sarbajanin-durga-puja-jayamahal-1.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-jayamahal-sarbajanin-durga-puja-jayamahal-2.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-jayamahal-sarbajanin-durga-puja-jayamahal-3.jpg
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-jayamahal-sarbajanin-durga-puja-jayamahal-4.jpg
Old 29th September 2009, 16:14   #50

THanks nnandi for sharing the bangalore pujas. These were special for me. infact some of the pujas like Malleswaram, Rajajinagar pujas, I am seeing it for the first time through this thread.

Abhi
Old 30th September 2009, 22:27   #51

Came back from Kolkata Just a day before the Pujo :( Missed a lots.
Here is the Poorva Association Pujo.
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc00091.jpg
Old 12th October 2010, 13:04   #52

Location of Durga Pooja : Ulsoor

Hi Guys

My family is insisting on visiting the durga pooja pandal at Ulsoor. Lst they visited 8 years back. Can anyone kindly give me the exact location and route from Trinity Circle Please. If anyone has the list of locations where the pandals and pujas are held, it shall be really helpful

Any help in this regard is highly appreciated.
Old 13th October 2010, 15:58   #53

Ever since I moved on from Ananda Bazar Patrika I miss out on these Pujas. May be time for me to go back to my Bengali friends and make a trip to one of the Pandals in Chennai. I just realised that Bangalore now has almost 30 Pandals, great stuff. Late nineties there used to be only 3, Ulsoor, Jaya Mahal & Malleswaram, similarly Chennai used to have in T. Nagar, Besant Nagar & Meenambakkam. Credit to the Bengalis who have not lost any opportunity to relive their roots.
Old 13th October 2010, 18:44   #54

Originally Posted by pypkmsrikanth View Post
Ever since I moved on from Ananda Bazar Patrika I miss out on these Pujas. May be time for me to go back to my Bengali friends and make a trip to one of the Pandals in Chennai. I just realised that Bangalore now has almost 30 Pandals, great stuff. Late nineties there used to be only 3, Ulsoor, Jaya Mahal & Malleswaram, similarly Chennai used to have in T. Nagar, Besant Nagar & Meenambakkam. Credit to the Bengalis who have not lost any opportunity to relive their roots.
'

You can always rejoin at the online edition!!

P.s: Hope to post some pics here from Charlotte!

Last edited by blackasta : 13th October 2010 at 18:48.
Old 14th October 2010, 12:41   #55

Originally Posted by blackasta View Post
'

You can always rejoin at the online edition!!
I actually used to work there, we used to put up kiosks for selling our subscriptions. No way I could read & write Bengali, though after about almost 9 years working there I can understand Bengali quite a bit though I cannot speak. I used to love the kichadi which used to get served during the Puja days.
Old 14th October 2010, 17:42   #56

Originally Posted by pypkmsrikanth View Post
I actually used to work there, we used to put up kiosks for selling our subscriptions. No way I could read & write Bengali, though after about almost 9 years working there I can understand Bengali quite a bit though I cannot speak. I used to love the kichadi which used to get served during the Puja days.
Thats a pleasant surprise dude !! Never thought someone from chennai will work in a popular bengali newspaper.

Atlanta Durga Pujas are kicking off in the weekend. Hope to capture some nice moments.

Abhi
Old 14th October 2010, 18:23   #57

Originally Posted by akroy View Post
Thats a pleasant surprise dude !! Never thought someone from chennai will work in a popular bengali newspaper.

Atlanta Durga Pujas are kicking off in the weekend. Hope to capture some nice moments.

Abhi
Don't forget we used to have magazines like Sunday, Sportsworld & Businessworld etc. any which ways for a marketing guy it did not matter much.

Looking forward to the Atlanta Durga Puja moments do share with us.
Old 15th October 2010, 14:28   #58

Was thinking of starting a thread on a similar theme but happy to see one already running. I'll post a few pictures taken of the Durga Puja's herein Hyderabad.

Hyderabad Bengali Samiti
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-img_1185.jpg

Durga Puja - India and Overseas-img_1188.jpg
Old 15th October 2010, 20:42   #59

MC, THanks for sharing the Hyderabad Bengali Samiti puja. Hope to see the Keyes High School Puja as well.
I have lots of fond memories of HBS puja - specially meeting Azharuddin in 1991 (Golden jublee of HBS puja).

Abhi
Old 28th October 2010, 06:43   #60

Durga Puja 2010 - Atlanta, USA

Saptami Puja - BAGA
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0119.jpg

Ashtami Puja - BAGA
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0150.jpg

Audience @ BAGA
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0156.jpg

BAGA
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0179.jpg

Audience for Haimanti Shukla night
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0196.jpg

The Singer
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0198.jpg

Georgia Bangladesh Puja Samiti (This puja is conducted by the bengalees from bangladesh)
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0217.jpg

Idol @GBPS
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0225.jpg

Puja @ Pujari
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0247.jpg

Sindoor Utsav
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0264.jpg

Ladies after Sindoor Khela (playing with sindoor)
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0279.jpg

Rupankar Sings (Audience dancing to the evergreen bengali hit - Jibone ki Pabona)
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0325.jpg

The ROYS
Durga Puja - India and Overseas-dsc_0251.jpg

Wish you all TBHPians Shubho Bijoya
and a very happy Dussera !!

Abhi