I am a Man and Yes I do 107 85.60%
I am a Man and No I don't 15 12.00%
I am a Woman and my spouse shares the chores 2 1.60%
I am a Woman and my spouse does not share the chores 1 0.80%
Voters: 125. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 4th March 2010, 16:53   #1
Team-BHP Support

Equality for Women starts at home. Do you agree?

Do you Mop the floors?

Its a simple question. I thought of it when I was watching the news while mopping the floor.
Womens reservation bill is expected to pass thru.
We have women slowly and steadily making progress.
Domains once considered exclusive to men are now open for women.

Most families today have both members working.
So its a question of double money coming in, but is the housework devided between the spouses.

My wife and I live in a small apartment in Hyderabad.
We don't employ any housemaid.
She stays at home and I work as a s/w developer.

When the house is being cleaned, she sweeps the floor. I mop the house.
Weekends and some weekdays, I cut the vegetables. She cooks the food.
Sometimes I do the dishes as well.

I owe it all to my mom, who treated me and my sister as equals.
I like doing these chores.
But from my interaction with other colleagues and friends, I understand that its not so in all the houses.

Women not only work outside, but have to take full responsibilty of the house.
Old 4th March 2010, 16:56   #2
Senior - BHPian

You are not the only one dude. Even I am also with you. Even I mop the floor everyday morning and then go to office and after coming back the same help what you do is even followed by me.
Old 4th March 2010, 16:59   #3
Distinguished - BHPian

Well, honestly, I would love to help my wife out in these chores. But I am not married yet, so I cant really vote!
Old 4th March 2010, 17:07   #4
Senior - BHPian