Old 13th July 2010, 11:42   #1

Amazing Parking solution in Budapest

Guys check this link out:

BUDAPEST . Multiparker 730

When will we ever get something like this in India? Can we ever dream of such fantastic solutions!

Mods: Did not know where to post this, kindly do the needful.
Old 13th July 2010, 14:52   #2

Amazing!! Kudos to the design team for thinking of something like this and making it real.

Fantastic.
Old 13th July 2010, 15:53   #3

I don't know , if you guys are aware or not.
But such systems does exist in India.It may not be as high-tech as the one that is showed in the link above but this one too serves it purpose.
Look at the link below:
Simplex Projects: Latest News

IMO, this the first such project in India, and it has been executed by Simplex Projects, ltd in Kolkata. Such parking solutions are the demand of the day, and I hope that we can see such facilities across the country in future.
Old 13th July 2010, 16:57   #4

Parkomat solution

I have recently been to the more manual park-o-mat multi level parking at park street, kolkata. The system is slow, and there is only one entrance. While one car gets parked, others have to wait!

Parkomat opens today - Kolkata - City - The Times of India

This is an age old news item (2001). I haven't seen this system any other city, though.

They charge Rs 20/hr and I guess there is a monthly pass system too.
Old 13th July 2010, 20:19   #5

Neat. The only drawback is if there is a major power failure or lot of crowd. In that case waiting for your turn can be pretty painful.
Old 16th July 2010, 15:41   #6

Brilliant.. let's get one for old delhi, CP etc. ;-)
Old 16th July 2010, 16:16   #7

And talk about Energy saving, carbon credits, CO2 emissions!
Why they are not saying how many Kilowatt-hour of energy is used to 'park and retrieve' one car. One side they are going towards 'green buildings' and 'zero emission of CO2' and another side, so many elevators, travelling pallets and turn-tables for a damn 'car parking'. Why not instead they enforce 'public transport only' in such central places of the city,where parking space is a scarcity!