Old 19th July 2010, 20:16   #121

Originally Posted by blackasta View Post
- but I disagree with the above.
I don't see the relation between engineering and general knowledge.

One gets selected in engineering based on his knowledge of P C M, and after selection, he/she studies a specialised field of engineering.

General knowledge is nowhere required or acquired during engineering.

Also, there are several branches of engineering. One may be an expert in one branch, but still not have even basic knowledge of the other branch.

For eg, I am an electronics engineer and I don't know a thing about mechanical engineering. Of course, I know the difference between a petrol and diesel engine. But my knowledge of engines is limited to what I studied back in school.

Originally Posted by cyclops View Post
Sir, If I remember correctly, standard 8th had a chapter about the petrol and diesel engines working and the 2-4 strokes working. How can an IIT guy assume that an engine will run irrespective of the fuel being fed..!
You are right, these things are taught at school level. He should have known the difference between a petrol and diesel engine. One doesn't even need to be an engineering student to know this.

Rohan
Old 19th July 2010, 20:39   #122

Originally Posted by deepaktpatil View Post
must be a computer engineering student and would have just learnt about object oriented programming and polymorphism
Hahhahaha, really fantastic analogy, hats off.

My contribution to this thread, my friend bought a Pulsar 220 (first gen, close to a lakh in price), next day I see that the rear view mirrors are missing, on being asked why, "Yaar, itna mehenga bike liya hai, wo mirrors pura style kharab kar deta hai" (Translated, The mirrors ruin the style of the bike for which I've spent a lot of money).

However, I think that is quite common, I see lots of new bikes with their rear view mirrors missing. So either the biker won't see what's behind him, or wobble a bit while trying to see what's behind him .
Old 19th July 2010, 21:28   #123

Well as we are going off topic anyway, it almost seems the so-called "educational qualifications" in our country are inversely proportional to the level of common sense. Guess everyone would have watched "3 idiots", I think Aamir has something.

There is this IIT guy in our office, and at every meeting he asks a dumb question - like really really dumb - just for the sake of asking. He is the laughing-stock of the whole team. Not saying that this is about IIT, I am saying we should not expect so-called qualifications from our country to add any kind of value - least of all common sense.
Old 19th July 2010, 22:40   #124

Few from my memory,

1.Karizma has top speed of 160Km/Hr (Commnets by owner).
2.Pulser 150 has 5 stroke Engine,again comments by owner.
3.If you use front disk Break of bike you will fall down.
4.Many people are not aware FIAT is Italian Brand,they still feel that its Same old premier Automobiles ltd.
5.Amby Safest car and best Comfort.

There are many more really hard to recollect,but nice refreshing thread.
Old 20th July 2010, 09:45   #125

"Why did you buy a Palio 1.6? Swift would have given you a better mileage" - People who dont know what BHP stands for.

"Fit a gas kit on your Accord." - Paan chewing person's suggestion to dad.
Old 20th July 2010, 09:59   #126

Originally Posted by rrsteer View Post
Ok, me and my friend are cruising in my safari.
And from no where a black Safari ( very good looking one) zooms past us.
My friend asks me to chase the speeding SUV down, which I resist. He wonders what was in that Safari that it could attain such speeds while I could not in my car.

Later we catch up with the black thing at the toll plaza. My friend has a good look at the exterior of the vehicle. And then it happened.
He yelled its a 4X4! His out-of-this-world logic being that because that Safari was a 4X4, the engine was able to transmit power to all 4 wheels at the same time and hence causing the vehicle to attain astronomical amount of speeds.

His logic is very simple & straight forward, so can't comment on that

Many people still don't know the real use of 4X4.
Old 20th July 2010, 12:14   #127

Originally Posted by parimal_g View Post
Few from my memory,

4.Many people are not aware FIAT is Italian Brand,they still feel that its Same old premier Automobiles ltd.

I didnt get whats wrong with the first one.
As far as 3rd goes, lot of ppl have flown off Pulsar - indiscriminate usage. So naturally such views take effect.
Old 20th July 2010, 13:27   #128

Originally Posted by samyakmodi
8. itni garmi mein jacket, helmet aur gloves!! pagal ho gaye ho (in this kind of hot weather you are wearing jacket, helmet and gloves - you must have gone mad!!)
9. helmet pehnoge to ladkiya dekhengi kaise?? (if you wear a helmet how will the gals see you??)
10. saved the best for the last - gas ki tanki kaha rakhoge?? (where will you put your domestic gas cylinder?)
Originally Posted by StarVegabond View Post
these 3 are real life problems
8-- Jacket/Helmet/Gloves, in short riding gear does protect you from cooling off your heels in a hospital bed.

9. I don't take offence to these, as most ride to impress chicks and still feel two-wheelers are not for rich people.

@Star-- are you sure about the last one or you sense of humor is just too good?
Quirky logic and funny comments from non-petrol head friends-12633_206112868405_204763053405_3010655_1989061_n.jpg  

Last edited by Sheel : 20th July 2010 at 13:28.
Old 20th July 2010, 14:43   #129

Originally Posted by parimal_g View Post
Few from my memory,

1-4 Nice quotes but there are many still believe it.

But not the 5th, its one of the safest cars and more comfortable than any other cars with that price range.
Old 20th July 2010, 15:24   #130

The one that i remember, Why did you buy cedia? Should have bought verna diesel or fiesta diesel; gives a far better mileage? I mean how can you even compare? No offence to either of those 2 cars. Both are good in its class.
Old 20th July 2010, 15:48   #131

"Why do you need seatbelts and helmets inside the city","it is not compulsory here","mag wheels (alloy rims) reduce FE","maintaining higher tire pressure cant cause tire bursts..its always safer to have lower than recommnded tire pressures to get a comfortable ride over long distances"

These are some of the lines that i hear frequently from all the "experts"
Old 20th July 2010, 16:06   #132

ABS = Anti Braking System.

Gets me in splits every time - it doesn't even make sense!
Old 20th July 2010, 16:07   #133

Ignorance is bliss-bliss means happiness. I rather ignore an ignorant guy then get into discussion on the merits of his line of arguement.
Specially the ones that tell me that seat belts aren't safe.
Thank all you BHPians-though i have been behind a wheel for the past 39 years-the amount i have learnt in the past year after joining this site-no words to express my appreciation.
I have put in over 2.2 lakh kilometers in my three cars that I have owned since '85.
Thank you guys

Col J H Mayne
Old 20th July 2010, 17:52   #134

One nice comment from a dear friend, when i purchased new Bosch Halo plugs for my M-800.

1) " Thats the problem with petrol cars dude, see my Diesel Accent, 65k kms and they are still running on original Spark plugs, Buy Diesel spark plugs, they might last longer"

2) Yes, even i have got that comment about "Alloys spoil your FE" thing

3) Many friends and some onlookers on seeing my 1971 Bus " You could have got an Innova man, why this old van"

4) M-800 is better than Mercedes Benz, so low maintenance. (lol.....)

5) Many commenting on my Friends Immaculate 118NE " Saar, this kind of comfort, you dont even get in Benz, nice car, wonder why they stopped it" (As if he would have brought 1000 NE's if it was sold even now)

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 20th July 2010 at 17:55.
Old 20th July 2010, 17:55   #135

Originally Posted by speedsatya View Post
"have lower than recommnded tire pressures to get a comfortable ride over long distances"

These are some of the lines that i hear frequently from all the "experts"
Yes, this is true. One can achive better ride by going down 1 or 2 PSI than recommended pressure.