Old 18th June 2013, 09:58   #1111

Re: Quirky logic and funny comments from non-petrol head friends

Originally Posted by Rufus_M View Post
A comment from my non-enthusiast friend.

When the reverse gear is used, the AC must be compulsorily switched off as it puts extreme load on the engine :-D
Not a stupid one, IMHO. The Indica DLS (2004 model) that I owned had this problem of stalling the engine. To avoid this I used to turn the AC off or apply a lot of clutch...
Old 19th June 2013, 14:32   #1112

some dude i met was discussing expensive motorcycles. He goes whats the point of spending 20 lacs on a bike, if it rains you're going to get wet.

needless to say, i laughed at him and turned around.
Old 19th June 2013, 15:14   #1113

It was late night and I was heading home with a non petrol head friend of mine. On reaching a few deserted roads, I indulged into a bit of spirited driving, revs being upward of 4k rpm.

Listening intently to the vtec engine revving, the friend asks "bhai tere gaadi me se yeh aawaz kyu chaalu ho gayi?" (Bro why has your car started making this noise? )
Old 19th June 2013, 15:20   #1114

After I picked up the Gurkha about a couple of years back - A senior (subjective) at office walks up to me and says "I think you made a bad decision and picked the wrong car. You should have picked up a Scorpio or a Safari. You could have even waited for the Duster!".
Needless to say - I was speechless.
Old 19th June 2013, 20:20   #1115

Originally Posted by roy_libran View Post
After I picked up the Gurkha about a couple of years back - A senior (subjective) at office walks up to me and says "I think you made a bad decision and picked the wrong car. You should have picked up a Scorpio or a Safari. You could have even waited for the Duster!".
Needless to say - I was speechless.
I've faced the same suggestions when I purchased the Thar....Someone even went to the extent of suggesting me to fit a CNG kit.
Old 3rd July 2013, 17:51   #1116

While in my ride, a friend was saying that the figo d is turbocharged and he goes on to explain that the figo has a fixed geometry turbo and hence its pickup is good but higher in the range it is bad whereas the manza or the punto has vgt and hence have a decent performance throughout. He said FGT = fixed geometry turbo and VGT = variable geometry turbo. The smart alec of a second friend remarks that we shouldnt encourage him further or he will lecture us about the fixed physics, geography, civics turbos as well .
Old 3rd July 2013, 18:30   #1117

Originally Posted by Arch-Angel View Post
While in my ride, a friend was saying that the figo d is turbocharged and he goes on to explain that the figo has a fixed geometry turbo and hence its pickup is good but higher in the range it is bad whereas the manza or the punto has vgt and hence have a decent performance throughout. He said FGT = fixed geometry turbo and VGT = variable geometry turbo. The smart alec of a second friend remarks that we shouldnt encourage him further or he will lecture us about the fixed physics, geography, civics turbos as well .

Could you please explain the joke here? I did not understand it, since FGT is indeed Fixed geometry turbocharger and VGT is variable geometry turbocharger.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Variabl...y_turbocharger
Old 3rd July 2013, 18:35   #1118

Originally Posted by Lalvaz View Post

Could you please explain the joke here? I did not understand it, since FGT is indeed Fixed geometry turbocharger and VGT is variable geometry turbocharger.
The quirker becomes the quirkee, it seems.
Old 3rd July 2013, 18:39   #1119

Originally Posted by Lalvaz View Post
Geometry is the word to catch there my friend. What he meant is our mathematical geometry we studied in our schools when spoken about Fixed/variable geometry.
Old 4th July 2013, 10:00   #1120

@Arch-Angel, I am not flaming you, but I am almost certain that your geometry-specialist friend is a frequent visitor of Team-BHP or other such (international) forums.

Otherwise, of course, he is already a member of Team-BHP.

Last edited by sandeepmdas : 4th July 2013 at 10:01.
Old 4th July 2013, 10:09   #1121

Originally Posted by sandeepmdas View Post
@Arch-Angel, I am not flaming you, but I am almost certain that your geometry-specialist friend is a frequent visitor of Team-BHP or other such (international) forums.

