Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 15th December 2017, 14:49   #796
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: IT Industry and Employability of Technical Graduates

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmplog View Post
Industry is surviving purely because of cost arbitrage. In short cheap labour is what makes Indian IT 'tick'. The moment a cheaper location comes up that can offer good communication capability (say Philippines), our days will be numbered.
Yes, very true. My query was how do we manage to hold on to this cost advantage for so long? Costs must be rising exponentially each year here. I know for a fact that starting salaries have shot up across all roles. What I observe is that we still retain a significant cost advantage despite all that.

About the rise of an alternate outsourcing destination with good communication capabilities, again I've been hearing that for the past 10 years at least. It was China, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Slovakia (or Slovenia, I forget which ). Puzzling. At least to me.
Old 15th December 2017, 15:15   #797
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by am1m View Post
Yes, very true. My query was how do we manage to hold on to this cost advantage for so long? Costs must be rising exponentially each year here. I know for a fact that starting salaries have shot up across all roles. What I observe is that we still retain a significant cost advantage despite all that.

About the rise of an alternate outsourcing destination with good communication capabilities, again I've been hearing that for the past 10 years at least. It was China, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Slovakia (or Slovenia, I forget which ). Puzzling. At least to me.
Loss of India's cost advantage is very real, and it isn't just about cost anymore. That boat sailed a while ago when corporates realized while cheaper is better, cheapest can be a bigger headache than you bargained for.