Old 18th February 2010, 20:57   #1

Actor Nirmal Pandey dies at 48

Film and TV actor Nirmal Pandey passed away at 48. Unconfirmed reports state that, the actor died at 2:30 pm IST on February 18, 2010. He reportedly suffered from a severe heart attack, and died on his way to Holy Spirit hospital in Andheri, Mumbai. He is survived by wife Archana Pandey.

Sudhir Mishra, who directed him in Is Raat Ki Subah Nahi, says, "Nirmal was a gentle guy, and very comfortable with his softer side. That's how I remember him. I can't comment profoundly because I was out of touch with Nirmal for the past seven-eight years. I'm very sorry and guilt-ridden."

Actor Jackie Shroff who worked with him in One Two Ka Four, says, "I am sad to hear the news. He was a great guy to work with. Great energy on the set. If his family needs any help from me, I am always there for them."
Arbaaz Khan who had acted with him in Pyar Kiya Toh Darna Kya and Auzaar, said, "It is sad that Nirmal passed away at such a young age. My condolences for him and his family. He was a terrific actor and it was great working with him. May his soul rest in peace."

Nirmal Pandey was seen in films like Bandit Queen, Daayraa, Is Raat Ki Subah Nahi, Pyar Kiya To Darna Kya, Shikari, Godmother, Daayra and Train to Pakistan to name a few. He later moved on to television in shows like Hatim and Raajkumar Aaryyan many among others. He also ventured in regional films. In fact, he was last seen in Telugu film Kedi.

It is unfortunate that Nirmal won't be able to see the release of his new Hindi film, Lahore, on March 19. The actor played a Pakistani character in the film.
A graduate from the National School of Drama, he was part of a London based theatre group, Tara. In addition to acting Nirmal Pandey was also a versatile singer.

RIP

Link: Actor Nirmal Pandey dies at 48- IBNLive Movies
Old 18th February 2010, 21:11   #2

That is a very sad bit of news, I remember him from the Govinda starrer "Hadd kardi Aapne". May his soul RIP.
Old 18th February 2010, 21:14   #3

Sad indeed!!!good actor.
Old 18th February 2010, 21:17   #4

Really Sad news. Got the news from my hometown, Nainital, where he was from ,as well.

RIP.
Old 18th February 2010, 21:32   #5

may his soul rest in peace.

On a side note, I think it's a sign of age when you start associating with people dying one by one. Recently have witnessed many such cases, MJ for instance.
Old 18th February 2010, 21:35   #6

Sad, had liked his acting in "Is raat ki subha nahin"
RIP
Old 18th February 2010, 21:38   #7

May his soul rest in peace. I wasn't a big fan of his movies, though he did a pretty good job in each one.Some folks thought he'd be the next Amrish Puri.
Old 18th February 2010, 22:18   #8

Originally Posted by Nitin View Post
May his soul rest in peace. I wasn't a big fan of his movies, though he did a pretty good job in each one.Some folks thought he'd be the next Amrish Puri.
Even i thought that he will make big but he dint.

Anyway its a sad news and may his soul rest in peace.
Old 18th February 2010, 22:53   #9

Remembering Nirmal Pandey

Sad to hear that Nirmal Pandey is no more. He was such a jovial character and I still remember the time we spend with him shooting in his Andheri apartment for a TV programme.

May his soul rest in peace.
Old 19th February 2010, 08:13   #10

RIP! Nirmal Pandey. I remember him from Gabbar Mix video!
Old 19th February 2010, 09:25   #11

Nirmal will be always remembered for his role in Bandit Queen & Is Raat Ki Subah Nahin.
RIP Nirmal.
Old 19th February 2010, 10:04   #12

TOI says he was 46. Anyways, too young to pass away. May his soul RIP

Looks like stress coupled with a few vices are killing people below 50 in huge numbers