Old 20th November 2009, 15:46   #31

Originally Posted by CaliAtenza View Post
Where is the outrage? if this was any other place, people would be in the streets by now!
So you think China is not corrupt? The Govt (or officials) can do pretty much what they want in China. There will be no protests in the streets, or we won't hear about them. We all know what happened to the protesters at Tinanmen, don't we? What else is to be expected from a society where even the internet is policed?
Old 20th November 2009, 15:50   #32

In all India is 100 years primitive from all countries. :(
Old 20th November 2009, 15:52   #33

Originally Posted by bugatti_86 View Post
In all India is 100 years primitive from all countries. :(
That is a cheap shot... and rude
Old 20th November 2009, 16:20   #34

For those people who think India is primitive, lags behind etc

i attach here the Goldman Sach's report on India and China

I would suggest people to read this report in detail and get rid of their wrong perceptions/opinions. Pay special attention to Growth Enviornment Score (GES) ratings.

Last,

if we are not proud of overselves, then no one will.
If we do not put in efforts to grow, then no one can make us grow

Self Motivation is the best form of motivation in the world.
Fear is the second best motivation in the world.

we should use either of the above to grow ourselves and our country.
File Type: pdf BRIC-India.pdf (470.2 KB, 513 views)
File Type: pdf BRIC-China.pdf (476.4 KB, 796 views)

Last edited by StarVegabond : 20th November 2009 at 16:22.
Old 20th November 2009, 16:46   #35

Originally Posted by ksethuram View Post
Space research - They are far ahead of us... We will need another decade to go where they are now...China would be far ahead by then.
Read this today:
In today's space race, watch out for China - CNN.com
Old 20th November 2009, 17:50   #36

Err...

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
China is in a big soup because of one child policy, you want us to follow that flawed policy and fall into the same soup?

Cool it dude

I am not sure why you say its a flawed policy and how is China in big "soup" because of this. I don't know, so asking.

No, but I somehow have thought that population is certainly one of our biggest strengths, but also one of our weakness. Perhaps all our resources, natural and otherwise could be better used if we had a much smaller population.

Perhaps I need to read up more on this
Old 20th November 2009, 17:58   #37

Originally Posted by naveenroy View Post
Cool it dude

I am not sure why you say its a flawed policy and how is China in big "soup" because of this. I don't know, so asking.
I am actually very cool, but then I am familiar with the series of terrible misfortune inflicted by Chairman Mao on the Chinese people. One of them was baby-boom, which the later rulers tried to undo by implementing one child policy. That is like cutting off the nose for curing common cold.

Originally Posted by naveenroy View Post
Perhaps I need to read up more on this
Yup, definitely.
Old 20th November 2009, 18:26   #38

The Chinese trade is very well supported by it's govt. For e.g. if i get a huge order for supplying some components to another country, I need money to buy the raw materials, right ? The banks here would rather lend that much money to a crook who never repays than to a genuine customer. In China, the govt procures these raw materials, ships them (at a subsidised rate) to the destination as well. I can repay them after I get my payment.
Old 20th November 2009, 18:38   #39

I dont believe india is a primitive country; far from it. Our problems are mainly social and political. We have 3 classes, well i guess 4..in india. The poor/disadvantaged/down trodden, the middle class, the wealthy, and the politicos. The politicos and sometimes the wealthy are ruining the plot for the rest of us. We are being treated unequally. I think in the end it will come back to lack of education, corruption, red tapism, and obstructive govt policies.
Old 28th August 2013, 16:01   #40

China tried to build a city to replicate Paris … and here’s what it looks like now

Source :

http://business.financialpost.com/20...ooks-like-now/

This is one of the heights of Imagination

Kuch bhi ho saktha hai Bhai
Old 28th August 2013, 16:16   #41

Re: China tried to build a city to replicate Paris … and here’s what it looks like no

Another "made in china " it has no soul at all . Literally. They probably have Taj Mahal on their to do list I guess.
Old 28th August 2013, 16:20   #42

Re: China tried to build a city to replicate Paris … and here’s what it looks like no

I found the article to be really tacky. and especially the photographs of people bathing etc. being presented in a way to attract troll internet comments.
Old 28th August 2013, 16:25   #43

I am stunned to see and imagine how good chineese are in faking business. Phones, auto mobiles, electronics, gadgets and now a full city.

Looks like these folks are left with no reasons and courage to innovate. Faking and copying is their usual business. But with this they have become 2nd largest economy. Good going China.
Old 12th May 2014, 17:01   #44

Re: China Vs. India

India is the cheapest major economy in the world, according to a survey of global prices of products that are comparable across countries reports theGerman banking giant Deutsche Bank.

Australia is overall the most expensive major economy, while the United States is the cheapest developed country

In many categories China is steadily converging on US prices.

For a number of branded goods like Levi's jeans, Adidas shoes and iPhones, we found it to be more expensive than the United States," the Deutsche Bank report said.
Singapore remains, by far, the most expensive place to buy a car and HK for renting office space
http://auto.economictimes.indiatimes...urvey/35019987
Old 13th May 2014, 13:28   #45

Re: China Vs. India

So I recently visited China, and guess what is the biggest different I found.
No it was not about big concepts like infrastructure, development, population etc.

It was actually much simpler things like:
1. The people and organizations complete their work/task/job well in time as scheduled.
2. The work is of high quality (perhaps imitating the western/japanese standards), and never shabby.

What about the same observation in India?
1. The work is ALWAYS delayed. Especially the public/govt work.
2. The work is ALWAYS shabby. ALWAYS.