Otherwise, of course, he is already a member of Team-BHP.
First one is a frequent visitor who has been trying since ages to get a membership, the second one is a guy totally uninterested about automobiles and hates it when others discuss about automobiles when in a group. But that remark came straight off the bat and made us all giggle. Also, an admission of guilt, when i was in my 6th grade, i used to ask my uncle who had an m800 on where the fuel tap is located and if the car doesn't start, doesn't he have to tilt the car to send the fuel into the lines or shake the car sideways? (ala Chetak scooters), he burst out laughing and explained everything in basic on how cars dont have fuel taps and how carbs work in general. I was pretty much an innocent guy with no idea on how things worked.

@Lalvaz The second friend of mine was actually trying to make the first friend of mine stop explaining about the turbochargers and hence, he said don't encourage him or he will explain about fixed "geometry" , civics,geography etc related to subjects in school.

Last edited by Arch-Angel : 4th July 2013 at 10:18.
Old 18th July 2013, 00:14   #1122

This happened during my college days when we owned a Kinetic Honda (a Kinetic Y2K in particular). The bike was giving some trouble then and sometimes it would refuse to start. In this condition, I had taken it out and after reaching my destination, this issue came up - couldn't start.

I was kicking continuously for a long time when a passerby stopped by checking with me on the issue.

He: "Hey, why can't you try the 'push-and-start' method?"
Me (taken aback): Um.. Er. Its not possible as this is an automatic.
He: No. all bikes will start this way. I have done this many a times.
Me: Yeah, geared ones will do. But not this.
He: Hey, don't tell all this. Let me push and you can start.
Me: Sir, it will not happen. This is a automatic. And it will not work out.
He: C'mon. It will definitely work out. Let's give a try.
Me: (not knowing how to explain him): Ok sir. But then, why do you take the strain of pushing. Let me push it and you start.
He: Okay. (and then takes over the bike from me)
I told him that the left lever is the brake and not the clutch. I was expecting the inevitable question from him and then it comes
He: Hey, which lever to pull? How to start it?

Finally, could somehow manage to make him understand though he was not fully convinced.
Old 31st August 2013, 12:04   #1123

Overheard this when walking back to my car at my office place. A Terracan went past and three IT dudes walking behind me were all wonders looking at the rare sight.
One of them said it is the new Mahindra 'Samsong', the second one got it right and says , it is a Hyundai and finally the last one says, it is not a Hyundai for sure, it is the new 'Sa-sa-yong'

Last edited by tharian : 31st August 2013 at 12:07.
Old 12th September 2013, 11:26   #1124

I don't normally post here but I was telling this story to a fellow Mod when he asked me to post it here.

My friends, like me, barely drive (thank God for that). None of them would qualify as being car guys, far from it, some of the statements they make about cars are hilarious.

One of them owns a E250 and C200. One day one of his drivers did not show and he HAD to drive his car. When he put his bags in the trunk found a "lot of stuff" (as he describes it).

The next morning he fired his driver for carrying a spare tyre and a lot of stuff in the back. He figured the driver was selling "stuff" out of the trunk of his car while he was in the office, sort of like a travelling salesman.

A week or so later, we are sitting down over a late night coffee and he tells us this story and how he gave his driver a shelling for doing business on the side etc...and I told him, ".....do you know that those parts actually come with your car".

Last edited by navin : 12th September 2013 at 11:29.
navin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th September 2013, 11:34   #1125

Originally Posted by navin View Post
I don't normally post here but I was telling this story to a fellow Mod when he asked me to post it here.
----- ".....do you know that those parts actually come with your car".
This was funny as hell, i only have pity for the poor soul of a driver who ended up in that situation. I bet he would accuse us of selling our stuff when he sees our rides with the spare tyres at the back . No offense intended but if this is true, i really hope you do educate your friend so more drivers don't lose their jobs.