Old 10th June 2006, 07:27   #1

any Jagjit Singh's fans outhere?

gyz, i'm an inherent fan of jagjit singh (the famous ghazal singer)....can i expect somebody there who matches my taste??

BTW, I BELIEVE that i've heard each of the ghazals sung by him. (including 1960 LP's). wd love to share the experiences.
Old 10th June 2006, 13:25   #2

Panky I am a fan too but haven't heard that much of him. But really really love his Arth-Saath Saath collection and some other stuff too!
Old 10th June 2006, 13:44   #3

well, i am a pankaj udhas - Ghulam Ali - Mehdi Hassan fan. but a friend of mine is a JS fan.
Old 11th June 2006, 04:34   #4

Yes I like Jagjeet Singhs gazals. Though lately i think he's losing the charm in his voice... I guess its age.

But the guy sure can sing, and the ones he made with Gulzar reciting a few lines were really amazing.

Wud love to have ur collection for Aural pleasures ;-)

Last edited by Fuelled : 11th June 2006 at 04:36.
Old 12th June 2006, 18:47   #5

Ahh lovely voice the man has guys. Its something in his voice that makes the songs even more beautiful. I've had a huge collection of his song. Most of my fav songs from Jagjeet sing are the once sung with chitra man they were good.
Old 12th June 2006, 19:47   #6

Am a fan of his Ghazals as well. Its my wife who is his fan. I rarely hear him but love attending his live shows. Have a huge collection of his on my comp in Mp3 format. Almost 2GB.

Viper
Old 12th June 2006, 20:13   #7

ya am not big admirer but yes I have a gud collection of him,
OFF TOPIC anybody here knows how to get cassette converted to MP3 format
Old 12th June 2006, 20:21   #8

Hook up your cassette player to the sound card on your PC. Then run any of the conversion softwares to do the needful.

Viper
Old 12th June 2006, 20:24   #9

what cables should i use for hooking cassete player to laptop??
are you talking of audio out? n I have no idea abt the software as well
Old 13th June 2006, 05:17   #10

Me Me me !! Gota best collection of Gazals. I got best of Jagjit & Pankaj Uncle - 300 Songs
Old 13th June 2006, 06:15   #11

I like to listen to Jagjit Singh. I have listened to quite a lot of his songs and albums. I think he started off with some really melodious songs (Saath Saath, Arth, Prem Geet, etc), but in the quest for reaching out to a majority of people, he has diluted his gazals, unlike, say Talat Mahmood. Anyways, he is still a good singer to listen to.
Old 13th June 2006, 06:46   #12

yeah i too like dis man..................he is a singer unlike others..............
i also like ghulam ali....................nusarat fatheh ali khan(qwalli). he has a certain voice dat touches the heart.

Note from Support Team - Shelby, we request you to read the rules before you post. This style of typing posts with lots of dots inbetween is not allowed. And yes , sms language is prohibited too. Thanks.

Last edited by normally_crazy : 7th July 2007 at 23:54.
Old 7th July 2007, 22:25   #13

My favourite top 5 ghazals:

1. Duniya jise kahte hai, jadoo ka khilona hai (There is a great meaning to those lyrics)

2. Maine dil se kaha

3. Honton se choolo tum

4. Woh Kagaz ki kashti

5. Hum to yun apni Jindgi...
Old 7th July 2007, 22:34   #14

Hi, I am also a big big fan of jagjit singh..

He has given Ghazals a new platform and direction in Indian music. He is the King of Ghazals..

Got almost all the collection.. and I listen to Jajjit most of time in my car...

A big salute from me to KING OF GHAZALS...
Old 7th July 2007, 23:09   #15

yup i am a big fan but the one i adore is USTAD NUSRAT FATEH ALI KHAN SAHAAB.i suppose i have all the numbers which he has sung till yet right to his final live performance in pakistan 4th of may 1997 to his final studio recording before his untimely demise(16th august 1997).