Team-BHP > Shifting gears

Search this Thread
Old 27th November 2013, 23:34   #391
BHPian

re: The School & College Admissions Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
I always wondered about this. I mostly attended average to bad schools, including rural government schools. So I don't understand what really happens when somebody attends a great school like Cottons or Bethany or Joseph.

Can one of the alumni from these elite schools shed some light on this. Only famous place I attended was National College [Jayanagar, Bangalore], but I can't say it helped me in any way, then or later.
I too have mostly studied in an aided school. Let me try and put in a few points -
1 -> Sports infrastructure is usually shambolic. The school that I studied in did not have a proper table tennis table for example.
2 -> Most schools force you to become mug pots. I certainly do remember that we had our games periods cancelled quite often so that we would study
3 -> Everybody is moulded similarly. 95% of the people who studied with me belong to 2-3 professions. That is not the case with my friends from cottons.
4 -> Overall exposure
5 -> I certainly do believe that these schools have better facilities and infrastructure. If you are of the sort who knows how to use them well, it could be the ideal place (self motivation is important)
6 -> Quality of Languages is usually better. This may or may not be important. There are counter examples where in people who have attended so called ordinary schools speak better English. Again this is a minority. It needs quite a bit of a extra initiative from the students themselves. This mostly stems from the syllabus. Most of this so called elite schools tend to follow CBSE/ICSE which is quite superior to State syllabus in terms of language.
7 -> Discipline levels in convent type schools is usually better.